Wallis Simpson

Wallis Simpson — née Bessie Wallis Warfield en Juin 1896 — était une célèbre socialite américaine, réputée pour son style impeccable et qui écarta le Roi Edward VIII de son trône en le séduisant.

Wallis fut mariée en tout trois fois, d’abord à l’officier naval Win Spencer en 1916, et elle était mariée à Ernest Simpson lorsqu’elle rencontra Edward, Prince du Pays de Gale. Quand Edward fut couronné roi, Wallis divorça de Simpson. Sa réputation en tant que femme divorcée par deux fois causa une crise constitutionnelle avec le gouvernement anglais conservateur, ce qui força le Roi à renoncer au trône en 1936. Après leur mariage en 1937, le couple adopta les titres de Duc et Duchesse de Windsor. Pour ses noces, la Duchesse portait une robe “bleue Wallis” sur mesure, du ton bleu-gris élaboré pour s’accorder à ses yeux.

La Duchesse était pleinement dévouée à son style et son apparence : “Je ne suis pas une belle femme. Je ne suis pas une vision exceptionnelle, la seule chose que je puisse faire, c’est m’habiller mieux que tout le monde”. Jacqueline de Ribes, une aristocrate mondaine, disait de l’élégante Duchesse : “Elle était chic, mais jamais décontractée. D’autres personnalités américaines, comme Babe Paley, pouvaient être chic avec une paire de jeans. La Duchesse était d’une autre génération”. Wallis portait souvent des robes resserrées à la taille pour accentuer sa minceur; la photographe Cecil Beaton commenta qu’elle était “aussi compacte qu’une malle de voyage Louis Vuitton”.

Elle aimait les pièces à structure simple (elle demandait aux créateurs de ne pas inclure de poche dans leurs croquis), mais toujours avec une touche d’inattendu, ou un contre-élément audacieux. Givenchy créa pour elle une robe brodée de singes, et elle porta la robe écrevisse d’Elsa Schiaparelli; fruit d’une collaboration avec Salvador Dali. La Duchesse s’ornait de bijoux, qui lui étaient offert par le Duc. Des robes simples étaient juxtaposées avec des broches étincelantes ou des manchettes de fort caractère. Alexandre de Paris, son coiffeur, arrangeait ses cheveux tous les jours en un style lisse et doux de sorte que “si une mouche venait à se poser sur sa tête, elle en glisserait”.

Les contacts de la Duchesse avec le monde de la Haute couture s’énumèrent comme les articles d’une liste de course, mais elle entretenait des amitiés proches avec Hubert de Givenchy et Marc Bohan chez Dior. La maison Dior aida à créer une petite robe noire couture pour elle, et la veille de l’enterrement du Duc, Givenchy travailla toute la nuit pour perfectionner le voile d’organza de la Duchesse. Après le décès de son mari, elle resta à l’écart des yeux du public. Bien qu’elle se soit retirée du train de vie mondain qu’elle affectionnait tant, son style ne tomba jamais dans l’oubli. Comme le remarqua si bien Roland Mouret : “Qu’on l’adore ou la déteste, le monde est toujours obsédé par cette femme”.


Bronte Naylor-Jones

Ecrit par Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Wallis Simpson

Wallis Simpson—born Bessie Wallis Warfield in June 1896—was a famed American socialite, known for her impeccable style and seducing King Edward VIII off his throne.

Wallis was married three times in all, firstly to U.S naval office Win Spencer in 1916. She was married to Ernest Simpson when she met Edward, Price of Wales. When Edward had been crowned King, Wallis divorced Simpson. Her reputation as a twice-divorced woman caused a constitutional crisis with the conservative British government, leading the King to abdicate the throne in 1936. After their marriage in 1937, the couple was titled the Duke and Duchess of Windsor. For her nuptials, the Duchess wore a custom “Wallis blue” gown by Mainbocher, with the pale blue-grey hue designed to match her eyes.

The Duchess was completely devoted to style and her appearance: “I’m not a beautiful woman. I’m nothing to look at, the only thing I can do is dress better than anyone else”. Jacqueline de Ribes, a society aristocrat, said of the Duchess’ elegant style, “She was chic but never casual. Other American society women, like Babe Paley, could be chic in blue jeans. The Duchess was a different generation”. Wallis often wore dresses nipped in to accentuate her tiny waist; photographer Cecil Beaton commented she was, “as compact as a Vuitton traveling case”.

She favored architecturally simplistic, pieces (she asked designers not to include pockets in their custom designs) but always with an unexpected twist, or bold counter element. Givenchy created a dress decorated with embroidered monkeys and Wallis wore the Elsa Schiaparelli Lobster gown, made in collaboration with Salvador Dali. The Duchess adorned herself with jewels, gifted to her by the Duke. Simple frocks were juxtaposed with glimmering brooches or statement cuffs. Alexandre de Paris, her hairdresser, styled her hair everyday into a smooth, sleek style “brushed so that a fly would slip off it.”

The Duchess’ couture contacts read like a laundry list, but she maintained close friendships with Christian Dior’s Marc Bohan and Hubert de Givenchy. The house of Dior helped create a haute couture little black dress for the Duchess, and the night before the Duke’s funeral, Givenchy stayed up all night to perfect the length of the Duchess’ chiffon veil. After the Duke’s passing, the Duchess secluded herself from the public eye. Though she may have taken a step back from the café society lifestyle she loved so much, her style was not forgotten. As Roland Mouret once remarked, “love her or hate her, the world is still obsessed by that woman.”

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Written by Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>