Tom Ford

Дата рождения: Остин, штат Техас, США, 1962

Designer Biography Tom Ford

Copyright © AFP / Archives du 7eme Art / Photo12

Сын риэлторов, Том Форд провёл своё детсво в Остине, штат Техас. Когда ему было одиннадцать лет, семья переехала в Санта-Фе Нью-Мексико, где Форд ходил в школу. Он покинул Santa Fe, чтобы поступить в Bard College в Рок-Симона, но бросил учёбу, чтобы переехать в Нью-Йорк и учиться истории искусств в Нью-Йоркском университете. Форд снова был отчислен, так как хотел начать актёрскую карьеру. Он сосредоточился на актёрстве в течение следующих шести лет, и живя в Лос-Анджелесе, участвовал в двенадцати национальных рекламных кампаниях одновременно. В конце семидесятых, он прибыл в Нью-Йорк, где часто ходил в популярный ночной клуб Studio 54, после чего, решил изучать дизайн интерьера в школе дизайна Parsons. За год до окончания учёбы Форд провёл полтора года в Париже, работая стажёром в пресс-службе Chloe, где он решил, что ему интересна мода.

После окончания учёбы, несмотря на отсутствие опыта, Форд пытался найти работу в Cathy Hardwick. Благодаря его постоянному упорству, Форд обеспечил себя работой помощника дизайнера в Hardwick в течение двух лет. В 1988 году Форд перешёл в Perry Ellis, и работал главным дизайнером американского женского отдела. Уставший от американской моды, Форд как-то сказал: «Если я когда-нибудь стану хорошим дизайнером, я должен покинуть Америку. Моя культура препятствует мне. Слишком много стилей в Америке. Европейцы, однако, ценят стиль.»

В 1990 году Форд переехал в Милан, где он работал на Дану Мэлло в Gucci. Когда Мелло вернулась в Нью-Йорк, Форд взял на себя её должность. С его ростом значимости в Gucci, Форд создал свою первую коллекцию мужской одежды в 1992 году, и в том же году взял под своё руководство коллекцию ready-to-wear, парфюмерию, рекламу и дизайн магазина. В 1994 году Форд был назначен креативным директором Gucci, после чего было сказано, что только благодаря ему, гламур вернулся в моду. В 1995 году начала расти поддержка со стороны знаменитостей и рекламных кампаний, а также фотографа Марио Тестино. В период между 1995 и 1996 годами, продажи Gucci увеличились на 90%. Впоследствии, Gucci приобрёл дом моды Yves Saint Laurent, и Форд был назначен креативным директором в 2000 году. Форд вернул классический дом моды обратно в их русло. С помощью Форда, дом моды, который был почти банкротом, был оценен в $ 10 млрд. долларов США, когда Форд покидал Gucci в 2004 году.

В 2005 году Форд создал марку TOM FORD с бывшим президентом Gucci Домеником Де Соле. В том же году Форд объявил о своём партнёрстве с Marcolin по производству очков, а также сотрудничал с Estee Lauder над созданием косметики TOM FORD. В 2007 году он открыл свой первый магазин в Нью-Йорке, открытие которого совпало с дебютом его мужской одежды и коллекции аксессуаров.

Также, в 2005 году, Форд создал свою собственную кинокомпанию Fade To Black, и в 2009 году он дебютировал в качестве режиссёра, получив награду за его фильм A Single Man с Колином Ферт и Джулианной Мур.

Saxony Dudbridge

Автор Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Tom Ford

Tom Ford biography

Born: Austin, Texas, USA, 1962

Designer Biography Tom Ford

Copyright © AFP / Archives du 7eme Art / Photo12

Born to two realtors, Tom Ford spent his early like in Austin, Texas. At eleven his family moved to Santa Fe New Mexico where Ford schooled. He left Santa Fe to enrol at Bard College at Simon’s Rock but dropped out to move to New York to study art history at the New York University. Ford again dropped out after only a year and turned his efforts to acting. He concentrated on acting for six years while living in Los Angeles during this time he featured in twelve national advertising campaigns simultaneously. In the late seventies he arrived back to New York where he frequented the popular nightclub Studio 54 and decided to study interior design at Parson’s School of Design. Before his last year of school, Ford spent a year and a half in Paris working as an in intern in Chloé’s press office where he decided his interest lay in fashion.

After graduating, despite his lack of experience, Ford tried for a job working for Cathy Hardwick. Through his constant perseverance Ford secured a job working as Hardwick’s design assistant for two years. In 1988 Ford moved to Perry Ellis as design director of the Woman’s American Division. Growing tired of American fashion, Ford commented ‘If I was ever going to become a good designer, I had to leave America. My own culture was inhibiting me. Too much style in America is tacky. It’s looked down upon to be too stylish. Europeans, however, appreciate style.’

In 1990 Ford relocated to Milan, where he worked for Dawn Mello at Gucci. When Mello moved back to New York, Ford took over her position. With his role at Gucci increasing Ford designed his first menswear collection in 1992, in the same year he took over heading the brand’s ready-to-wear, fragrances, image, advertising and store design. In 1994, Ford was promoted to creative director of Gucci. In his first year he was credited as putting the glamour back into fashion. 1995 saw Ford’s favour increase and celebrity backing and advertising campaigns by photographer Mario Testino followed. Between 1995 and 1996 sales at Gucci increased by 90%. With the Gucci Group acquiring the house of Yves Saint Laurent, Ford was named creative director in 2000. Like with Gucci, Ford catapult the classic fashion house back into the main stream. From the help of Ford, the house that was almost bankrupt when he joined was valued at $10 billion U.S dollars when he left the Gucci Group in 2004.

In 2005 Ford created the TOM FORD brand with former Gucci Group president Domenico De Sole. In the same year Ford announced his partnership with the Marcolin Group to produce eye wear as well as a partnership with Estee Lauder to create TOM FORD beauty products. In 2007 he opened his first flagship store in New York coinciding with the debut of the TOM FORD menswear and accessory collection.

Also in 2005 Ford created his own film production company FADE TO BLACK and in 2009 he made his directorial debut with the award nominated A Single Man staring Colin Firth and Julianne Moore.

Tom Ford biography

 

Saxony Dudbridge

Written by Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>