Rick Owens

Место рождения: Калифорния, США, 1961

Designer Biography Rick Owens

Portrait credit to Andreas Sjodin

Выросший в Калифорнии, Рик Оуэнс изучал дизайн принтов в Parsons. После того, как его исключили, он начал работать в спортивных магазинах одежды Лос-Анджелеса.

Оуэнс запустил свой собственный бренд в 1994 году. Первоначально, он продавал свои коллекции исключительно в бутике Charles Gallay, который также продавал одежду от Martin Margiela, Thierry Mugler и Azzadine Alaïa. В 1999 году он расширился, и в 2002 году он был удостоен премии нового таланта Perry Ellis от Совета модных дизайнеров Америки. В 2007 году, он был награжден от Cooper-Hewitt National Design Award за свой дизайн одежды, а также премией The Rule Breakers Award от Fashion Group International.

В первый раз Оуэнс участвовал на неделе моды в Нью-Йорке в 2002 году. При поддержке американского Vogue, его имя также фигурирует в журнале. В том же году Оуэнс был назначен художественным руководителем в Revillon. Оуэнс покинул Лос-Анджелес и переехал в Париж, где начал показывать свои коллекции. После многочисленных показов было заключено долгое сотрудничество со стилистом Панос Япанис, который должен был работать на показах моды Оуэнса.

Оуэнс открыл свой первый бутик в Париже в 2006 году, а также состоялся дебют его мебельной коллекции в его новом магазине Rick Owens store в Трипека (Нью-Йорк) в 2008 году. Затем, были открыты магазины в Лондоне и Токио в 2009 году, и в Сеуле и Гонконге в 2010 году.

Мужская коллекция весна/лето’12 стала сочетанием одежды обоих полов. Полосатые длинные платья из хаки показывают, что Оуэнс не боится экспериментировать с новыми идеями.

В октябре 2011 года, отмечая свой успех, Оуэнс выпустил книгу. Вскоре после этого, Оуэнс сотрудничал с немецким художником Хорстои Эгоном над мебелной коллекцией. Работа была представлена в лондонской галереи RCM.

Стиль Рика Оуэнс можно прокомментировать как «гламур встретил гранж». Сам же он говорит о нём, как о “подростковой тоске, фактически не имеющей страха”. С чувством моды, его длинные футболки, асимметричные платья и другая одежда были замечены на Кейт Мосс, Мадонне и Кортни Лав.

Saxony Dudbridge

Автор Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Rick Owens

Rick Owens biography

Born: California, USA, 1961

Designer Biography Rick Owens

Portrait credit to Andreas Sjodin

Raised in California, Rick Owens learnt his craft studying a pattern making course at Otis/Parsons. Dropping out, he began to work for sportswear and knockoff houses around L.A.

Owens launched his own label in 1994. Originally he sold his designs exclusively to Charles Gallay, an L.A boutique that stocked Martin MargielaThierry Mugler and Azzadine Alaïa. In 1999 he extended his stock to Barneys and by 2002 he was awarded the Perry Ellis Award for Emerging Talent by the Council of Fashion Designers of America. In 2007 he was awarded the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Award for fashion design, as well as The Rule Breakers Award from The Fashion Group International.

Owens showed in New York Fashion Week in 2002 for the first time. Sponsored by American Vogue, they also featured him in a spread in the magazine.  The same year saw Owens appointed as Artistic Director of Revillon, the luxury furrier. Owens then left L.A and moved to Paris and began showing his own label’s collections. Showing in Paris also marked the beginning of a long collaboration with stylist Panos Yiapanis working together on his catwalk shows.

Owens opened his first boutique in Paris in 2006, this also saw the debut of his furniture collection, the Rick Owens store in Tripeca NYC in 2008, followed by stores in Mayfair London and Ayoama Tokyo in 2009 and in Seul and Hong Kong in 2010.

Owens’ male spring/summer 2012 collection saw him transcending a garments gender. Striped long dresses were seen amongst khaki linen showing that Owens isn’t afraid to experiment with new ideas.

Owens released a hardcover coffee table book in October 2011 celebrating his career. The book was designed completely by him. Shortly after, Owens collaborated with German artist Horst Egon on a furniture collection. The work was presented in London at RCM Gallery.

Rick Owens style has been described as ‘glamour meets grunge’. He described it himself as “it’s about an appreciation of teenage angst without actually having the angst”. With a sense of rock couture, his long T-shirts, asymmetric dresses and wearable designs have been seen on Kate Moss, Madonna and Courtney Love.

Rick Owens biography

 

Saxony Dudbridge

Written by Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>