Diane von Furstenberg to remain CFDA head for two more years

Posted on

Board members voted unanimously to keep the Belgian-born American designer at the organization’s helm through 2016.

“The board’s unanimous decision to ask Diane to stay on as president is a testament to the great growth the CFDA has had under her leadership,” CFDA CEO Steven Kolb told WWD.

In 2016, the designer known for her famous wrap dress will be able to celebrate a full decade at the head of the organization, making her presidency the longest held by anyone other than her predecessor Stan Herman, who held the position from 1991 to 2006. Previous presidents include Oscar de la Renta, Perry Ellis and Mary McFadden, among others.

During the meeting, the Council also voted to approve the entry of 30 new members, including Danielle Sherman (Edun), Whitney Pozgay (Whit) as well as Ben and Doug Burkman (Burkman Bros). The CFDA now has a total of 478 members. 

Written by

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *