Yohji Yamamoto

Designer Biography Yohji Yamamoto

Родившись в 1943 году, Йохи Ямамото закончил университета Кейо в 1966 году, и получил две главные модные награды Японии, премию так-ан и премию Эндо в 1969 году. Стремясь показать свой стиль под собственным именем, он открыл свою компанию Y’s Company Ltd. Йохи собирался захватить мир моды.

В 1977 году он представил свою первую коллекцию Yohji Yamamoto в Токио, Париже – в 1981 году и в Нью-Йорке в 1982 году. В 1984 году он расширил своё ноу-хау в мире мужской моды, представив свою коллекцию Yohji Yamamoto Homme в Париже, и создав свою компанию Yohji Yamamoto Inc.

Йохи Ямамото всегда находился где-то между модой и искусством: он так же сблизился с киноиндустрией, работая над фильмом Вима Вендерса Notebook on Cities and Clothes (1989) и работал над костюмами для Такеши Китано в его фильмах Brother (1999), Dolls ( 2002) и Zatoichi (2003). В то же время, он делал костюмы для оперы Лиона под руковдством Madame Butterfly (1990), для Tristan and Isolde режиссёра Хайнера Мюллера (1993) и для арт-фестиваль оперы Канагава Сусаноо в 1994 году . В том же году, он получил номинацию Chevalier l’Ordre Des Arts Et Des Lettres от французского министра культуры. Он также участвовал в 25-летие компании Пины Бауша в 1998 году.

В 2002 году, Йохи Ямамото начал заниматься спортивной одеждой от кутюр: представив коллекцию на парижской неделе моды, после чего он начал сотрудничество с Adidas и его назначили креативным директором Y-3.

В том же году, он опубликовал свою книгу Talking to Myself (редактор Карл Соззани, печать Steidl), после чего, он стал предметом выставки May I help you? на Maison Européenne-de-la Photographie в Париже, а затем, в 2003 году, был представлен в музее современного искусства Hara в Токио.

В 2005 году, впервые, были открыты две международные выставки Йохи Ямамото: Correspondences в галерее современного искусства Палаццо Питти во Флоренции и Juste dе vêtements в Musée de la Mode et du Textile в Париже. В 2006 году была открыта выставка Dream Shop в музее моды MoMu в Антверпене.

2011 год ознаменовался публикацией его автобиографии My Dear Bomb, а также выставками в Лондоне: в Victoria & Albert Museum, в Wapping Bankside (женщины Йоджи), на Wapping проекта (Yohji Making Waves), и в Лондонском колледже моды (Йохи Ямамото на работе). В том же году, он получил номинацию Commandeur de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres от французского президента.

В 2012 году будет 40-летний юбилей Y, а Йохи Ямамото станет президентом Международного фестиваля моды и фотографии в Йере (Франция)? и предметом выставки в музее дизайна Холон (Израиль).

Saxony Dudbridge

Автор Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Yohji Yamamoto

Yohji Yamamoto biography

Designer Biography Yohji YamamotoBorn in 1943, Yohji Yamamoto graduates from Keio University in 1966 and receives two leading fashion awards in Japan, the So-en Award and the Endo Award in 1969. Eager to express himself under its own name, he goes into the creative adventure by setting up his company Y’s Company Ltd. We are in 1972 and young Yohji is about to overturn the fashion world.

In 1977 he presents his first Y’s collection in Tokyo, before Paris in 1981 and New York in 1982 with Yohji Yamamoto collection. In 1984, he extends his savoir-faire to the world of masculine fashion by introducing his Yohji Yamamoto Homme collection in Paris, and he creates his company Yohji Yamamoto Inc.

Yohji Yamamoto has always been situated between fashion and the arts: he approaches cinema with Wim Wenders’ film portrait of him Notebook on Cities and Clothes (1989) and with a collaboration on costumes with Takeshi Kitano for his movies Brother (1999), Dolls (2002) and Zatoichi (2003); he also flirts with opera by making costumes for the Opera de Lyon production of Madame Butterfly (1990), for Tristan and Isolde directed by Heïner Muller (1993) and for the Kanagawa Art Festival Opera Susanoo in 1994. The same year he receives the “Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres” nomination from the French Minister of Culture. He also participates in the 25th Anniversary of Pina Bausch Company in 1998. Image copyright: Shuzo Sato.

In 2002, Yohji Yamamoto reconciles sportswear to haute couture: after a show presented during the Paris haute couture fashion week, he starts a partnership with Adidas and is appointed creative director of Y-3.

The same year, he publishes his book Talking to Myself by Yohji Yamamoto (Carla Sozzani editor, printed by Steidl) and he is the subject of the exhibition May I help you? at Maison Européenne de la Photographie in Paris, which is then presented in 2003 at Hara Museum of Contemporary Art in Tokyo.

In 2005 first two international Yohji Yamamoto exhibitions are inaugurated: “Correspondences” at the Modern Art Gallery of the Palazzo Pitti in Florence and “Juste des vêtements” at the Musée de la Mode et du Textile in Paris. In 2006, it is the Dream Shop exhibition that opens at Momu Fashion Museum of Antwerp.

2011 is marked by the publishing by Ludion of his autobiography My Dear Bomb as well as a series of exhibition in London: at the Victoria & Albert Museum, at Wapping Bankside (Yohji’s Women), at Wapping Project (Yohji Making Waves), and at the London College of Fashion (Yohji Yamamoto at work). The same year he receives the “Commandeur de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres” nomination from French president.

2012 will be the 40-year anniversary of Y’s, and Yohji Yamamoto will also be president of the International Festival of Fashion and Photography of Hyères (France) and the subject of an exhibition in Holon Design Museum (Isräel).

Yohji Yamamoto biography

 

Saxony Dudbridge

Written by Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>