Bette Davis

Бетт Дэвис родилась 5 апреля 1908 года. Впервые, Дэвис поняла, что хочет стать актрисой, посмотрев  фильм «The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse» (1921) и выступление Мэри Пикфорд в «Little Lord Fauntleroy» (1921). Она начала строить свою карьеру после просмотра «The Wild Duck» . Дэвис вспоминает: “До этого спектакля я хотела быть актрисой. Когда он закончился, я поняла, я должна быть актрисой”. Позже, актриса сыграла роль, которая стала её вдохновением. Роль, которую она играла в 1929 году, стала её бродвейским дебютом, после чего она сыграла в Solid South.

После того, как она подписала контракт с Universal Studios, Дэвис переехала в Голливуд. Её дебютным фильмом стал «Bad Sister» (1931), но к сожалению, после этого, Дэвис снялась в ряду неудачных фильмах, и Universal Studios решили не продлевать контракт. Позже, Дэвис снялась в «The Man Who Played God» (1932). С самого начала своей карьеры, Дэвис всегда выбирала роли, в которых она могла показать спектр своих талантов. Хотя её роли отличались от других голливудских звёзд, студия тщательно работала над её образом. Актриса часто носила скромные костюмы и простые платья из шёлка без украшений и аксессуаров, благодаря чему, внимание концентрировалост на её ролях, в отличие от её соперницы Джоан Кроуфорд. В 1934 году она получила хорошие отзывы критиков за свою роль в «Of Human Bondage».

Дэвис снялась в «Jezebel» (1938), в котором она была в массивных бальных платьях с развевающимися кружевными рукавами. За свою работу она получила вторую премию Американской киноакадемии. Её роль, в качестве Шарлотты Валь в «Now Voyager» (1942), позволила Дэвис попробовать свои силы в моде. В начале фильма Валь была безвкусной старой девой, которую сдерживала её властная мать. Уйдя от матери, Валь расцветает, становится романтичной и переосмысливает свою жизнь, заполняя гардероб мехом, платьями с блёстками и калоритными дневными платьями.

Роль Марго Ченнинг в «All About Eve» (1950), который является одним из самых известных спектаклей Дэвис, и включает её самые знаменитые модные моменты. Эдит Хэд создала в честь Марго платье с меховой отделкой, затмив попытки Евы, которая имитировала её стиль. Фильм получил шесть наград Academy Awards, в том числе и за лучший дизайн костюмов.

За её вклад в развитие отрасли, Бетт Дэвис стаоа первой женщиной, получившей Lifetime Achievement Американского института кино в 1977 году.

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Автор Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Bette Davis

Bette Davis was born on April 5th 1908. Davis first knew she wanted to become an actress after seeing ‘The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse’ (1921) and Mary Pickford’s performance in ‘Little Lord Fauntleroy’ (1921). She committed to the career path after watching a production of ‘The Wild Duck’ starring Peg Entwistle. Davis recalled, “Before that performance I wanted to be an actress. When it ended I had to be an actress”. The actress later played the role that inspired her career. A role in 1929’s production Broken Dishes marked her broadway debut, which she followed with the play Solid South.

After being scouted by Universal Studios, Davis moved to Hollywood. The star’s film debut was ‘The Bad Sister’ (1931), unfortunately Davis was plagued with a string of unsuccessful films and Universal decided not to renew her contract. In a stroke of luck, Davis was cast in’ The Man Who Played God’ (1932), which served as her big break. From the beginning of her career, Davis had always selected character parts, to show the range of her talents. Though her roles set her apart from Hollywood’s other leading ladies, the studio carefully maintained her image, the actress often wore demure suits and simple silk gowns without adornments or accessories, making her performances the focus of her career, unlike her rival, Joan Crawford. In 1934 she received critical acclaim for her performance in ‘Of Human Bondage’.

Davis took a turn as a ‘Southern debutante in Jezebel’ (1938), which saw the actress in frothy ball gowns with layers of tulle and fluttering lace sleeves. Her performance earned a second Academy Award. Her performance as Charlotte Vale in ‘Now Voyager‘ (1942) allowed Davis to try her hand at being a fashion plate while maintaining her streak of character parts. Vale begins the movie as a dowdy unfashionable spinster, held back by her overbearing mother. When away from her mother’s grasp, Vale blossoms, finds romance and reinvents herself with a wardrobe of furs, sequined gowns and floral day dresses.

The role of Margot Channing in ‘All About Eve’ (1950) is one of Davis’ best-known performances, and includes her most celebrated fashion moments. Edith Head designed Margot’s memorable off the shoulder, fur-trimmed gown, eclipsing Eve’s attempt at imitating her style. The film won six Academy Awards, including Best Costume Design.

For her contributions to the industry, Bette Davis was the first woman to receive the American Film Institute’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 1977.

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Written by Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>