Marlene Dietrich

Fashion Icon Biography Marlene Dietrich

Copyright © AFP / Collection Roger-Viollet – Marlene Dietrich

Marlene Dietrich naquit le 27 décembre 1901 en Allemagne sous le nom de Marie Magdalene Dietrich. Les membres de sa famille la surnommaient souvent “Lene”, et elle combina “Marie” et “Magdalene” pour créer “Marlene” à l’âge de 11 ans.

Une blessure au poignet l’empêcha de devenir violoniste de concert, et son intérêt pour la poésie et le théâtre s’accrurent. Elle commença sa carrière sur scène en tant que choriste dans un cabaret à vaudevilles. À ses débuts, Dietrich arborait déjà le style androgyne dont elle deviendrait plus tard synonyme.

En 1922, elle fit ses débuts au cinéma avec un petit rôle dans So sind die Männer (Ainsi sont les hommes). Elle continua à gagner en notoriété à travers des critiques de comédies musicales et des petits rôles. Son rôle de Lola-Lola dans L’Ange Bleu (1930), qui fit décoller sa carrière, lui rapporta un contrat avec Paramount Pictures. Le film fut réalisé par Josef von Sternberg, à qui on attribua la découverte de Dietrich; ensemble ils travaillèrent sur six films, et Sternberg aida à la construction minutieuse de l’image de femme fatale glamour de Dietrich.

La première collaboration Américaine de Sternberg et Dietrich, Cœurs Brûlés (1930), apporta aux audiences l’image iconique de Dietrich dans un smoking d’homme, avec cravate blanche et chapeau haut-de-forme, valant à l’actrice son unique nomination aux Oscars. Shanghaï Express (1932) fut le plus éclatant succès au box office du duo, le film ayant été encensé non seulement pour ses recettes, mais pour ses éléments de style ravageurs. Les aptitudes de Sternberg à faire jouer la lumière s’associèrent à des costumes sublimes pour créer un chef d’œuvre d’esthétique. Shanghaï Express montra le mariage parfait des deux styles de Dietrich, la garçonne et la femme fatale, et offrit à l’actrice certains de ses plus éclatants instants mode, revêtant un col de renard volumineux, une casquette militaire, des pyjamas masculins et des costumes à plumes, avec turbans assortis et un petit voile.

L’actrice intervertissait souvent les costumes de ses films avec des vêtements de sa propre garde-robe, expliquant : “À tout moment, je risquais de mélanger mes personnages et mon attitude professionnelle avec ma vie personnelle. C’était inévitable”. Par chance, la garde-robe “mélangée” de Dietrich comprenait des pièces de créateurs majeurs de Hollywood tels que Travis Banton et Edith Head, aussi bien que des modèles de Lanvin, Mainbocher et Vionnet. La panoplie de la star dans la vie de tous les jours était composée de vestes de tweed, de tailleurs pantalon et cravate, ainsi que de jupes taille-crayon et de robes ajustées.

Plus tard dans sa carrière, Marlene travailla en tant qu’artiste de cabaret de luxe, interprétant les chansons de ses films ou les succès du jour. Elle passait la première partie de son numéro dans une robe chair qui la faisait paraître nue, couverte de sequins et de perles, et se changeait en costume queue de pie et chapeau haut de forme pour la seconde moitié. Marlene Dietrich déclara un jour : “Je m’habille pour moi. Pas pour l’image, pas pour le public, pas pour la mode, pas pour les hommes”.


Bronte Naylor-Jones

Ecrit par Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Marlene Dietrich

Fashion Icon Biography Marlene Dietrich

Copyright © AFP / Collection Roger-Viollet – Marlene Dietrich

Marlene Dietrich was born Marie Magdalene Dietrich in Germany, on December 27th 1901. Her family often called her “Lene”, and she combined “Marie” with “Magdalene” to created “Marlene” at the age of 11.

A wrist injury prevented Marlene’s dreams of becoming a concert violinist, and her interests in poetry and the theatre grew. She began her stage career as a chorus girl in a vaudeville cabaret. Even at the start of her career, Dietrich exhibited the androgynous style she would become synonymous with.

In 1922 she made her film debut, with a small part in So sind die Männer. She continued to gain attention in musical revues and small film parts. Her breakout role as Lola-Lola in The Blue Angel (1930) earned the star a contract with Paramount Pictures. The film was directed by Josef von Sternberg, who was crediting with discovering Dietrich; together the pair worked on six films, and Sternberg helped to carefully craft Dietrich’s glamorous on screen image as a femme fatale.

Sternberg and Dietrich’s first American collaboration, Morocco (1930), brought audiences the iconic image of Marlene dressed in a man’s tuxedo, white tie and top hat, earning the star her first and only Oscar nomination. Shanghai Express (1932) was the duo’s biggest box office hit, with the movie not only praised for its’ financial success, but it’s lush style elements. Sternberg’s lighting skills combined with stunning costumes to create a visual masterpiece. Shanghai Express showcased the perfect marriage of Dietrich’s two styles, the garconne and the femme fatale, and created some of the star’s best fashion moments. A voluminous fox collar worn with a military cap, menswear inspired pyjamas and a feathered suit, with matching turban and a small veil.

The actress would often interchange her film costumes with her personal wardrobe, stating, “At any moment I risked mixing my roles or my professional attitude with my private life. It was inevitable.” Luckily, Dietrich’s “combined” wardrobe included creations from Hollywood’s premier designers such as Travis Banton and Edith Head, as well as couture pieces from Lanvin, Mainbocher and Vionnet. The actress’ off-screen attire included tweed coats, pantsuits and ties, as well as silk blouses, pencil skirts and fitted dresses.

Later in her career, Marlene worked as a well-paid cabaret artist, performing songs from her movies and hits of the day. She spent the first half of her act in a “nude” effect dress, covered in sequins and beads, and changed into a top hat and tails for the later half. Marlene Dietrich once said, “I dress for myself. Not for the image, not for the public, not for the fashion, not for men.”

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Written by Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>