Gia Carangi

Gia Carangi est née à Philadelphie en 1960. Elle compte parmi les premiers tops modèles. C’est d’ailleurs à elle que Cindy Crawford doit son surnom « Baby Gia ». En effet, cela est du à la ressemblance frappante entre les deux mannequins.

Entre 1979 et 1982, Gia est apparue dans la couverture des plus grands magazines de mode tels que Vogue et Cosmopolitan. Elle figure aussi dans de nombreuses campagnes publicitaires, y compris celles de Christian Dior, Versace et Maybelline. GIA a également été la vedette du clip vidéo de Blondie «atomique». Gia était une socialite et fréquentait souvent les soirées mondaines au fameux Studio 54, connu pour être le repère des riches et célèbres.

En 1980, Gia perd son agent Wilhelmina Cooper suite à un cancer du poumon. Ce drame annonce sa descente aux enfers, et la conduit dans l’abus de drogues. Sa carrière se détériore progressivement et ses excès résulte à sa contraction du sida en 1986. Elle succombe à la maladie tout juste âgée de 26. Gia a fait une transition rapide allant d’un mannequin à succès gagnant des milliers de dollars par jour pour visiter les galeries de tir d’héroïne à New York Lower East Side. ‪

Le photographe de mode Francesco Scavullo se rappelle d’un tournage dans les Caraïbes : “Elle pleurait parce qu’elle ne trouvait pas ses drogues. J’ai littéralement du l’allonger sur son lit et attendre jusqu’à ce qu’elle s’endorme. ” En 1980, sur une photo de Vogue magazine, la rumeur veut que ses marques d’héroïne étaient encore visibles même après les retouches.

Gia a finalement développé le sida et son état a empiré, elle a été transférée à l’hôpital de « Philadelphie Hahnemann University », sa mère est resté à ses côtés jour après jour laissant ainsi très peu de visiteurs. Quand elle est morte le 18 Novembre 1986, aucun membre de l’industrie de la mode n’a assisté à ses funérailles. Gia a été l’une des premières femmes en Amérique pour mourir du sida.

Même après sa mort, la sexualité Gia n’a jamais été confirmé. Néanmoins, elle est reconnue au statut d’icône gay et est souvent considérée comme étant le premier mannequin gay, bien qu’elle ai eu des partenaires masculins et féminins.

Le destin tragique de Gia a inspiré de nombreuses œuvres qui ont depuis contribué à la création de son héritage. Une biographie de Gia écrite par Stephen Fried « Thing of Beauty » (titre d’un poème de John Keats) et publié en 1993 et en 1998 un film biographique appelé Gia, avec Angelina Jolie dans le rôle principal.

Roanna Price

Ecrit par Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Gia Carangi

Gia Carangi was born in Philadelphia in 1960 and is known to some as the original supermodel. Fellow supermodel Cindy Crawford was even referred to as ‘Baby Gia’ due to her resemblance to Carangi.

Gia appeared on high profile magazine covers such as Vogue and Cosmopolitan frequently between 1979 and 1982 and fronted numerous advertising campaigns including Christian DiorVersace and Maybelline. Gia also featured in the music video for Blondies song ‘Atomic’. Gia was a famous fashion socialite and a regular attendee at infamous club Studio 54 which is well known for hosting the rich and famous.

In 1980 Gia’s agent Wilhelmina Cooper died of lung cancer, this led to a long and tragic path of drug abuse for Gia, resulting to her dying from AIDS related complications in 1986, aged just 26. Gia made a quick transition from a successful model earning thousands of dollars a day to visiting heroin shooting galleries on New York’s Lower East Side. Her career deteriorated rapidly.

‪Fashion photographer Francesco Scavullo recalls a shoot in the Caribbean when “She was crying, she couldn’t find her drugs. I literally had to lay her down on her bed until she fell asleep.” In 1980 on a Vogue photo shoot it is rumoured that her track marks from shooting heroin were visible even after airbrushing.

Gia eventually developed AIDS and as her condition worsened she was transferred to Philadelphia’s Hahnemann University Hospital, her mother stayed with her day in day out and allowed very few visitors. When she died on November 18th, 1986 no one from the fashion industry attended the funeral. Gia was one of the first women in America to die of AIDS.

Gia’s sexuality has never been confirmed, posthumously she is recognised as a gay icon and cited as the first gay supermodel but she had male and female partners.

Gia’s tragic story has inspired many works that have since created her legacy. A biography of Gia was written by Stephen Fried called Thing of Beauty (a title from a John Keats poem) and published in 1993 and in 1998 a biographical film called Gia was released which starred Angelina Jolie.

Roanna Price

Written by Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>