Humphrey Bogart

Fashion Icon Biography Humphrey Bogart

Copyright © AFP / The Kobal Collection / Fryer, Elmer – Humphrey Bogart

Хамфри Богарта известен своей ролью в «Casablanca»(1942), в котором он создал стиль, который навечно остался в сердцах зрителей. Кроме того, все всегда обращали внимание на его манеру одеваться, уделяя особое внимание деталям. Богарт носил платки, галстуки и бабочки, всегда вместе с карманным платком.

Благодаря нему, стали популярны двубортные костюмы. Помимо его стиля, актёр также произнёс несколько самых запоминющихся цитат, к примеру такую как: “Вот смотрю на тебя, малыш”.

Актёр родился в Рождество в 1899 года. Его отец Бельмонт Форест Богарт был хирургои, а мать Мод Хамфри была иллюстратором. Богартс жил в комфортной квартире Верхнего Вест сайда. После того, как его исключили из частной школы, у Богарта проснулась любовь к морю, и он начал служить во флоте в 1918 году. Когда он вернулся со службы, то получил работу в кино, и дебютировал на сцене в пьесе «Drifting».

Его ранние роли, он сыграл в криминальных драммах, в качестве гангстера. Эти роли требовали особые костюмы, и Богарт часто носил свои костюмы, чтобы всегда выглядеть хорошо, так как он считал выбор Warners дешёвым.

В 1938 году, Богарт заключил свой третий брак, с актрисой Майо Митхот, которая постоянно находилась в паранойе и считала, что Хамфри был неверным по отношению к ней. В конце концов, так и случилось. Богарт встретил Лорен Бэколл на съёмках «To Have and Have Not» (1944). Химия любви Богарта и Бэколл была видна и на экране, и вне его. Богарт развелся и женился на Бэколл в 1945 году. Пара также снялась в «The Big Sleep» (1946), «Dark Passage» (1947) и «Key Largo» (1948). Даже на откровенных фотографиях, сделанных с Бэколл, Богарт был всегда безукоризненно ухоженный, одетый в белоснежные рубашки и брюки, с сигаретой в руке. Богарт снялся с Кэтрин Хепберн в «The African Queen» (1951), за роль в котором, Богарт выиграл премию Американской киноакадемии за лучшую мужскую роль.

Помимо своих успехов на экране, Богарт был также одним из основателей Rat Pack, где Фрэнк Синатра был руководителем, Богарт – директором по связям с общественностью, а Бэколл просто называли Baby By Bogey. На вопрос, какую цель вы преследовали, Бэколл заявила: ” Пить много бурбона и поздно ложиться спать”.

coreAdmin

Автор Lola McQuenzie

Lola is one of our most busy writer, She worked for Catwalk Yourself since 2007 and still producing her 2-3 artiles per week. Lola graduaded at Central St Martins and started working wth us soon after


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Humphrey Bogart

Fashion Icon Biography Humphrey Bogart

Copyright © AFP / The Kobal Collection / Fryer, Elmer – Humphrey Bogart

Humphrey Bogart’s famous feature Casablanca (1942) created the style signature that has been cemented in the minds of fashion and film lovers alike: the iconic image of Bogart wearing a fedora and trench coat. Aside from his defining look, the key to his manner of dressing is an eye for detail. Bogart wore a mix of neckerchiefs, ties and bowties, always paired with a pocket square.

The star also aided in giving double-breasted suits a surge of popularity. Paired with his iconic style, the actor also delivered some of the most quotable lines in cinema: “Here’s looking at you, kid.”

The actor was born on Christmas day in 1899 to Dr. Belmont DeForest Bogart, a surgeon, and Maud Humphrey, an illustrator. The Bogarts lived in a comfortable Upper West Side apartment. After being expelled from private school, Bogart pursued his love for the sea and joined the Navy in 1918. When he returned from service, he got a job at World Films and made his stage debut with one-line in the play Drifting.

Bogart’s early film roles became a series of crime dramas, with the actor typecast as a gangster. The roles required a string of crisp suits; Bogart often wore his own suits to ensure he was always sharply dressed, as he felt the Warners costume options were cheap.

In 1938, Bogart began his third marriage, to actress Mayo Methot. It was a turbulent affair; with Methot constantly paranoid that Bogart was being unfaithful. Methot’s fears were realized when Bogart met Lauren Bacall on the set of To Have and Have Not (1944). Bogart and Bacall’s chemistry was clear, on screen and off. Bogart divorced Methot and married Bacall in 1945. The couple also starred together in The Big Sleep (1946), Dark Passage (1947) and Key Largo (1948). Even in candid pictures taken with Bacall, Bogart was always immaculately groomed, wearing crisp white shirts and slacks, with a cigarette in hand. Bogart went on to star with Katharine Hepburn in The African Queen (1951), the actor’s first technicolor film. The role won Bogart an Academy Award for Best Actor.

Aside from his on screen successes, Bogart was also a founding member of the Rat Pack. Frank Sinatra was Pack Leader, Bogart was Director of Public Relations and Bacall, referred to as Baby by Bogey and the rest of the Rat Pack, was Den Mother. When asked what the packs purpose was, Bacall simply stated, “to drink a lot of bourbon and stay up late.”

coreAdmin

Written by Lola McQuenzie

Lola is one of our most busy writer, She worked for Catwalk Yourself since 2007 and still producing her 2-3 artiles per week. Lola graduaded at Central St Martins and started working wth us soon after


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>