Pringle of Scotland

Основатель: Роберт Прингл, 1815

Pringle of Scotland Designer Biography

Созданная компания трикотажных чулочно-носочных изделий, Pringle of Scotland начали производство на шотландской границы в Хавик. В 1870 году компания начала производство кашемира.

В 1905 году, Прингл ввёл трикотажные изделия и создал название “Трикотаж”, для описания своих новых товаров. В 1920 году компания разработала узор Pringle Argyle, который сейчас является знаком бренда.

В 1934 году, Отто Вайс был назначен первым главным дизайнером. Комплект Twinset, состоящий из жакета и джемпера был разработан под его руководством.

В 1948 году, Прингл получили Королевский Ордер от самого её величества королевы. Пять лет спустя, Прингл открыл кашемировый ‘бар’ в Harvey Nichols, продавая Twinsets. После этого, Прингл вновь получил Королевский Ордер.

В 1967 году компания была приобретена Джозефом Доусоном.

Ричард Гир появился в костюме от Pringle of Scotland на обложке мужского Vogue в 1978 году. Три года спустя, началось 20-летнее партнёрство с Ником Фалдо. В течение следующих двух десятилетий, спортивая одежда стала ключевой частью бренда Pringle.

В 2000 году, SC Fang & Sons Company Ltd. Со купили компанию. Со сменой руководства, компания была переорганизована под управлением Кима Винсера.

Новый дизайнер Клэр Вайт Келлер разработала свою первую коллекцию для Pringle в 2006 году. В 2009 году Дэвид Шригли получил заказ на производство анимационных фильмов для бренда. В следующем году, Pringle впервые участвовали в мужском показе мод на неделе моды в Милане.

В 2010 году, Pringle сотрудничали с Central Saint Martins, чтобы восстановить свои 195 лет старого архива. В том же году, Алистер Карр был назначен новым директор по дизайну.

Pringle of Scotland являются одним из брендов с великим наследием. Известные за свои технические инновации с трикотажем, а также эмблему бренда Argyle, которая стоит на одежде для членов королевской семьи и модной элиты. Сейчас, Pringle of Scotland являются брендом высокого качества, и предлагают исключительно экстравагантный трикотаж.

Saxony Dudbridge

Автор Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Pringle of Scotland

Pringle of Scotland biography

Founded by Robert Pringle in 1815

Pringle of Scotland Designer Biography

Established as a manufacturer of knitted hosiery, Pringle of Scotland started production in the Scottish borders at Hawick. In 1870 the company started manufacturing cashmere.

In 1905 Pringle introduced knitted garments to their product portfolio and created the word ‘knitwear’ to describe their new goods. In the 1920s the company developed the Pringle Argyle pattern, which is now iconic with the brand.

In 1934 Otto Weisz was appointed as Pringle’s first full time designer. The twinset was developed under his direction.

In 1948 Pringle was granted the Royal Warrant of appointment to her Majesty the Queen Mother. Five years later Pringle opened a cashmere bar in Harvey Nichols selling twinsets. Pringle was again granted the Royal Warrant of appointment, this time to her Majesty the Queen.

Pringle of Scotland was acquired by Joseph Dawson Limited in 1967.

Richard Gere appeared on the cover of Men’s Vogue in 1978 wearing Pringle, widening their exposure. Three years later a 20 year partnership with Nick Faldo began. During the next two decades sportswear became a key part of the Pringle brand.

The company was bought by S.C Fang & Sons Company Ltd in 2000. With the change of leadership, Pringle embarked on a re-brand under the leadership of chief executive Kim Winser.

New designer Clare Waight Keller designed her first collection for Pringle in 2006. In 2009 David Shrigley was commissioned to produce an animated film for the brand. The following year, Pringle launched their first runway show for menswear at Milan Fashion Week.

Pringle collaborated with Central Saint Martins in 2010, to re-establish their 195 year old archive. The same year, Alistair Carr was appointed as the new Design Director.

Pringle of Scotland is an iconic heritage brand. Known for technical innovation in the creation of knitwear, the brand’s signature Argyle pattern has been a must for royals and the fashion conscious. Now seen as a luxury brand, Pringle offers exceptional, extravagant knitwear.

Pringle of Scotland biography

 

Saxony Dudbridge

Written by Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>