Roberto Cavalli

Место рождения: Флоренция, Италия, 1940

Designer Biography Roberto Cavalli

Credits & copyrights: Courtesy of Roberto Cavalli

Родившийся в артистической семье итальянцев, Роберто Кавалли начал проявлять интерес к искусству благодаря своему деду, Джузеппе Росси, члену движения Мачиаило. По семейной традиции, Кавалли поступил в институт искусств во Флоренции, и начал специализироваться на текстиле.

Концентрируясь на текстильной печати, Кавалли разработал ряд цветочных принтов для трикотажа, которые привлекли внимание итальянских чулочно-носочных фабрик.

В начале семидесятых годов Кавалли изобрёл метод наносения принтов на кожу и начал создавать мозайки из различных материалов. Кавалли дебютировал с этим методом в Париже. Впечатлённые его революционным изобретением дома моды, Hermes и Pierre Cardin начали пользоваться его услугами.

Кавалли начал развиваться и создавать свои собственные коллекции, и в возрасте 30 лет представил свои работы в салоне прет-а-портер в Париже. После Парижа, он показал свою коллекцию в Палаццо Питти во Флоренции. Два года спустя, в 1972 году, он открыл свой первый бутик в Сен-Тропе, который привлёк толпы людей, в том числе и молодую Бриджит Бардо.

В 1980 году Кавалли женился на своей пожизненной компаньонше Еве Дюрингер.

Кавалли создал свои первые “протёртые” джинсы в 1994 году. В том же году он открыл больше бутиков в Санкт-Барте, французско-карибском бассейне и Венеции.

В 1988 году была запущена линия Cavalli Just Cavalli, которая была доступна для более широкой аудитории.

В 2002 году Кавалли открыл магазин во Флоренции, украшенный его любимыми животными принтами. За этим последовало кафе Just Cavalli в Милане. В 2007 году Кавалли разработал костюмы для мирового турне Spice Girls . В том же году он создал коллекцию для H&M.

Связанный с наибольшим количеством мировых звезд и знаменитостей, его бренд был признан такими звёздами, как Дженнифер Лопес, Ленни Кравиц, Кристина Агилера, Кейт Мосс и Жизель Бундхен. В настоящее время, компания имеет линии Roberto Cavalli, Just Cavalli, Roberto Cavalli Junior и Class Roberto Cavalli. Бренду также принадлежит Caffe Giacosa, в котором продаётся водка, шоколад и вино, а также Cavalli Club – ресторан и бар.

Известный своим сочетанием гламура и грубого рок-н-рола, стиль Роберто Кавалли является экстравагантным, сексуальным и эротичным. Он ассоциируется с леопардовыми принтами, декольте и дорогими тканями.

Saxony Dudbridge

Автор Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Roberto Cavalli

Roberto Cavalli biography

Born: Florence, Italy, 1940

Designer Biography Roberto Cavalli

Credits & copyrights: Courtesy of Roberto Cavalli

Born into an artistic Italian family, Roberto Cavalli started an interest in art from his grandfather, Giuseppe Rossi, a member of the Macchiailo Movement. Following the family tradition, Cavalli enrolled at the Institute of Art in Florence at 17 and started to specialize in textile applications.

Concentrating on textile print, Cavalli developed a series of flower prints on knit, which attracted attention from Italian hosiery factories.

During the early seventies, Cavalli invented a printing procedure on leather and started creating patchworks of different materials. Cavalli debuted these techniques in Paris. Impressed with his revolutionary procedure, fashion houses including Hermes and Pierre Cardin started commissioning Cavalli.

Cavalli started to develop and design his own collection and at the age of 30, presented his work at the Salon for Pret-a-Porter in Paris. Following Paris he showed his collection at the Palazzo Pitti in Florence. Two years later in 1972, he opened his first boutique in Saint Tropez attracting a crowd of beautiful people, including the young Brigitte Bardot.

In 1980, Cavalli married his lifelong companion, Eva Duringer.

Cavalli designed the first sand blasted jeans in 1994. The same year he opened more boutiques in Saint Barth, the French Caribbean and Venice.

In 1988, Cavalli started the Just Cavalli line, a more accessible line for a wider audience.

In 2002, Cavalli opened a café store in Florence, decorated with his signature animal prints. This was followed by the Just Cavalli café in Milan. In 2007, Cavalli designed the costumes for the Spice Girls’ World Tour. The same year he designed a one time collection for H&M.

Associated with the world’s greatest stars, celebrities’ endorsing the brand and the designer, include Jennifer Lopez, Lenny Kravitz, Christina Aguilera, Kate Moss and Gisele Bundchen. The company itself now includes the lines Roberto Cavalli, Just Cavalli, Roberto Cavalli Junior and Class Roberto Cavalli. The brand also offers Caffe Giacosa which sells vodka, chocolate and wine and well as the Cavalli Club – a restaurant and bar.

Known for his raunchy rock ‘n’ roll glamour, Roberto Cavalli’s style is extravagant, sexy, erotic and lavish. He’s associated with leopard skin prints, plunging necklines and expensive fabrics.

Roberto Cavalli biography

 

Saxony Dudbridge

Written by Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>