Roland Mouret

Место рождения: Лурд, Франция, 1962

Designer Biography Roland Mouret

Поступив в парижский колледж моды в 1979 году, Роланд Муре бросил учёбу на первом году, по совету своего наставника, объяснив это тем, что жизненный опыт имеет более важное значение. Искав работу в качестве модели, Муре начал работать стилистом.

Получив стажировку во французских журналах Elle и Glamour, Муре познал бесценные навыки. После стажировки, Муре работал на Роберта Клирджерие, в качестве арт-директора, до переезда в Лондон в 1991 году.

Находясь в Лондоне, Муре работал на People Liberation, предприятие при поддержке итальянского производителя Gibo, однако, проект был недолгим. Затем, Муре приступили к разработке коллекций под собственным именем и представил их на неделе моды в Лондоне в 1998 году.

Коллекция из 15 частей была сделана безукоризненно и без использования шаблонов. Мягко драпированный дизайн получил хорошие отзывы критиков. Успех первой коллекции привёл его к появлению на первой обложке журнала Collezioni. Муре очень ясно видел и понимал женский силуэт.

В 2000 году он начал сотрудничество с Шарай и Андре Майерс, под названием Roland Mouret Designs Ltd. К 2004 году, Муре начал показывать свои коллекции в Нью-Йорке, где он получил высокую оценку за его методы драпировки и мастерство.

Спустя пять лет, Муре уволился из компании.

В 2005 году Роланд Муре прославился с Galaxy Dress. Знаменитости, в том числе Кэмерон Диаз, Деми Мур, Виктория Бекхэм и Скарлетт Йоханссон приняли новый бренд и Муре.

Платья с глубоким квадратным декольте и короткими рукавами, которые создавали силуэт песочных часов. Спрос на платье был настолько высок, что оно было продано ещё не дойдя до магазинов.

В 2006 году, Муре с помощью Саймона Фуллер начал действовать от имени RM от Roland Mouret. В том же году Муре сотрудничал над эксклюзивной коллекцией для Gap, состоящей из 10 платьев. В 2007 году он дебютировал со своей коллекцией Satellite в Париже. Сразу после шоу коллекция была доступна в Интернете.

В 2008 году, вторая коллекция RM была показана в Париже. В том же году была запущена новая коллекция RM Bespoke Limited Edition. В 2010 году Муре занялся производством мужской линии.

Известный своей точностью кройки и методом драпировки, Роланд Муре как никто другой понимает формы женского тела. Его дизайн и формы платьев очень женственны, и придают женскому телу сексуальность.

Saxony Dudbridge

Автор Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Roland Mouret

Roland Mouret biography

Born: Lourdes, France, 1962

Designer Biography Roland Mouret

Enrolling at a Parisian fashion college in 1979, Roland Mouret dropped out in his first year on advice from his tutor that life experience was more crucial. Finding work as a model, Mouret moved on to work as a stylist.

Gaining internships at French Elle and Glamour magazine, Mouret learnt invaluable skills – while at Elle, Mouret was taught how to pattern cut. After interning, Mouret then worked for Robert Clergerie as an art director, before moving to London in 1991.

While in London, Mouret designed for People Liberation, a venture backed by the Italian manufacturer Gibo, however, the project was short lived. Mouret then started to design collections under his own name and presented during London Fashion Week in 1998.

The 15 piece collection was immaculately tailored and produced entirely without the use of patterns. The gently draped designs received critical acclaim. The success of his first collection led to his first front cover magazine appearance on Collezioni. Mouret was credited with understanding the female silhouette.

In 2000, a partnership with Sharai and Andre Meyers started, under the name Roland Mouret Designs Ltd. By 2004, Mouret had began showing his collection in New York where he was praised for his draping techniques and sartorial skills.

After five years, Mouret resigned from the company.

In 2005, Roland Mouret was catapulted into fame with the Galaxy Dress. Celebrities including Cameron Diaz, Demi Moore, Victoria Beckham and Scarlett Johansson embraced the new brand and Mouret himself.

With celebrity endorsement, the sculptural dress featured a deep square neck and cap sleeves. The design that created an hourglass silhouette was universally known as the ‘it’ dress. The demand for the dress was so high; it sold out before it reached the shops.

In 2006, Mouret, with help of Simon Fuller, began operating under the name ‘RM by Roland Mouret’. The same year, Mouret collaborated on a limited edition collection for Gap, consisting of 10 dresses. In 2007, Mouret debuted his ‘Satellite’ collection in Paris. Straight after the show, Net-a-Porter had the RM collection available online to buy.

In 2008, the second collection by RM was shown in Paris. The same year a new collection, ‘RM Bespoke Limited Edition’ was introduced. In 2010, Mouret produced a menswear line.

Known for his precision cutting and drapery skills, Roland Mouret has an appreciation and understanding of the female body. His form enhancing pieces contradict minimalism with femininity and have an underlying sex appeal.

Roland Mouret biography

 

Saxony Dudbridge

Written by Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>