Pierre Cardin

Место рождения: Италия, 1922

Pierre Cardin

Copyright © AFP / P. Ullman / Roger-Viollet

Уже в восемь лет Карден понял, что хочет стать дизайнером. Четырнадцати летний Карден начал работать в Chez Bompuis, где и началось его обучение.

После нескольких попыток переехать в Париж, Карден познакомился Жанной Пакуин, которая обеспечила его работой в её парижском доме моды.

В 1945 году Bebe BERAD и Марсель Эскофье шили костюмы для фильма La Belle La & Bete, и они решили попросить дом моды Пакуин о помощи. Им понравился интузиазм Кардена, которого они в итоге и попросили помочь. Фильм получил культовый успех, а костюмы широко хвалили.

В 1946 году Карден начал работать на Эльзу Скиапарелли. Спустя два месяца, работая в качестве кройщика, он наконец то вышел из тени модных домов и начал выпускать одежду под своим именем.

Вскоре, Берар и Эскофье познакомили Кардена с Люсьеном Лелоном из Christian Dior. Это было идеальное время, так как Диор как раз собирался открыть свой собственный дом и предложил Кардену работу в 1946 году.

После стольких лет приобретения нужного опыта, Карден оставил Christian Dior и открыл свою собственную компанию в 1950 году. Изначально, бренд создавал костюмы для театра, но в 1953 году Карден представил свою первую коллекцию. За этим последовало открытие первого бутика Ewa в 1954 году. Три года спустя, был открыт второй бутик Adam, в котором продаваличсь красочные мужские галстуки и футболки с принтами

В 1957 году Карден совершил свой первый визит в Японию. Практически незная японский, он посетил показ мод в школе Токио Bunka, где также провёл лекцию по дизайну одежды. Карден стал первым французским кутюрье, который так скоро стал известным в другой стране.

В 1959 году Карден представил свою первую женскую коллекцию ready-to-wear в Париже, а в следующем году – мужскую

Два года спустя Карден добавил женскую линию ready-to-wear в постоянное производство его компании. За этим последовала первая детская коллекция представленная в Париже в 1966 году, и двумя годами позже открытие детского бутика.

Карден продолжал расширять свой бизнес в течение следующих лет, и в 1977 году ему был вручён Золотой наперсток французского Haute-Couture. Два года спустя он получил ту же награду еще раз.

К 1990 году, бренд Кардена уже был известен как новый товарный знак, который открывал рестораны, отели и бутики по всему миру, создавал линии мебели, выпускал парфюмерию, разрабатывал кукол.

В 1991 году Карден провёл показ мод для 200.000 человек на Красной Площади в Москве. Два года спустя он добавил косметическую линию в производство. В 1994 году Карден открыл дом моды Пьера Кардена и центр дизайна.

С тех пор Карден получил многочисленные награды, был показан в ретроспективе и последовательно расширял свой бизнес. Видя спрос со стороны богатых клиентов, желаю модные вещи, Cardin создали дизайнерскую этикетку. Получив лицензионное соглашение, он начал перевоплащать свой бренд в образ жизни.

Умение Пьера Кардена уподобляется Balenciaga и Скиапарелли, а также продуманная маркетинговая стратегия привели его к такому успеху.

Saxony Dudbridge

Автор Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Pierre Cardin

Pierre Cardin biography

Born: San Andrea DA Barbara, Italy, 1922

Pierre Cardin

Copyright © AFP / P. Ullman / Roger-Viollet

Cardin had an early interest in fashion deciding at eight that he wanted to be a couturier. Aged fourteen, Cardin was hired at the best tailor in Saint-Etienne, Chez Bompuis. There he began a tailor apprenticeship.

After several attempts to move to Paris, Cardin was introduced to Jeanne Paquin and secured a job at her Parisian house.

In 1945 Bebe Berad and Marcel Escoffier were designing costumes for the film “La Belle et La Bete” and decided to use the House of Paquin to help produce the garments. Attracted by Cardin’s enthusiasm, the pair asked him to work on the costumes. The film was a cult success and the costumes were widely praised.

Growing bored at Paquin, Cardin secured a job at Elsa Schiaparelli in 1946. Joining the label as a cutter, he only stayed for two months before leaving with the same anonymity.

During this small break in his career, Berard and Escoffier introduced Cardin to an assistant at Lucien Lelong, Christian Dior. The introduction was perfect timing as Dior was just about to open his own house and offered Cardin a job in 1946.

Having trained and worked for the best, Cardin left Christian Dior and opened his own company in 1950. Initially the business designed costumes for theatre but, in 1953, Cardin presented his first ladies collection. This was followed by the opening of his first boutique “Eve” in 1954. Three years later a second boutique “Adam” opened featuring men’s colourful ties and printed shirts.

In 1957 Cardin made his first visit to Japan.  Virtually unknown to the Japanese, his trip saw him present a fashion show at Tokyo’s fashion school “Bunka” and teach a course in making couture clothes. Cardin became the first French couturier to earn a following and awareness in the country.

In 1959 Cardin presented his first ready-to-wear women’s collection in Paris. The following year his first men’s collection was presented, followed by the creation of the men’s ready-to-wear department.

Two years later Cardin added a women’s ready-to-wear line to his company. This was followed by the first children’s collection presented in Paris in 1966 and the opening of a children’s boutique two years later.

Cardin continued to expand his business over the following years and in 1977 was recognized with the Gold Thimble of French Haute-Couture. Two years later he received the same award again.

By 1990 Cardin had launched a new trademark, opened restaurants, created furniture lines, opened boutiques worldwide, launched fragrances, developed dolls, champagne and opened hotels.

In 1991 Cardin held a fashion show in the Red Square, Moscow in front of 200,000 people. Two years later he added a cosmetics line to his ever growing business. In 1994 Cardin opened the Pierre Cardin Fashion and Design Centre.

Since then Cardin has received numerous awards, featured in retrospect’s and consistently expanded his business.  Seeing the demand from wealthy cliental wanting high fashion items, Cardin exploited the idea of the designer label. He moved into ready-to-wear, menswear, department stores, the licensing of his name and created a lifestyle business.

Excellently trained, Pierre Cardin’s skill is likened to that of Balenciaga and Schiaparelli with his success due to a marketing strategy years ahead of his time.

Pierre Cardin biography

 

Saxony Dudbridge

Written by Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>