Tendances Femmes Automne–Hiver 2012/13

Nous avons trouvé une variété de total looks, de pièces clés à avoir, de couleurs tendances de la saison à alterner avec le noir, les imprimés et les motifs graphiques, le tout combiné avec une superbe sélection d’accessoires. Une étude complète sur les prochaines tendances à ne pas manquer. Bonne lecture!

Recherches et prévisions mode par Fabio Jesus D’Elia

Ecrit par Camilla Harrison

 

TOTAL LOOK : GOTHIQUE

Regardez du côté obscur pour vous inspirer cet automne avec les pantalons moulants en cuir noir et en satin. Copiez les stars de cinéma, pensez à Rooney Mara à l’écran dans Millénium et sur le tapis rouge, s’exhibant dans des vêtements noirs aux coupes structurées de la tête aux pieds.

Chez Demeuleemester, les mannequins chamboulèrent le podium avec des vestes de style origami et des pantalons moulants en cuir, complétés par des cuissardes et des coupes de cheveux déstructurées à l’allure punk.

Elie Saab mit en scène une version plus soft du style gothique tandis que la collection Gareth Pugh contenait des cols hauts de type Dracula ainsi que des bandes noires qui entouraient le corps comme les ailes d’une chauve souris.
Si vous pensez que le total look noir est trop pour vous, prenez exemple chez Gucci et Givenchy, qui ont présenté des vêtements dans les tons noirs assortis de violets foncés, de rouge carmin, de dentelles élaborées apportant un côté plus raffiné à la tenue.
N’ayant pas peur d’ajouter une touche de glamour, la fille gothique Versace portait une armure de cuir noir avec des clous décoratifs noirs et des motifs en croix représentant des bijoux; un look pour les filles qui n’ont pas froid aux yeux.

TOTAL LOOK: BAROQUE

Les créateurs remontèrent le temps jusqu’au 17eme siècle cette saison, avec des mannequins parés d’ornements plus adaptés au Palais de Versailles qu’au podium.

Balmain, toujours fournisseur d’imprimés et de textures complexes, créa des robes ajustées qui faisaient apparaître le corps comme un vase décoratif dans des tons de bleu et de crème.

 

Des couleurs plus sombres chez McQ (deuxième ligne McQueen’s) et Dolce & Gabbana, en rapport avec la tendance Gothique, superposées avec des imprimés brocarts somptueux composés de feuilles de vignes et d’automne.

 La grandeur de l’ère baroque a été remise au goût du jour par Lanvin qui mit en scène des imprimés majestueux sur des fonds rose bonbon et flashy, assortis de grosses amulettes autour du cou.

TOTAL LOOK : LES SUPERPOSITIONS

“C’est le nouveau costume trois pièces” confirme Karl Lagerfeld à propos de sa dernière collection Chanel pour laquelle il donne une nouvelle dimension aux superpositions. La tendance de la saison selon lui pour être au chaud tout en restant chic est de superposer une jupe par-dessus le pantalon complété d’une veste assortie. La mode des superpositions est dans la tête de tous les créateurs cette saison, en particulier pour la collection Marc Jacobs pour Louis Vuitton. Les jupes de tailleurs dans des couleurs chaudes ornées de bijoux étaient assorties avec des pantalons dans les mêmes tons, que l’on devinait à mi longueur, créant un look sage bien que décalé. Pour des superpositions moins marquées, regardez du côté de Cédric Charlier et Giambattista Valli qui créèrent des lignes épurées composées de pantalons slim et de robes tuniques chics, ou des ceintures à la taille pour créer des formes chez Yves Saint Laurent. Une tendance variée qui est parfaite pour les mois les plus froids et qui remet la jupe de tailleur au goût du jour.

 

TOTAL LOOKS: LES ANNEES 70

Une décennie souvent citée comme source d’inspiration pour beaucoup de créateurs, une tendance encore présente sur le podium cette saison.

Marc Jacobs et Miuccia Prada se sont imprégnés de modes variées et reprenaient les imprimés de cette décennie en les transformant en pantalon de tailleur chic et en tenues superposées. Les imprimés étaient de mise sur des designs emblématiques créés par Célia Birtwell pour Ossie Clark dans les années 70. Les deux créateurs laissèrent de coté les formes amples et lâches au profit de silhouettes plus élégantes et structurées pour montrer leurs créations de style Bridget Riley.

 

LES MUST HAVE : LA VESTE MILITAIRE

Le style militaire est de retour pour la saison Automne Hiver 2012, mais cette fois moins rigide et plus «countryside chic». L’accessoire parfait par-dessus une robe ajustée, facile à porter et décontracté.

Burberry, une marque reconnue pour son amour des robes rétros, présenta des vestes militaires dans une palette de couleurs terre, en velours doux et molletonnées, nouées simplement à la taille pour un style épuré. La veste militaire fut portée oversize chez Balmain, et ouverte par-dessus des robes élégantes, mettant l’accent sur la qualité et le coté robuste de cette pièce.
Enfin, Salvatore Ferragamo démontra comment manier la robe militaire afin de parfaire la silhouette, dans des tons gris foncés et bruns naturels, la tenue finale se composant de revers et d’accessoires en cuir.

 

LES MUST HAVE: LA CAPE

La cape est probablement la pièce mode la plus surprenante de cette saison, car en la portant sur les épaules elle transforme le look immédiatement.

Pour une touche de luxe et un rappel des années 70, portez la version fourrée de la cape comme vue chez Roland Mouret et Dries Van Noten, et restez au chaud. Parfaite pour les intempéries, elle peut être structurée et classique comme chez Leonard et Limi Feu, ou bien décontractée et casual comme chez Chloé et Hermès, pour qui la cape enveloppante est une pièce clé.

L’atout de la cape est sa capacité à créer le contraste sur la tenue; comme assortir une cape en cuir vue chez Givenchy ou Yves Saint Laurent à une blouse en dentelle délicate ou un gros pull en laine pour susciter l’intérêt.

LES MUST HAVE : LES LAINAGES/ TRICOTS

Vu sous toutes les formes, le pull tricoté est la pièce clé de la saison. Cet élément n’est plus considéré comme un simple vêtement mais comme un classique qui peut transformer une simple tenue en quelque chose de beaucoup plus passionnant.

Barbara Bui, Louis Vuitton et Roland Mouret montraient des modèles classiques qui complètent n’importe quelle tenue ; assemblés à des jupes crayons élégantes, le pull tricoté parait immédiatement plus moderne. Jouez avec les textures comme chez Giambattista Valli, dont les mailles pourraient être prises par erreur pour des vêtements imprimés, produisant un effet trompe l’œil. Les textures contrastées de chez Chloé où les pièces en grosses mailles décorées avec de gros bijoux étaient assorties à des éléments en cuir comme chez Nina Ricci et Chanel.

COULEURS: VIOLET

La couleur de la richesse et du statut social est la couleur phare de cette saison.

Les manteaux de fourrure violets d’Alberta Ferretti respiraient le luxe tandis qu’une robe en mousseline de soie violette paraissait fun, aguicheuse et délicate. Utilisée dans plusieurs matières, la couleur violette se prête au glamour et convient à toutes les couleurs de peaux et de cheveux.
Pour un look plus jeune, regardez chez Versus qui créa des robes violettes en incorporant de nombreux détails comme des imprimés des années 70 ou un motif croisé noir qui couvre le tissu.
La couleur violette de la tête aux pieds est réservée aux plus courageuses, donc pourquoi ne pas introduire la couleur comme une base vue chez Chanel où les maxi robes en mousseline de soie se marient tout en douceur dans les tons roses, violets, ou rouges.

COULEURS: ROUGE

Libérez la vamp qui est en vous et habillez-vous de rouge vif cet automne. Coloré, voyant, et certainement pas pour les timides, le rouge de cette saison emprunté au rouge à lèvres attirera l’attention.

La collection Donna Karan affichait un coté sexy, montrant une robe rouge séduisante très moulante qui n’avait besoin de presque rien pour créer un look spectaculaire, si ce n’est d’un blazer très structuré ou d’un manteau en cuir pour créer un total look.
Les robes rouges simples d’Hussein Chalayan pouvaient paraitre conservatrices pour le créateur d’habitude excentrique, mais vous n’avez pas besoin d’en faire trop avec une robe rouge, car la couleur s’impose d’elle-même.
Il est bien entendu impossible de parler de rouge sans mentionner Valentino, emblème de la couleur. Le rouge de la saison se traduit par des robes aux genoux de formes simples aux bords festonnés et aux détails sérigraphiés.

COULEURS : BLEU PETROLE

Parfait pour assortir avec du violet ou du rouge, le bleu pétrole est la nouvelle couleur à porter. Rappelant les années 70, la robe de cette couleur prit toutes les formes possibles.

Elie Saab montra que la couleur peut être utilisée de différentes manières en l’utilisant aussi bien pour une robe crayon ajustée que pour une maxi dress ultra glamour à paillettes.

Une version plus discrète de la couleur chez Hussein Chalayan fut observée sur d’élégantes maxi dress.

TEXTURES ET IMPRIMES : CARREAUX & MOTIFS ECOSSAIS

Ajoutez le motif à carreaux à votre liste pour la saison, avec des pièces de Marc Jacobs à Rick Owens présentant une large gamme de robes, vestes, jupes et capes. Le motif à carreaux est un thème récurrent, encore plus marqué cette saison.

 

 

Donna Karan enveloppa ses mannequins dans de la laine à carreaux, rappelant des couvertures de picnic; l’effet était osé assorti à de simples éléments noirs, et rappelait une robe traditionnelle écossaise. Vivienne Westwood, qui a utilisé le motif écossais depuis ses collections punk des années 70 jusqu’aux tailleurs jupes en tweed des années 40, remit le motif au goût du jour dans des tons bleu pastel et marron, accentués de rouge.

 

TEXTURES ET IMPRIMES: ART DECO

Décorez vos vêtements de bijoux et d’imprimés graphiques cette saison et travaillez le look déco. Les imprimés discordants et les textures de Marc Jacobs étaient somptueux, il mettait l’accent sur des détails complexes, d’une boucle de chaussures aux chapeaux. Les motifs imprimés récurrents des tailleurs pantalons de Miu Miu étaient de couleurs flashy portés avec des chemises neutres afin de créer un contraste. Pour faire suite à la tendance du pyjama habillé de la saison précédente, portez vos imprimés déco sur des pièces plus structurées cette saison comme chez Prada.

 

ACCESSOIRES ET SACS : LA CEINTURE

Portée par dessus pulls, manteaux ou pour marquer la taille sur les robes, la ceinture est l’accessoire à avoir cet automne, car comme la cape, on la voit sous toutes ses formes. Pour un look décoratif girly, regardez du coté d’Elie Saab et ses ceintures fines à la taille assorties aux robes, mettant en avant la taille de guêpe.

Pour un look plus casual, tournez-vous du côté d’Isabel Marant, la reine du chic Français, qui présentait des ceintures décoratives autour de la taille. Roland Mouret et Sonia Rykiel montrèrent également de fines ceintures mais plus simples et fonctionnelles comme pour fermer les manteaux ou les vestes. Toutes les ceintures sont de sortie cette saison, Leonard avec sa ceinture de style Obi (Kimono) ou la ceinture d’Haider Ackermann rappelant le style corset, portée par-dessus une jupe crayon ajustée avec une chemise.

ACCESSOIRES ET SACS: CHAPEAUX

Il y a une grande variété de chapeaux cette saison très contrastée, du chic à l’excentrique.

Chez Christian Dior on pouvait observer des chapeaux cloches des années 20 en laine de couleur pastel, tandis que chez DSquared les mannequins affichaient des grandes casquettes de baseball en fourrure fine dans des tons très colorés.
Enfin pour la touche ultime d’extravagance, les chapeaux Louis Vuitton étaient gigantesques, sans structures précises et décorés de plumes. Avec tous ces choix, la règle à retenir est d’éviter la simplicité pour se faire remarquer.

 

ACCESSOIRES ET SACS: ECHARPES

Il y a deux options pour cet automne: bohème chic ou fourrure somptueuse.

At Chanel, lightweight scarves were twisted and looped loosely around the neck in tie dye prints

.

Chez Etro au contraire les écharpes étaient simples, classiques, nouées avec élégance, parfaitement assorties avec un tailleur jupe.

 

ACCESSOIRES ET SACS: SACS

Le temps du It bag est révolu; place à la couleur, aux décorations, aux détails uniques cette saison. La texture se décline de la peau de serpent à la fourrure douce.

LES SACS EN TOILE

Pour les filles qui aiment le côté pratique et l’originalité, regardez du côté de chez Chloé pour des sacs oversize en cuir de couleur pastel. Le cuir aux couleurs acidulées est doux et souple, contrastant avec les bandes noires plus foncées sur le sac. Parfait pour le bureau, emmenez votre agenda, ordinateur et une paire de chaussures à talons pour les soirées après le travail. Chez Gucci le sac en toile fourre-tout met en avant les matières avec l’imprimé brocart ou la peau de serpent.

 

SACS BANDOULIERES

Regardez du coté de Balenciaga pour la sacoche simple mais stylisée, utile et luxueuse à la fois. Dans des tons beige foncé ou bleu électrique, ce style comprend des boutons-pression et une fermeture éclair pour le rendre très pratique. Lanvin mit en scène la tendance déco et montra des mini mallettes décorées de pierres précieuses suspendues à de longues chaines.
Le look Chanel n’est pas complet sans le classique sac matelassé, qui figurait dans la dernière collection de Karl Lagerfeld, avec également des chaines métalliques en guise de sangles, de toute beauté. Ils n’étaient pas portés directement à l’épaule mais délicatement enroulés autour des doigts et portés au niveau de la taille; Chanel vous donne une leçon dans la manière de porter le sac en bandoulière. Il y eut également Valentino chez qui les mannequins arboraient des pochettes cloutées portées à la main laissant la chaine pendre sur le côté.

 

LA POCHETTE

La pochette reste tendance pour accompagner une tenue de soirée cette saison, avec comme meilleur exemple Bottega Veneta, qui présenta différents modèles en noir et marron, avec des imprimés et des détails en cuir tressé.

LE MINI SAC

Le mini sac était sur tous les podiums; présent sous des formes structurées avec de petites brides attachées délicatement à la main.

Dior montra le mini sac en tweed monochrome, tandis que ceux de Dolce & Gabbana étaient plus décalés, incluant un sac en fourrure de couleur crème, et un style en crochet noir. Les mini sacs rectangulaires en peau de serpent de Gianfranco Ferré étaient parfaits en bleu pétrole ou couleur vanille.
Valentino faisait écho à la tendance gothique, montrant des sacs aux formes simples décorés de clous et des chaines métalliques.

LE SAC DOCTEUR

Le sac docteur fait partie de la majorité des collections cet automne; de rose et moelleux chez Dior à blanc éclatant et enroulé de chaines chez Dolce et Gabbana ou chic et simple en noir chez Lanvin. Le favori du défilé Gucci fut le mini sac en peau de serpent noir orné d’une boucle en or de style équestre.
Il fut impossible de résister aux sacs incrustés de bijoux de Louis Vuitton et parfaitement assortis au style déco de la collection, les bijoux brillants ajoutant le détail intéressant au simple sac de docteur.

ACCESOIRES ET SACS: CHAUSSURES

La fameuse citation “une fille n’aura jamais assez de paires de chaussures” était tout à fait appropriée à la tendance de cet automne, avec différents styles de chaussures de toutes les formes pour un look unique.

CHUNKY

Le look déco de Louis Vuitton est complété par des talons hauts à bouts carrés de style richelieu ou Mary Jane dans des tons très colorés aux finitions pierres précieuses.

 

BOTTES HAUTES

Dès l’apparition des mannequins du défilé Givenchy en hautes bottes de cuir noir, ces dernières devinrent un must have. D’influence équestre, les classiques bottes noires firent un tabac et s’avèrent très pratique pour le climat de saison. La sélection Alexander McQueen pour cette saison fut sans doute un peu moins pratique mais tellement tendance; en pure fourrure blanche sans aucuns talons visibles créant une véritable œuvre d’art à porter uniquement par les plus courageuses.

 

ESCARPINS

Très glamour avec un petit coté périlleux, ces chaussures ont été vues recouvertes de bijoux et de clous complétées par un talon vertigineux chez DSquared, plus appropriées chez Balanciaga.

BOTTINES

Les bottes mi hautes reviennent chaque année lors des défilés Automne/hiver, et cela fut encore le cas cette saison. Chez McQueen la bottine fut une version reprise des chaussures en fourrure blanche, tandis que Dolce et Gabbana s’inspirèrent de la tendance gothique en montrant des bottines à lacets en cuir noir complétées de boutons dorés de style belle époque.

 

Fendi présenta des bottes dans une gamme de couleur marron/beige et dans différentes matières: de la laine gris clair à vert mousse, à l’imprimé peau de serpent couleur châtaigne contrasté avec du cuir verni rouge cerise. Lanvin opta pour des bottes mi hautes noires classiques allant avec tout, complétées par un gros talon et des boucles sur le coté.

camilla

Ecrit par Camilla Harrison

Camilla is currently in her final year studying BA Fashion History and Theory at Central St Martins and is a freelance writer for a range of publications and websites, writing fashion, arts and culture. In the last year, Camilla has been archiving the garments and history of Margaret Howell.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Women Autumn-Winter 2012/13 Trends

Latest Fashion trends

We have found a variety of total looks, must have items, most trendy seasonal colours to alternate with black, graphics & prints all to be combined with a great selection of accessories. I would say one of the most complete trend forecast around. Enjoy the read!

Search and forecast by Fabio Jesus D’Elia
Written by Camilla Harrison

TOTAL LOOKS: GOTH

Look to the dark side for wardrobe inspiration this Autumn with separates in tight black leather and satin. Take the lead from film characters, think Rooney Mara on screen in ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’ and off screen on the red carpet, oozing attitude in sharply structured garments in black from head to toe.

At Ann Demeuleemester, models stormed down the catwalk in origami silhouetted jackets and tight leather trousers, complete with knee length boots and topped off with angular, punk-esque hairstyles.

Elie Saab presented a more polished version of the Goth girl with sweeping silhouettes whilst Gareth Pugh showed Dracula style high collars amidst swathes of black that encased the body like the wings of a bat.

If you feel that all over black is too literal for you, take note from Gucci and Givenchy, who presented garments in a dark palette accented with deep purples, blood reds and intricate lace adding a sense of delicacy to the look.

Never one to shy away from a touch of glamour, the Versace Goth girl wore armour of black leather adorned with black studs and bejewelled cross motifs; a look certainly not for the faint hearted.

TOTAL LOOKS: BAROQUE

Designers travelled back to the 17th century this season and adorned models in ornate detail more likely seen on the palace of Versailles than on the runway.

Balmain, ever a purveyor of intricate texture and print, created fitted dresses that left the body resembling a decorative vase in shades of blue and cream.

McQ (McQueen’s second line) and Dolce & Gabbana showed a darker palette, tying in with the Goth trend also present, overlaid with sumptuous brocade of meandering vines and autumn leaves.

The grandeur of the Baroque era was brought into the modern day by Lanvin who showed dramatic prints on a background of candy pinks and brights, paired with oversized amulets around the neck.

TOTAL LOOKS: LAYERING

“It’s the new three piece suit” says Karl Lagerfeld of his latest collection for Chanel which takes layering to a new level. Skirts over trousers complete with matching jacket is the way to keep warm this Winter whilst staying chic in the eyes of Lagerfeld. This new layered silhouette is on the minds of many designers this season; note in particular Marc Jacobs collection for Louis Vuitton. Skirt suits in rich colours and ornate jewelled detail were paired with matching trousers, which peeped out of the bottom of a mid length skirt, creating a demure yet quirky look. For a more minimalist take on layering, look to Cedric Charlier and Giambattista Valli who created clean lines with slim fit trousers and chic tunic dresses, or belt at the waist for more shape as seen at Yves Saint Laurent. A versatile trend, this is perfect for the colder months and brings the skirt suit up to date.

TOTAL LOOKS: 70s

A decade that is often cited as inspiration for many designers, the 70s was brought back to life on the catwalk this season.

Marc Jacobs and Miuccia Prada soaked up the eclectic fashions and repeated prints of the era and translated them into chic trouser suits and layered looks. Prints were reminscent of the iconic designs created by Celia Birtwell for Ossie Clark in the 1970s, both designers disregarded the loose and floaty shapes of the decade and instead focused on a neater and cleaner silhouette to exhibit their Bridget Riley-esque creations.

MUST HAVE ITEMS: MILITARY COAT

Military styles are back on the agenda for AW12, but this time round they are less rigid and more countryside-chic. The perfect staple to layer over a fitted dress, the military coat is easy to wear and looks effortlessly stylish.

Burberry, a label known for their love of heritage dress, showed military coats in a palette of earthy colours in soft velvets and quilting, tied simply at the waist for perfect ‘just thrown on’ style. Oversized and dramatic at Balmain, the military coat was worn open and draped over delicate dresses, emphasising the quality and weight of such a coat.

Finally, Salvatore Ferragamo demonstrated the unparalleled ability of military style dress to perfect the posture and frame the figure; again in an array of dusky greys and natural browns, the final flourish in the form of leather lapels and trimming.

MUST HAVE ITEMS: CAPE

Perhaps the most versatile of all pieces seen on the catwalk this season is the cape; transform an outfit in a second with this garment draped around the shoulders.

For a luxurious finish and a hint to the 70s trend, wear a fur version as seen at Roland Mouret and Dries Van Noten and keep snug at the same time. Perfect for inclement weather, the cape can be structured and classic as seen at Leonard and Limi Feu, or relaxed and casual as seen at Chloé and Hermes, whose blanket style cape is a must have. The beauty of a cape is its ability to create contrast and drama within an outfit; dress a leather cape as seen at Givenchy and Yves Saint Laurent over a delicate lace blouse or heavy knit jumper to create textural interest.

MUST HAVE ITEMS: KNITWEAR

Seen in all forms, the knitted jumper is your statement piece this season. No longer a side line piece, this classic knitwear can turn your outfit from simple to exciting.

Barbara Bui, Louis Vuitton and Roland Mouret showed classic styles that complement any outfit; paired with an elegant pencil skirt, the humble jumper instantly looks modern. Play with texture, as seen atGiambattista Valli, whose knitwear pieces could be mistaken for a printed garment producing a trompe l’oeil effect. Contrast textures as seen at Chloé, where heavy knit pieces were paired with leather separates and decorate with opulent jewels as seen at Nina Ricci and Chanel.

COLOURS: PURPLE

Historically a colour that denotes wealth and status, purple was the accent colour of the season.

Alberta Ferretti’s purple fur coats exuded luxury, while a purple chiffon dress was fun, flirty and delicate. Seen in a variety of textures, purple lends itself to glamour and suits all skin tones and hair colours.

For a younger, funkier take on the colour, look to Versus who created purple dresses incorporating various details such as a 70s style repeated print, or a black criss-cross detail that covered the fabric.

Head to toe purple is a look for the brave, so why not introduce it as a base colour as seen at Chanel, where purple chiffon maxi dresses eased seamlessly into the palette of pinks, purples and reds.

COLOURS: REDS

Release your inner vamp and dress in pillar box red this Autumn. Bright, bold and not for the timid, this seasons lipstick red will undoubtedly get you noticed.

Donna Karan’s collection was unashamedly sexy, showing a slinky, tightly fitted red dress that needs little else to create a dramatic look whilst her sharp fitted blazer and leather coat are perfect for adding a focal point to a look.

Hussein Chalayan’s simple red dresses may have seemed relatively conservative for the usually eccentric designer; but you need to add little else to a red dress, the colour speaks for itself and makes a statement whilst seeming effortless.

It is impossible to talk about red without mentioning Valentino, a label who is synonymous with the colour. This season’s red came in the form of simple knee length dresses with scalloped edges or laser cut detail.

COLOURS: PETROL

Perfectly paired with both purple and red, petrol blue is the new colour to be seen in. Evoking a sense of the 70s, the petrol coloured dress took every form possible.

From a fitted pencil skirt dress to an ultra glamorous maxi dress covered in sequins at Elie Saab, the designer showed just how versatile the colour is. A more muted version of the colour was seen atHussein Chalayan, as he showed elegant flowing maxi dresses.

TEXTURES AND PRINTS: CHECKS & PLAIDS

Tick plaids off your checklist this season with pieces from Marc Jacobs to Rick Owens in an array of dresses, jackets, skirts and capes. Plaids are an often recurring theme, but this season they are undoubtedly the it-print.

Donna Karan draped her models in check wool, reminiscent of picnic blankets; the effect was bold paired with simple black separates, and evoked images of traditional Highland dress. Vivienne Westwood, who has used plaids in everything from her punk collections of the 1970s, to her forties tweed skirt suits, updated the check in pastel blues and browns, accented with red.

TEXTURES AND PRINTS: ART DECO

Adorn your clothes with jewels and ornate graphic prints this season and work the Deco look. Marc Jacobs’ clashing prints and textures were lavish and luxurious focusing intricate detail on everything from shoe buckles to hats. The repeated motifs printed on trouser suits at Miu Miu were shown in jewel colours and paired with contrasting shirts. A follow on from the Pyjama suit last season, wear your Deco prints on more structured pieces this season as seen at Prada.

ACCESSORIES & BAGS: BELT

Worn over knitwear, coats or to accentuate the waist in dresses, the belt is the must have accessory this Autumn; like the cape, the belt is seen in every form. For a decorative girly look, see Elie Saab who showed thin belts at the waist to match the dresses, emphasising an hourglass figure. For a more casual style, look to Isabel Marant, the queen of effortless French chic, who slung decorative belts round the hips. Roland Mouret and Sonia Rykiel also showed thin belts but were simpler and had a more functional design of keeping a coat or jacket in place. Any belt goes this season; Leonard showed an Obi style belt and Haider Ackermann’s belt was reminiscent of a corset style, worn over a tight fitting pencil skirt and shirt.

ACCESSORIES & BAGS: HATS

The variety seen in hats this season could not be more contrasting, from the chic to the eccentric.

Christian Dior showed pastel woollen hats in a 20s cloche style, while the DSquared model wore an oversized baseball cap, in soft fur in a rich colour palette.

For the ultimate extravagant hat, look to Louis Vuitton where hats were oversized and unstructured and adorned with feathers. With so many to choose from, the overriding rule is to avoid simple, and make a statement.

ACCESSORIES & BAGS: SCARVES

There are two schools of scarf to choose from this Autumn; boho chic or luxurious fur.

At Chanel, lightweight scarves were twisted and looped loosely around the neck in tie dye prints.

Meanwhile, Etro showed simple, classic fur scarves, tucked neatly at the breastbone, perfect paired with a layered skirt suit.

ACCESSORIES & BAGS: BAGS

The days of a uniform It-bag are no more; it’s all about colour, embellishment and unique details this season. Texture was a recurring theme, from patent snakeskin, to soft fur.

TOTES

For the girl that likes a functional, no-nonsense bag look to Chloé for oversized leather bags in pastels. The candy coloured leather is soft and supple contrasted with strong black piping. Perfect for the office; carry your Filofax, laptop and a pair of heels for after-work cocktails. Gucci showed slouchy totes with a focus on texture in the form of brocade and patent snakeskin.

SHOULDER BAG

Look to Balenciaga for stylishly plain saddle style bags with a utility, sports-luxe feel. In soft tan and electric blue, this style comprises poppers and a zip making it utterly practical. Lanvin took on the Deco trend of the season and showed mini hard cased bags adorned with gems and stones hanging on long chains or brocade.

A Chanel look is not complete without the classic quilted bag, which of course featured in Lagerfeld’s latest collection, but also seen were metallic beauties with a chain strap. These were worn not on the shoulder but delicately entwined in the fingers and swung loosely by the hip; a Chanel lesson in how to carry your bag. Alternatively, see Valentino where models carried studded bags clutched in the hand while the chain hung below.

CLUTH

The clutch remains an evening wear staple this season, with exquisite examples shown at Bottega Veneta, who presented a variety of brown and black models, with textured and woven leather detail.

MINI

The ‘mini’ bag was seen everywhere on the catwalk; classic features are a structured shape and small handle clutched neatly in the hand.

Dior showed a monochrome tweed number, while Dolce & Gabbana’s offerings were more playful, including a cream fur bag, and a black crotchet style. Gianfranco Ferre’s snakeskin rectangular mini bags were perfect in petrol blue and vanilla cream.

Valentino catered to the goth girl, showing simple structured bags decorated with studs and chain handles.

DOCTOR

The structured doctors bag featured in the majority of collections this Autumn; from pink and fluffy atDior to clean white and draped in chains at Dolce & Gabbana or chic and simple in black at Lavin. A favourite from the Gucci show, was a mini bag in black snakeskin complete with equestrian style buckle detail in gold.

Louis Vuitton’s jewel encrusted bags were impossible to resist and paired perfectly with the Deco style of the collection; sparkling jewels added new interest to the humble doctors bag.

ACCESSORIES & BAGS: SHOES

The old adage, ‘A girl can never have too many shoes’ could not be more relevant this Autumn, as there is countless styles to choose from, all matching up with a unique look.

CHUNKY

The Deco look at Louis Vuitton is completed with square toed sky high heels in brogue and Mary Jane styles in rich colours and finished with gems.

LONG LENGTH BOOTS

When the Givenchy models stormed down the catwalk in black leather thigh high boots, they instantly became a must have. With a notable equestrian influence, the simple black boots were striking and practical for the Autumn weather. Alexander McQueen’s offering of boots this season were perhaps slightly less practical but no less striking; in pure white fur, the boots were notably absent of a heel creating a structural masterpiece that should only be worn by the very brave.

STILETTO

Utterly glamorous but with an edge of danger, heavily jewelled and studded shoes complete with a killer heel at DSquared while with a more sporty edge for Balenciaga

ANKLE BOOTS

Ankle boots are a regular at the Autumn/Winter shows, and this season was no different. McQueenshowed an ankle height version of the white fur shoes, whilst Dolce & Gabbana took influence from the Goth trend and showed Edwardian style lace up boots in black patent leather and complete with gold buttons.

Fendi presented boots in a palette of earthy colours and an array of textures, from soft grey and moss green wool to chestnut brown contrasted with cherry red patent snakeskin. Classic and wear-with-everything black ankle boots were provided by Lanvin, complete with chunky heel and buckle detail.

Latest Fashion trends

camilla

Written by Camilla Harrison

Camilla is currently in her final year studying BA Fashion History and Theory at Central St Martins and is a freelance writer for a range of publications and websites, writing fashion, arts and culture. In the last year, Camilla has been archiving the garments and history of Margaret Howell.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>