Gisele Bundchen

Gisele Bundchen Fashion Model Biography

Copyright © AFP / Agência Estado

Gisèle est née en 1980, elle est un mannequin et actrice d’origine brésilienne. Gisèle a eu un impact certain dans l’industrie de la mode et jusqu’ à ce jour conserve un succès et une renommée internationale.

En 1993, sa mère l’encourage ainsi que ses deux sœurs à suivre un cours de mannequinat. Cela s’est avéré être décisif pour sa future carrière de mannequin. En effet, grâce a ce cours, Giselle a pu participer à de nombreuses compétitions de mannequin à travers le Brésil.

Elle entre ensuite dans le concours de Elite Model mondial et se classe quatrième position. Mais c’est en 1996, lorsqu’elle défile à la Fashion Week de New York que Gisèle connaît alors reconnaissance au niveau international.

En 1997, Gisèle se rend à Londres et auditionne pour 42 défilés. Elle est choisie pour défiler dans la collection de prêt-à-porter printemps 1998 d‘Alexander McQueen, celle-ci est inspirée des averses d’avril. C’est notamment sa capacité à marcher en talons hauts sur un chemin glissant qui la permet de se démarquer. Elle reçoit des éloges de McQueen qui la surnomme «The Body» en référence à Elle Macpherson. Ces compliments ont participé hâtivement à l’augmentation de ses contrats.

Gisèle a figuré dans les campagnes des plus prestigieuses maisons de couture y compris « Missoni », « Chloé », « Dolce & Gabbana », « Valentino », « Ralph Lauren », et « Versace ». Elle a également fait la couverture de Vogue, iD ainsi que de nombreux magazines de mode.

En 2000, elle devient le quatrième mannequin dans l’Histoire à faire la couverture du magazine « Rolling Stone » où ils la décrivent comme étant la plus belle fille au monde. Dans le magazine « Time » de cette même année, on la décrit comme étant l’un des rares mannequins dont les hommes peuvent citer le nom.

Gisèle est également célèbre pour avoir lancé la fameuse « Horse Walk » ou « la démarche du cheval », une façon de défiler où le mannequin hisse ses genoux afin de créer un mouvement de piétinement rappelant subtilement la démarche du cheval.

Gisèle est également connue pour avoir mit fin à l’ère «Héroïne Chic».Le magazine « Vogue » la décrit comme étant « Le retour du Mannequin Sexy ». Grâce à son succès et à son indéniable sex-appeal, elle fut l’un des anges de Victoria Secret de 2000 à 2006.

Depuis 2004, Gisèle est le mannequin le mannequin le mieux payé au monde. Selon le magazine « Forbes », elle est en voie de devenir le premier mannequin milliardaire.

Gisèle a également travaillé en tant qu’actrice, elle est notamment apparue dans plusieurs films tels que «Taxi» et «Le Diable s’habille en Prada».

De 2000-2005 Giselle entretenait une relation avec Leonardo DiCaprio. Néanmoins, elle se marie avec Tom Brady le quaterback des « Patriots » en 2009.

Roanna Price

Ecrit par Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Gisele Bundchen

Gisele Bundchen Fashion Model Biography

Copyright © AFP / Agência Estado

Gisele, born in 1980 is a Brazilian model and actress who has had a pivotal effect on the fashion industry and to this day retains international fame and success.

In 1993 Gisele’s mother encouraged her and two of her sisters to join a modelling course, this turned out to be the beginning of a momentous modelling career for Giselle as she competed in modelling competitions across Brazil before entering the Elite Model World contest held in Ibiza. She placed fourth in this and then went on to get her first international break through, appearing in NY Fashion Week in 1996.

In 1997 Gisele travelled to London and auditioned for 42 shows, she got her big break when she was chosen for her ability to walk in high heels on a slippery run way for Alexander McQueen’s April showers inspired Spring 1998 ready-to-wear show. McQueen also echoed accolades pronounced on Elle Macpherson a decade earlier, dubbing Gisele as ‘the Body’. This instantly increased her bookings.

Gisele has featured campaigns for many high end fashion houses, including MissoniChloéDolce & Gabbana,ValentinoRalph Lauren and Versace. She has also been the cover girl for Vogue, i-D and many other prestigious fashion magazines.

She is the fourth model in history to be on the cover of Rolling Stone magazine where they titled her ‘the most beautiful girl in the world’ in 2000. In the same year Time magazine said she was ‘one of the few runway models whom straight men can name”.

Gisele is also famous for pioneering the “horse walk”, which is a form of walking on the catwalk where a model picks up her knees high and kicks her feet forwards, creating a stomping movement.

Gisele is also credited with ending the era of “Heroin Chic” in the modelling industry, as Vogue dubbed her she was “The Return of the Sexy Model”. Her success and immense sex appeal led her to being one of the Victoria’s Secret Angels from 2000 until 2006.

Since 2004 she has been the highest paid model in the world. According to Forbes, Gisele is on track to become the worlds first billionaire supermodel.

Gisele has also worked as an actress, appearing in films including ‘Taxi’ and ‘The Devil Wears Prada‘.

From 2000-2005 Giselle was in a high profile relationship with Leonardo DiCaprio. Se has been married to New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady since 2009.

Roanna Price

Written by Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


2 thoughts on “Gisele Bundchen

  1. Pingback: 5 times Gisele Bündchen slayed the runway | MyWebspace

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>