Salvatore Ferragamo

Born: Bonito, Italy, 1898
Died: Fiumetto, Italy, 1960

Designer Biography Salvatore Ferragamo

Image credit: Historical Archive Data Bank Foto Locchi Florence

У Сальватора Феррагамо, одиннадцатого ребёнка из четырнадцати, появилась страсть к обуви в раннем возрасте. Оформив первую пару обуви в возрасте от девяти лет для его сестры, Феррагамо понял, что он нашёл своё призвание.

Проучившись в течение года в Неаполе, Феррагамо решил открыть небольшой магазин, основанный в доме его родителей. Решив эмигрировать, он переехал в Бостон в 1914 году, где один из его братьев работал на заводе сапог.

Через некоторое время, работая на заводе, Феррагамо убедил брата переехать в Калифорнию. Проживая в Санта-Барбаре, Феррагамо открыл магазин в 1919 году. Четыре года спустя, Феррагамо открыл ещё один магазин в Голливуде.

В 1927 году Феррагамо вернулся на свою родину и обосновался во Флоренции. После открытия семинара в Via Mannelli, он начал экспериментировать с дизайном. В 1938 году Феррагамо изобрел каблук в виде клина. В том же году, Феррагамо купил новое здание Palazzo Spini Feroni, открыв в нём магазин. В том же году открылись новые магазины в Лондоне и Риме.

Во время Второй мировой войны, Феррагамо столкнулся с нехваткой материалов для разработки своих ботинок. Он выбрал более дешевые материалы, такие как как Raffia и Коrк.

В 1947 году Феррагамо выиграл премию Neiman Marcus Award за Invisible Sandal. Два года спустя, Феррагамо создал свою первую сумку, первоначально с целью для инструментов.

В 1951 году, во время своего первого итальянского шоу во Флоренции, Феррагамо выпустил сандали Kimo. Три года спустя, Феррагамо разработал один из его самых знаменитых стилей: замшавые лодыжки с ремешком для Одри Хепберн.

Феррагамо приступил к дизайну шёлковых шарфов в 1955 году. Десять лет спустя, началось производство сумок, а также была сделана первая коллекция ready-to-wear.

В 1960 году, в возрасте 62 лет, Сальваторе Феррагамо умер. Его жена Ванда Феррагамо взяла на себя компанию.

В 1966 году, бренд Ferragamo предназначил бархатные лодыжки для Брижит Бардо. На следующий год сын Феррагамо получил Neiman Marcus Award, через двадцать лет после своего отца. Три года спустя, в 1970 году, компания начала производство мужской одежды.

В 1978 году, была создана обувь Vara сыном Феррагамо.

В 1995 году был открыт музей Сальваторе Феррагамо, посвященный обуви и истории компании. В следующем году компания разработала обувь для Мадонны в фильме Алана Паркера. В 1998 году компания начала выпускать очки, а три года спустя, в 2001 году, был выпущен первый аромат. В 2004 году была введена услуга мужской обуви на заказ. Два года спустя, в 2006 году, компания получила Rodeo Drive Walk Style Award за след в истории моды и кино.

Сальваторе Феррагамо был очень успешным. В его список клиентов входили Одри Хепберн, Софи Лорен, герцогиня Виндзорская и Ева Перон. Известный по работе с необычными материалами, он использовал рафий, кружева, целлофан и рыбьею кожу для создания революционной обуви. Ferragamo известны своей инновационной обувью.

Saxony Dudbridge

Автор Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Salvatore Ferragamo

Salvatore Ferragamo biography

Born: Bonito, Italy, 1898
Died: Fiumetto, Italy, 1960

Designer Biography Salvatore Ferragamo

Image credit: Historical Archive Data Bank Foto Locchi Florence

Salavtore Ferragamo, the eleventh of fourteen children started his passion for shoes at an early age. Making his first pair of shoes aged nine for his sisters confirmation, Ferragamo decided he had found his craft.

Studying shoemaking for a year in Naples, Ferragamo then decided to open a small shop based in his parent’s home. Deciding to emigrate, he moved to Boston in 1914, where one of his brothers worked in a cowboy boot factory.

After a short time working at the factory, Ferragamo convinced his brothers to move to California. Residing in Santa Barbara, Ferragamo opened a boot shop in 1919. Four years later, Ferragamo opened another boot shop in Hollywood.

In 1927, Ferragamo returned back to his native country, settling in Florence. Opening a workshop in the Via Mannelli, he started to experiment with design. In 1938, Ferragamo invented the cork wedge heel. The same year Ferragamo bought a new building, the Palazzo Spini Feroni, opening the Florence store in the building. New shops where opening in London and Rome the same year.

During World War II Ferragamo was faced with a lack of materials to design his shoes. He chose cheaper materials like Raffia and Cork to carry on creatively expressing himself through his design.

In 1947, Salvatore Ferragamo won the ‘Neiman Marcus Award’ for his ‘Invisible Sandal’. Two years later, Ferragamo created his first bag, initially for the purpose to carry his tools.

In 1951, during his first Italian fashion show in Florence; Ferragamo launched the ‘Kimo’, a sandal with an interchangeable ankle-sock. Three years later, Ferragamo designed one of his most iconic styles; a suede ballerina shoe with a strap, for Audrey Hepburn.

Ferragamo started designing silk scarves in 1955, inspired by Italian symbols. Ten years later, production on bags started as well as the first ready-to-wear clothing collection designed by Giovanna Gentile Ferragamo.

In 1960, Salvatore Ferragamo died aged 62. His wife, Wanda Ferragamo Miletti took over the company.

In 1966, the Ferragamo brand designed a velvet ankle boot for Brigitte Bardot. The following year in 1967 Ferragamo’s son, Fiammi Di Dan Guiliano received the ‘Neiman Marcus Award’, twenty years after his father. Three years later in 1970, the company began producing menswear.

In 1978, the iconic ‘Vara’ shoe was designed by Fiamma Di San Giuliano Ferragamo.

In 1995, the Salvatore Ferragamo museum was opened, dedicated to footwear and the history of the company. The following year, the company designed shoes for Madonna in Alan Parker’s film. In 1998, the company started an eyewear line and three years later in 2001, the first fragrance was released. In 2004 a made-to-measure service for men’s shoes was introduced. Two years later in 2006, the company received the ‘Rodeo Drive Walk of Style Award’ for ‘The Permanent Footprint Left in the History of Fashion and Cinema’.

Salvatore Ferragamo was hugely successful. His client list included Audrey HepburnSophia Loren, the Duchess of Windsor and Eva Peron. Known for working with unusual materials, his use of raffia, lace, cellophane and fish skin created revolutionary shoes. Instigating new shapes and materials including the platform shoe in 1938 and the cork wedge in 1942, Ferragamo’s company is infamous for innovative shoes.

Salvatore Ferragamo biography

 

Saxony Dudbridge

Written by Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>