Peter Lindbergh

Питер Линдберг родился в ноябре 1944 года в Лиссе (Германия), а детство провёл в Дуйсбурге, где он занимался витринами для универмагов Karstadt и Horten.

Он начал с изучения свободной росписи в колледже искусств в Дюссельдорфе, а затем бросил учёбу и отправился в путешествие по Швейцарии, Франции, Испании и Марокко. Два года спустя он вернулся в Дюссельдорф и устроил свою первую выставку скульптуры в галерее Дениз Рене/Ханс Майер. Он вернулся к фотографии в 1971 году.

Он снял свою первую серию фотографий, когда ему исполнилось 30 лет. Для того, чтобы выиграть время и получить опыт, он начал помогать Хансу Люксу, который стал его другом и наставником, и ‘обучал’ его в течение 2 лет.

Он переехал в Париж в 1978 году, где его работы были впервые опубликованы в журнале Stern. Оттуда, он начал работать в итальянских, немецких, французских и американских изданиях Vogue, а также для New Yorker, Vanity Fair, Allure и Rolling Stone.

В 1987 году он получил награду Highest Achievement Award for Photography в Нью-Йорке. Три года спустя он был удостоен Гран-при и золотой медали на Международном фестивале фотографии в Будапеште и Барселоне.

В 1992 год он подписал четырёхлетний контракт с американским изданием Harpers Bazaar, работая в то же время над рекламными кампаниями для Giorgio Armani, Jil Sander, Prada, Donna Karan, Calvin Klein и Comme Des Garcons. В том же году он начал работать над документальным фильмом Models – The film с Линдой Евангелисте, Наоми Кэмпбелл, Стефани Сеймур и Синди Кроуфорд.

Он сделал множество портретов знаменитостей, среди которых Мик Джаггер, Шарлотта Рэмплинг, Настасья Кински, Тина Тёрнер, Джон Траволта, Мадонна, Шэрон Стоун и Джон Малкович. В 1996 году он опубликовал книгу Ten Women, состоящую исключительно из чёрно-белых портретов.

Он любит женщин, и часто делает их портреты без какого-либо макияжа, как к примеру он сделал серию фотографий  актрисы Катрин Денев для журнала Vogue. Он также говорил, что находит своё вдохновение в работах Фрица Ланга и Джармуш, Лартига и Блюменфельда.

В 1995 году он был назван Лучшим международным фотографом, а два года спустя был награжден Fashion Award в Париже.

В 1996 году он работал над клипом Тины Тёрнер Missing You, который он снял в Лос-Анджелесе. Так же работал над календарём для Pirelli в 2002 году. В том же году, он стал почётным членом клуба Art Directors в Германии.

В 1999 году он работал над своим вторым документальным фильмом, 30 минутной драммой Inner Voices, а в 2001 году, над коротким документальным фильмом о немецкой танцовщице и хореографе Пины Бауш. В том же году ему была присвоена Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres в Париже.

В 2007 году он работал с Жанной Моро над экспериментальным фильмом Everywhere at once, который был показан на фестивале Tribeca Film в Нью-Йорке.

Marine Lazarus

Автор Marine Lazarus

Marine Lazarus, an Anglo-French photographer who moved to UK 3 years ago to study journalism at Brunel University in London. Marine is responsible for our Photographers Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Peter Lindbergh

Peter Lindbergh was born in November 1944 in Lissa, Germany and spent his childhood in Duisburg where he then worked as a window dresser for Karstadt and Horten Department stores.

He started by studying Free Painting at the College of Art in Krefeld before abandoning his studies to travel Switzerland, France, Spain and Morocco. Two years later he came back to Düsseldorf and prepared his first sculpture exhibition at the Galerie Denise René/Hans Mayer. He turned to photography in 1971.

He shot his first series of pictures when he turned 30. In order to gain time and experience he started assisting Hans Lux that then became his friend and mentor and formed him for over 2 years.

He moved to Paris in 1978 where his work was first published in Stern Magazine. From there he started working for the Italian, German, French, and American editions of Vogue Magazine, as well as for the New Yorker, Vanity Fair, Allure and Rolling Stone.

In 1987 he received the “Highest Achievement Award for Photography” in New York. Three years later he was awarded the Grand Prix and the Gold-Medal at the International festivals of Photography in Budapest and Barcelona.

In 1992 he signed a four year contract with the American edition of Harper’s Bazaar whilst working on ad campaigns at the same time for Giorgio Armani, Jil Sander, Prada, Donna Karan, Calvin Klein and Comme des Garçons. That same year he also started working on documentaries, producing his first one “Models – The film“ with Linda EvangelistaNaomi CampbellStephanie Seymour and Cindy Crawford.

He took many portraits of celebrities amongst which Mick Jagger, Charlotte Rampling, Nastassja Kinski, Tina Turner, John Travolta, Madonna, Sharon Stone and John Malkovich. In 1996 he published the book “Ten Women” composed exclusively of black and white portraits.

He loves women, and often takes portraits of them without any make up or artifice, as for the series he made of actress Catherine Deneuve for Vogue Magazine. He is also said to find his inspiration in the work of Fritz Lang and Jarmusch, Lartigue and Blumenfeld.

In 1995 he was named “Best International Photographer” and was awarded the Fashion Award two years later in Paris.

In 1996 he worked on Tina Turner’s music video “Missing You” that he shot in Los Angeles and on his first assignment for the Pirelli Calendar – an assignment he will also fulfill in 2002 -.That same year he also became a honorary member of the Art Directors Club in Germany.

In 1999 he worked on his second documentary, a 30 minutes drama called “Inner Voices” and again in 2001 on “Pina Bausch — Der Fensterputzer” a short documentary on German dancer and Choreographer Pina Bausch. That same year he was appointed Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres in Paris.

In 2007 he worked with Jeanne Moreau on an experimental feature called “Everywhere at once” which World’s premiere was shown at the Tribeca Film Festival in New York.

Marine Lazarus

Written by Marine Lazarus

Marine Lazarus, an Anglo-French photographer who moved to UK 3 years ago to study journalism at Brunel University in London. Marine is responsible for our Photographers Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>