Wallis Simpson

Уоллис Симпсон родилась под именем Бесси Уоллис Уорфилд, в июне 1896 года. Она была знаменитая американская светская личность, известная своим безупречным стилем и тем, что соблазнила короля Эдуарда VIII.

Уоллис была замужем три раза, в первую очередь на офицере в военно-морских сил США, Уине Спенсере в 1916 году. Она вышла замуж за Эрнеста Симпсона, но после, встретила Эдварда, принца Уэльса. Когда Эдвард был коронован, Уоллис развелась с Симпсоном. Её репутация дважды разведённой женщины вызвала много проблем для британского правительства, что привело к тому, что король отрёкся от престола в 1936 году. После свадьбы в 1937 году, пара была названа герцогом и герцогиньей Виндзорскими. На свадьбе, герцогиня была одета в платье от Mainbocher, бледно-голубого-серого оттенка под её глаза.

Герцогиня была полностью посвящена стилю и как-то заявила: “Я не красивая женщина. На мне не на что смотреть, единственное, что я могу, это одеваться лучше, чем кто-либо другой”. Жаклин де Риб, аристократка, прокомментировала элегантный стиль Герцогини: “Она была шикарной, но никогда не была одета просто. Другие американские женщины, как Бейб Палей, могли быть шикарными в синих джинсах. Герцогиня же, была другого поколения. “Уоллис часто носили платья, чтобы подчеркнуть её тонкую талию” – прокомментировала фотограф Сесил Битон – “Она была такой же компактной, как чемоданчик для путешествий от Vuitton”.

Она была за минимализм (часто просила дизайнеров не делать карманы на одежде), но всегда с неожиданными деталями. Givenchy создал платья, украшенные вышитыми обезьянами, а так же Уоллис носила платье Омар Эльзы Скиапарелли, сделанное в сотрудничестве с Сальвадором Дали. Герцогиня украшала себя драгоценностями, подаренными ей герцогом. Простые платья сочетаютались с мерцающей брошью или манжетом. Александр де Пари, её парикмахер, каждый день, делал ей настолько гладкую укладку волос, что, даже, муха могла бы соскользнуть.

У княгини был длиный список знакомых, но самые дружеские отношения её связывали с Марком Бохан из Christian Dior и Юбером де Живанши. Дом Dior помог создать маленькое чёрное платье для герцогини, в ночь перед похоронами герцога. Живанши не спал всю ночь, чтобы усовершенствовать длину шифона. После смерти герцога, герцогиня отдалилась от глаз общественности. Хотя, возможно, она сделала шаг назад от образа жизни, который она так любила, и где её стиль не был забыт. Как Ролан Муре однажды заметил: «любите вы её или ненавидете, мир по-прежнему одержим этой женщиной”.

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Автор Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Wallis Simpson

Wallis Simpson—born Bessie Wallis Warfield in June 1896—was a famed American socialite, known for her impeccable style and seducing King Edward VIII off his throne.

Wallis was married three times in all, firstly to U.S naval office Win Spencer in 1916. She was married to Ernest Simpson when she met Edward, Price of Wales. When Edward had been crowned King, Wallis divorced Simpson. Her reputation as a twice-divorced woman caused a constitutional crisis with the conservative British government, leading the King to abdicate the throne in 1936. After their marriage in 1937, the couple was titled the Duke and Duchess of Windsor. For her nuptials, the Duchess wore a custom “Wallis blue” gown by Mainbocher, with the pale blue-grey hue designed to match her eyes.

The Duchess was completely devoted to style and her appearance: “I’m not a beautiful woman. I’m nothing to look at, the only thing I can do is dress better than anyone else”. Jacqueline de Ribes, a society aristocrat, said of the Duchess’ elegant style, “She was chic but never casual. Other American society women, like Babe Paley, could be chic in blue jeans. The Duchess was a different generation”. Wallis often wore dresses nipped in to accentuate her tiny waist; photographer Cecil Beaton commented she was, “as compact as a Vuitton traveling case”.

She favored architecturally simplistic, pieces (she asked designers not to include pockets in their custom designs) but always with an unexpected twist, or bold counter element. Givenchy created a dress decorated with embroidered monkeys and Wallis wore the Elsa Schiaparelli Lobster gown, made in collaboration with Salvador Dali. The Duchess adorned herself with jewels, gifted to her by the Duke. Simple frocks were juxtaposed with glimmering brooches or statement cuffs. Alexandre de Paris, her hairdresser, styled her hair everyday into a smooth, sleek style “brushed so that a fly would slip off it.”

The Duchess’ couture contacts read like a laundry list, but she maintained close friendships with Christian Dior’s Marc Bohan and Hubert de Givenchy. The house of Dior helped create a haute couture little black dress for the Duchess, and the night before the Duke’s funeral, Givenchy stayed up all night to perfect the length of the Duchess’ chiffon veil. After the Duke’s passing, the Duchess secluded herself from the public eye. Though she may have taken a step back from the café society lifestyle she loved so much, her style was not forgotten. As Roland Mouret once remarked, “love her or hate her, the world is still obsessed by that woman.”

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Written by Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>