Matthew Williamson

Место рождения: Манчестер, Англия, 1971

Matthew Williamson Designer Biography

Мэтью Уильямсон закончил изучение моды и текстиля в Central St Martins в 1994 году. После окончания, Уильямсон начал работать внештатным дизайнером в Marni, что привело к работе в Monsoon Accessorize.

В 1997 году, Уильямсон открыл свой собственный дом моды – Matthew Williamson, при поддержке Иосифа Велоса. В его дебютном показе Electric Angels на Неделе моды в Лондоне, принимали участие супермодели Кейт Мосс, Хелена Кристенсен и Джейд Джаггер.

С косым кроем платьев, яркими цветами и сложными деталями, Уильямсон представил своё чувсто прекрасного. В 2002 году, Уильямсон участвовал на нью-йоркской неделе моды. Два года спустя, открылся его первый магазин в Лондоне. В 2005 году, Уильямсон занял пост креативного директора в Emilio Pucci, и в то же время работал в своей собственной компании. В том же году, компания Уильямсона запустила линию парфюмов.

В 2007 году Уильямсон отметил 10-летний юбилей бренда на Неделе моды в Лондоне, которое сопровождалось концертом Queens. Также была проведена выставка в музее дизайна Лондона, под названием Matthew Williamson – 10 years in Fashion industry.

В 2008 году, Уильямсон был назван Дизайнером Года на британской церемонии модных наград. В следующем году, был открыт первый магазин в Нью-Йорке, а затем и в Дубае. Вскоре после этого, были созданы онлайн магазины для Европы и США. В 2009 году, Уильямсон начал сотрудничать с H&M, создав женскую, а также, впервые, мужскую коллекцию.

В 2010 году была разработана коллекция для мужчин, специально для Harrods и фирменных магазинов, а в следующем году – для его собственного бренда. Кроме того, в 2011 году вышла диффузная линия для более широкой аудитории. Известный своим индийским дизайном одежды, Мэтью Уильямсон использует яркие цвета и сложные детали, для получения красивой и вдохновляющей одежды.

Saxony Dudbridge

Автор Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Matthew Williamson

Matthew Williamson biography

Born: Manchester, England, 1971

Matthew Williamson Designer Biography

Studying Fashion Design and Printed Textiles at Central St Martins, Matthew Williamson graduated in 1994. After graduating, Williamson began a freelance design project with Marni which led to him designing for Monsoon and Accessorize.

In 1997, Williamson launched his own fashion house – Matthew Williamson, with the backing of Joseph Velosa. His debut show at London Fashion Week, ‘Electric Angels’, featured supermodels Kate Moss, Helena Christensen and Jade Jagger. With bias cut dresses, bright colours and intricate details, Williamson set his signature aesthetic.

In 2002, Williamson showed at New York Fashion Week for the first time. Two years later, his first flagship store opened in London. In 2005 Williamson took over as Creative Director at Emilio Pucci, while still designing for his own company. The same year, Williamson’s company began a fragrance line.

In 2007, Williamson celebrated the label’s 10 year anniversary at London Fashion Week which included a performance by Prince. An exhibition at the Design Museum in London was also held, entitled ‘Matthew Williamson – 10 Years in Fashion’.

In 2008, Williamson was awarded with the ‘Red Carpet Designer of the Year’ at the British Fashion Awards. The following year, the first flagship store in the United States was opened in New York, followed by a store in Dubai. Shortly after, e-commerce stores were created for Europe and the US.

In 2009, Williamson embarked on a one off collaboration with H&M, for men and women, showcasing his first venture into menswear.

In 2010 a capsule collection for men was designed exclusively for Harrods and the flagship stores. The following year a menswear range was created. Also in 2011 a diffusion line ‘MW by Matthew Williamson’ was launched for a wider target audience.

Known for his Indian influences, Matthew Williamson uses bright colours and intricate detailing to produce beautifully inspired clothing.

Matthew Williamson biography

 

Saxony Dudbridge

Written by Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>