Linda Evangelista

Linda Evangelista Fashion Model Biography

Copyright © AFP / Achette Filipacchi / The Kobal Collection / Testino Mario
Naomi Campbell, Isaac Mizrahi, Linda Evangelista

Linda Evangelista est l’un des premiers mannequins à accéder au statut de Top modèles aux côtés de Claudia Schiffer, Cindy Crawford, Christy Turlington et Naomi Campbell. Elle est née le 10 mai 1965 à Ontario, au Canada.

Elle a été élevée dans une famille catholique traditionnelle. A l ‘âge de 12 ans, Linda savait déjà qu’elle voulait faire carrière dans le mannequinat. Elle est découverte en 1988 par un agent de « Elite Model Management » lorsqu’elle participe à « Miss Teen », un concours de beauté au Niagara. Bien qu’elle n’ai pas gagné le concours, cela s’est avéré être une étape cruciale pour sa future carrière. Elle emménage à New York et signe avec « Elite Model Management », puis finit par s’installer à Paris pour poursuivre sa carrière.

C’est grâce à sa beauté divine et à l’intensité de son regard azur qu’elle apparaît dans la couverture de tous les grands magazines de mode comme « Elle », « Vogue France », « W » et « Harper ‘s Bazaar », comptant ainsi un total de 600 couvertures à son actif. La plus emblématique reste la couverture de Vogue portrayant un nu de Linda enceinte.

Linda a défilé pour les plus prestigieuses maisons y compris « Chanel », « Versace », « Christian Dior », « Valentino », « Hermès » et « Dolce & Gabbana ».

C’est une coupe de cheveux que Linda considère désastreuse et décrit comme «une coupe au bol avec des favoris » qui la permettra de ce démarquer. En effet, cette coiffure a annoncé l’un des points marquants de sa carrière car celle-ci a permit d’intensifier son regard et a largement participé à création de son look de femme moderne. Cette dernière a aussi permit à Linda de s’établir en tant que mannequin à succès.

Linda figure dans deux vidéos clips de George Michael «Freedom» et « Too Funky ».

Alors à l’apogée de sa carrière Linda déclare lors d’une interview pour Vogue magazine: «Nous ne nous réveillons pas pour moins de $ 10.000 par jour …», en parlant d’elle et des autres Top modèles.

Linda a eu une vie amoureuse tourmentée. Elle a été mariée à Gerald Marie le directeur exécutif de « Elite Model Management », elle a également eu une liaison avec l’ acteur Kyle MacLachlan, ainsi qu’avec la star du football Français Fabien Barthez et Peter Morton, le fondateur de Hard Rock Café. En 2011, suite au scandale de la liaison entre Salma Hayek et son mari François-Henri Pinault ; Linda réclame une pension alimentaire à de Pinault.

Bien qu’elle ne se soit pas complètement retirée du mannequinat, Linda se consacre principalement à des œuvres caritatives. Elle s’est engagée dans des campagnes comme « Glam Mac Viva » et fonds de recherche sur le SIDA.

Roanna Price

Ecrit par Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Linda Evangelista

Linda Evangelista Fashion Model Biography

Copyright © AFP / Achette Filipacchi / The Kobal Collection / Testino Mario
Naomi Campbell, Isaac Mizrahi, Linda Evangelista

Linda Evangelista is one of the original supermodels alongside Claudia SchifferCindy Crawford, Christy Turlington and Naomi Campbell. The internationally recognised beauty was born on May 10th1965 in Ontario, Canada.

Linda was raised in a traditional Catholic family and by the time she was 12, knew she wanted to pursue a modeling career. An agent from Elite Model Management discovered her when she entered the 1988 Miss Teen Niagara beauty pageant. Though she didn’t win the pageant this turned out to be the vital step towards her hugely successful career. She later moved to New York City and signed with Elite Model Management, eventually then moving to Paris to further her career.

Her beautifully defined facial structure and blue-green eyes have appeared on the covers of nearly every fashion magazine including Elle, French Vogue, W and Harpers Bazaar, totally over 600 covers and counting. On one of better known covers, Vogue features a heavily pregnant Linda, aged 41, posting naked.

Linda’s fame and modeling prowess has led her to walk for an enviably long list of high profile fashion houses, including ChanelVersaceChristian DiorValentinoHermès and Dolce & Gabbana.

During one traumatic haircut Linda had her long brunette tresses chopped off into a style she described as “a bowl cut with sideburns”, she reportedly cried during the haircut but it became one of the defining moments of her career as her look became even more standout, and was soon replicated by women worldwide. Following this Linda rapidly progressed to be arguably one of the most successful models of all time thanks to her sleek and modern look. George Michael even featured Lind Evangelista in two of his music videos ‘Freedom’ and ‘Too Funky’ such was the extent of her success.

Linda once famously said, during an interview with Vogue: “We don’t wake up for less than $10,000 a day…”, speaking of her and the other “supers” paving the way to models having more control over their own careers.

Supermodels go famously hand in hand with high profile, well off men and Linda’s love life is no exception. She was married to Elite Model Management executive Gerald Marie, dated actor Kyle MacLachlan, French football star Fabien Bathez and Hard Rock Café founder Peter Morton. In 2011 scandal surrounded Linda and Salma Hayek and her husband François-Henri Pinault as Linda claimed child support from Pinault for her son.

Though not completely retired from modeling, Linda now acts mostly as an activist for campaigns such as Mac’s Viva Glam and HIV/AIDS research fund.

Roanna Price

Written by Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>