Gia Carangi

Джиа Каранджи родилась в Филадельфии в 1960 году, и стала известна за свою оригинальность. Супермодель Синди Кроуфорд называют ‘Малышкой Джиа’, из-за ее сходства с Каранджи.

Джиа начала появлятся на обложках журналов Vogue и Cosmopolitan, в период между 1979 и 1982 годами, а также в многочисленных рекламных кампаниях Christian Dior, Versace и Maybelline. Джиа снилась в клипе на песню Blondies. Она была известной светской личностью, и регулярно посещала клуб Studio 54, который хорошо известен своими вечеринками для богатых и знаменитых.

В 1980 году, агент Джии Вильгельмин Купер умер от рака легких,  что привело Джиу к долгому и трагическому пути злоупотребления наркотиками, а в итоге и к её смерти от СПИДа в 1986 году, в возрасте всего 26 лет. Джиа сделала быстрый скачок от успешной модели, зарабатывающей тысячи долларов в день,  до модели, накаченной героином и участвующей в съёмках на Нижнем Ист-Сайде в Нью-Йорке. Её карьера стремительно шла вниз.

‪Модный фотограф Франческо Скавулла вспоминает съёмки в Карибском бассейне, когда она плакала, потому что не могла найти наркотики. Он буквально должен был укладывать её в постель, пока она не заснула. В 1980 году, на фотосессии Vogue, ходили слухи, что следы от употребления героина были видны даже после нанесения макияжа.

У Джии, в конечном итоге, развился СПИД, и так как её состояние ухудшалось, она была переведена в университетскую больницу Ганемана в Филадельфии, где её мать проводила с ней каждый день и позволяла только нескольким людям навещать её. 18 ноября 1986, когда она умерла, никто из индустрии моды не присутствовал на похоронах. Джиа стала одной из первых женщин в Америке, которая умерла от СПИДа.

Ориентация Джии никогда не была подтверждена, она посмертно была признана гей-иконой, и первой гей-супермоделью. Её партнёрами были как мужчины, так и женщины.

Трагическая история Джии стала источником вдохновения многих артистов. Биография Джии была написан Стивеном Фрайдом, которая называется Thing of Beauty (название из поэмы Джона Китса), и была опубликована в 1993 году, а в 1998 году был выпущен биографический фильм под названием Джиа, в котором снимались Анджелина Джоли.

Roanna Price

Автор Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Gia Carangi

Gia Carangi was born in Philadelphia in 1960 and is known to some as the original supermodel. Fellow supermodel Cindy Crawford was even referred to as ‘Baby Gia’ due to her resemblance to Carangi.

Gia appeared on high profile magazine covers such as Vogue and Cosmopolitan frequently between 1979 and 1982 and fronted numerous advertising campaigns including Christian DiorVersace and Maybelline. Gia also featured in the music video for Blondies song ‘Atomic’. Gia was a famous fashion socialite and a regular attendee at infamous club Studio 54 which is well known for hosting the rich and famous.

In 1980 Gia’s agent Wilhelmina Cooper died of lung cancer, this led to a long and tragic path of drug abuse for Gia, resulting to her dying from AIDS related complications in 1986, aged just 26. Gia made a quick transition from a successful model earning thousands of dollars a day to visiting heroin shooting galleries on New York’s Lower East Side. Her career deteriorated rapidly.

‪Fashion photographer Francesco Scavullo recalls a shoot in the Caribbean when “She was crying, she couldn’t find her drugs. I literally had to lay her down on her bed until she fell asleep.” In 1980 on a Vogue photo shoot it is rumoured that her track marks from shooting heroin were visible even after airbrushing.

Gia eventually developed AIDS and as her condition worsened she was transferred to Philadelphia’s Hahnemann University Hospital, her mother stayed with her day in day out and allowed very few visitors. When she died on November 18th, 1986 no one from the fashion industry attended the funeral. Gia was one of the first women in America to die of AIDS.

Gia’s sexuality has never been confirmed, posthumously she is recognised as a gay icon and cited as the first gay supermodel but she had male and female partners.

Gia’s tragic story has inspired many works that have since created her legacy. A biography of Gia was written by Stephen Fried called Thing of Beauty (a title from a John Keats poem) and published in 1993 and in 1998 a biographical film called Gia was released which starred Angelina Jolie.

Roanna Price

Written by Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>