Marlene Dietrich

Fashion Icon Biography Marlene Dietrich

Copyright © AFP / Collection Roger-Viollet – Marlene Dietrich

Марлен Дитрих родилась 27 декабря 1901 года в Германии, под именем Мария Магдалина Дитрих. Её семья часто называла её «Лене», а в сочетании с “Мари” и “Магдалина”, в возрасте 11 лет, было образовани имя “Марлен”.

Травмы запястья привели к концу её мечты о карьере скрипачки, а её интерес к поэзие и театру рос. Она начала свою сценическую карьеру в хоре кабаре. Даже в начале своей карьеры, Дитрих считали синонимом андрогинного стиля.

В 1922 году она дебютировала в кино с небольшой ролью в «So sind die Männer». Она продолжала привлекать к себе внимание в музыкальных постановках и небольших фильмах. Её прорывом стала роль Лолы в «The Blue Angel» (1930), после чего она подписала контракт с Paramount Pictures. Режиссёром фильма был Йозеф фон Штернберг, который ‘раскрыл’ Дитрих, и вместе, пара работала над шестью фильмами. Штернберг также помог создать Дитрих имидж роковой женщины на экране.

Первое сотрудничество Штернберг и Дитрих было Marocco (1930), которое открыло новую Марлен, одетую в смокинг, белый галстук и шляпу цилиндр. После этого, звезда получила её первую и единственную номинацию на Оскар. «Shanghai Express» (1932) собирал полные кассы, а фильм хвалили не только за финансовый успеха, но и за стиль. Штернберг со своими навыками, в сочетании с потрясающими костюмами, создавал шедевры. «Shanghai Express» продемонстрировал идеальное сочетание двух стилей Дитрих, гарсон и роковой женщины, что создало один из лучших моментов звезды. Она носила объёмный воротник с военной фуражкой, мужские пижамы и пернатые костюмы, с чалмой и вуалью.

Актриса часто заменяла её костюмы в фильме одеждой из её личного гардероба, заявляя, что “в любой момент, она может рискнуть и совместить свои роли с личной жизнью. Это было неизбежно.” К счастью, её “комбинированный” гардероб включал творения главных дизайнеров Голливуда, таких как Трэвис Бентон и Эдит Хэд, а также Lanvin, Mainbocher и Vionnet. За кадром, актриса одевалась в твидовые пальто, брючные костюмы и галстуки, а также шёлковые блузки, юбки-карандаш и платья.

Позже, Марлен начала работать хорошо оплачиваемой артисткой кабаре, исполняя песни из её фильмов и хиты того времени. В первой половине её выступлений она была в платьях “ню”, покрытыми блёстками и бисером, а во второй половине – в цилиндре и фраке. Марлен Дитрих однажды сказала: «Я одеваюсь для себя. Не для имиджа, не для публики, не для моды, и не для людей “.

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Автор Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Marlene Dietrich

Fashion Icon Biography Marlene Dietrich

Copyright © AFP / Collection Roger-Viollet – Marlene Dietrich

Marlene Dietrich was born Marie Magdalene Dietrich in Germany, on December 27th 1901. Her family often called her “Lene”, and she combined “Marie” with “Magdalene” to created “Marlene” at the age of 11.

A wrist injury prevented Marlene’s dreams of becoming a concert violinist, and her interests in poetry and the theatre grew. She began her stage career as a chorus girl in a vaudeville cabaret. Even at the start of her career, Dietrich exhibited the androgynous style she would become synonymous with.

In 1922 she made her film debut, with a small part in So sind die Männer. She continued to gain attention in musical revues and small film parts. Her breakout role as Lola-Lola in The Blue Angel (1930) earned the star a contract with Paramount Pictures. The film was directed by Josef von Sternberg, who was crediting with discovering Dietrich; together the pair worked on six films, and Sternberg helped to carefully craft Dietrich’s glamorous on screen image as a femme fatale.

Sternberg and Dietrich’s first American collaboration, Morocco (1930), brought audiences the iconic image of Marlene dressed in a man’s tuxedo, white tie and top hat, earning the star her first and only Oscar nomination. Shanghai Express (1932) was the duo’s biggest box office hit, with the movie not only praised for its’ financial success, but it’s lush style elements. Sternberg’s lighting skills combined with stunning costumes to create a visual masterpiece. Shanghai Express showcased the perfect marriage of Dietrich’s two styles, the garconne and the femme fatale, and created some of the star’s best fashion moments. A voluminous fox collar worn with a military cap, menswear inspired pyjamas and a feathered suit, with matching turban and a small veil.

The actress would often interchange her film costumes with her personal wardrobe, stating, “At any moment I risked mixing my roles or my professional attitude with my private life. It was inevitable.” Luckily, Dietrich’s “combined” wardrobe included creations from Hollywood’s premier designers such as Travis Banton and Edith Head, as well as couture pieces from Lanvin, Mainbocher and Vionnet. The actress’ off-screen attire included tweed coats, pantsuits and ties, as well as silk blouses, pencil skirts and fitted dresses.

Later in her career, Marlene worked as a well-paid cabaret artist, performing songs from her movies and hits of the day. She spent the first half of her act in a “nude” effect dress, covered in sequins and beads, and changed into a top hat and tails for the later half. Marlene Dietrich once said, “I dress for myself. Not for the image, not for the public, not for the fashion, not for men.”

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Written by Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>