Terry Richardson

Терри Ричардсон родился в Нью-Йорке в 1962 году, и вырос в Голливуде.

Он является сыном известного фотографа Боба Ричардсона и Энни, стилист и бывшая танцовщица Копакабана. После развода, его отец женился на 17 летней модели, а у мамы был роман с Джимми Хендриксом. Вскоре после этого, Ричардсон заболел и начал слышать голоса.

Он вырос на западном побережье с группой панков из Лос-Анджелеса и вступил в Underground scene Ист-Виллидж в начале 1900-х годов, а также учился в старшей школе Голливуда. В 1992 году он переехал в Нью-Йорк, где начал изучать искусство восточной деревни и происходящее там, с точки зрения моды и музыки. Большинство его работ были сняты в барах, ночных клубах, на улицах или в квартирах.

С тех пор, он никогда не прекращал съёмки, и сегодня, считается одним из самых плодовитых фотографов своего времени.

Он работал на многие бренды, включая Gucci, Sisley, Miu Miu, Chloe, и его работы были опубликованы во многих журналах, среди которых французские и британские издания Vogue Magazine, ID Magazine, GQ, Harpers Bazaar и Purple, для которых он снимал таких знаменитостей, как Дэниел Дэй Льюис, Том Форд, Леонардо Ди Каприо, Винсент Галло, Канье Уэст, Джонни Ноксвилл, Jay Z, Карл Лагерфельд, Винсент Галло и Фарел Уильямс.

Он опубликовал свою первую книгу Hysteric Glamour в 1998 году, которая является началом длинной серии книг. Являвшись провокатором по своей натуре, он любил снимать обнажённых людей и ‘лёгкую’ порнографию. Он говорит, что почти никогда не использует Photoshop, так как считает,  что на хорошем снимке модель должна выглядеть естесственно.

Его работы были представлены на международном уровне, которые были выставлены в галерее обуви в Нью-Йорке, в Kinstwerk в Берлине, в галереях Alleged и Deitch Projects в Нью-Йорке.

В настоящее время, он работает над своим первым художественным фильмом, и только что выпустил свою последнюю рекламную кампанию для французского бренда Eleven Paris.

Marine Lazarus

Автор Marine Lazarus

Marine Lazarus, an Anglo-French photographer who moved to UK 3 years ago to study journalism at Brunel University in London. Marine is responsible for our Photographers Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Terry Richardson

Terry Richardson was born in New York in 1962 and raised in Hollywood.

He is the son of the famous photographer Bob Richardson and of Annie, a stylist and former Copacabana dancer. After the divorce, his father married a 17 years old model and his mum had an affair with Jimmy Hendrix. Soon after, Richardson fell ill and began hearing voices. Photography is said to have been the mean that helped him escape his tyrannical father.

He grew up on the West Coast with a group of punks from Los Angeles and joined the Underground scene of East Village in the early 1900s whilst attending Hollywood High School. In 1992 he moved to New York where he began documenting the East Village art and what was happening there in terms of fashion and music with most of his work being shot in bars, in nightclubs, on the street or in apartments.

From then on he never stopped taking pictures and is today considered as one of the most prolific photographers of his time.

He has worked on many important fashion campaigns for brands including Gucci, Sisley, Miu Miu, Chloé, and his work has been published in many high profile magazines amongst which the French and British editions of Vogue Magazine, i-D Magazine, GQ, Harper’s Bazaar and Purple for which he shot celebrities such as Daniel Day Lewis, Tom Ford, Leonardo DiCaprio, Vincent Gallo, Kanye West, Johnny Knoxville, Jay Z., Karl Lagerfeld, Vincent Gallo and Pharell Williams, to only name a few.

He published his first book “Hysteric Glamour” in 1998, the beginning of a long series. Always provocative, he likes to take pictures of nudes and soft pornography, using and abusing of sex and provocation. He says he barely ever uses Photoshop as he believes a good picture must be taken with a model looking natural.

His work has been showed and reviewed internationally. He has exhibited at the Shine Gallery in New York, at the Kinstwerk in Berlin, and at the Alleged Gallery and Deitch Projects in New York.

He is currently working on his first feature film, and has just released his latest advertising work for the French brand Eleven Paris.

Marine Lazarus

Written by Marine Lazarus

Marine Lazarus, an Anglo-French photographer who moved to UK 3 years ago to study journalism at Brunel University in London. Marine is responsible for our Photographers Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>