Kenzo Takada

Geboren: Hyogo, Japan 1939

Copyright © AFP / Jean-Régis Roustan / Roger-Viollet

Kenzo Takada studierte am Bunka College of Fashion in Tokio. Nach kurzer Arbeit in Japan zog er 1965 nach Paris, um sich als selbstständiger Designer zu verwirklichen.

Dort arbeitete er mit der Pisanti Textilgruppe und später mit der Unternehmensberatungsfirma Relations Textiles zusammen.

1970 übernahm er die Boutique Jungle Jap, die sich mit ihrem komfortablen, einfachen  und andersartigen Sortiment von anderen Geschäften abhob und schnell viele Trendsetter und Models begeisterte. Seine erste Kollektion für Jungle Jap wurde aus finanziellen Gründen komplett aus Baumwolle gefertigt.

Trotzdem blieb Takada der Erfolg bei der Präsentation in der Vivienne Gallerie sicher. Zudem schaffte eines seiner Modelle aufs Elle-Cover. Ein Jahr darauf zeigte er seine ersten Kenzo-Kollektionen bereits in New York und Tokio und wurde mit dem  “Fashion Editor Club of Japan’s Prize” ausgezeichnet.

Ganz nach seiner theatralischen Art hielt er 1978 und 1979 seine Modenschauen in einem Zirkuszelt ab inklusive Pferde in transparenten Gewändern, Artisten und sich selbst auf einem Elefanten reitend. 1983 kam seine erste Männerbekleidungskollektion auf den Markt, gefolgt von seinem ersten Frauenduft in 1988 und einem Männerduft 1991.

Zwei Jahre später kaufte die LVMH-Gruppe das Label. Ende der 90er verabschiedete sich Kenzo Takada von seinem Unternehmen und ließ seine Assistenten in der Zuständigkeit für sein Label. 2005 lancierte er das Einrichtungsunternehmen “Gokan Kobo” und arbeitet seitdem im Dekorationsdesigning.

Kenzo-Designs basieren auf unstrukturierte Formen und freie Stoffbewegung, weder Abnäher noch Reißverschlüsse werden verwendet. Weite Ärmel und Armlöcher tragen zur voluminösen Eigenschaft der Kleidung bei. Mit farbenfrohen und ungewöhnlichen Mustern unterscheidet sich Kenzo weit von anderen Modehäusern und besonders von anderen japanischen Designern. Statt auf radikale architektonische Schnitte und Farben zu setzten, kreiert Kenzo junge, wilde und tragbare Designs.


Saxony Dudbridge

Geschrieben von Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Kenzo Takada

Kenzo Takada biograhpy

Born: Hyogo, Japan, 1939

Copyright © AFP / Jean-Régis Roustan / Roger-Viollet

Studying at the Bunka College of Fashion in Tokyo, Kenzo Takada had a brief stint working in Japan, before relocating to Paris in 1965, to work as a freelance designer.

After working with the Pisanti textile group, and later with Relations Textiles, a consulting company, Kenzo took over a boutique in 1970. The boutique, Jungle Jap, offered simple, practical, wearable designs that ran counter to the haute couture designs. The boutiques different style, immediately attracted models and trendsetters.

His first autumn/winter collection for the store was made entirely out of cotton due to his tight finances. The collection was presented at the Vivienne Gallery to success and had one of his models featured on the cover of Elle magazine.

Kenzo presented his collections in New York and Tokyo in 1971. Following this he won the ‘Fashion Editor Club of Japan’s prize’ the next year.

Proving his theatricality, in 1978 and 1979, he held his shows in a circus tent, featuring performers on horse wearing transparent uniforms, as well as himself riding an elephant.

In 1983, Kenzo launched his first menswear collection. Also during the eighties he released his first fragrance for women in 1988. In 1991 a male fragrance followed. Two years later in 1993, the brand was bought by LVMH.

In 1999, Kenzo retired from the brand, leaving his assistants in charge of the house. In 2005, Kenzo reappeared as a decorative designer, creating Gokan Kobo, a brand of home furnishings.

Kenzo’s designs are based on unstructured forms, no darts or zippers are used to ensure free-spirited clothing is created. Using wider sleeves and armholes, his designs shape volumes. Known not to present classics, Kenzo designs separates that can be mixed for multiple colours and unusual prints.

Unlike other Japanese designers, Kenzo doesn’t use radical cutting, but instead creates young, wearable designs.

Kenzo Takada biograhpy

 

Saxony Dudbridge

Written by Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>