CFDA nominations announced, Vera Wang, De La Renta, Tisci get special awards

Posted on

The nominations for the 2013 CFDA awards were announced by CFDA president and fashion designer Diane von Fürstenberg alongside Nadja Swarovski, member of the executive Board at Swarovski Crystal which underwrites the event.

Leading the nominations for this year’s awards, which are widely considered the “Oscars of fashion,” are Alexander Wang and Proenza Schouler’s Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez, who are competing in both Womenswear Designer of the Year and Accessory Designer of the Year categories. Stiff competition in the field of Womenswear Designer of the Year will come from Marc Jacobs, while Philip Lim is the third candidate in the category Accessory Designer.

In the category of Menswear, Thom Browne, Michael Bastian — who in 2011 won Menswear Designer of the Year —  and the Duckie Brown label (nominated for Menswear Designer of the Year in 2007), are all competing for this year’s award.

In special awards, Oscar De La Renta will receive the CFDA’s Founders Award, Vera Wang will be honored with a Lifetime Achievement award and Riccardo Tisci will take home the International Award. The work of Hollywood costume designer Colleen Atwood (Alice in Wonderland, Chicago, Memoirs of a Geisha) will also be celebrated with the Board of Directors’ Tribute Award, while Tim Blanks’ contributions to fashion journalism will be recognized by the Media Award.

The awards will take place on June 3 in New York City.


Written by

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *