Heidi Klum

Fashion Model Biography Heidi Klum

Copyright © AFP/ ESMAS

Heidi Klum est née en 1973 en Allemagne. Parfaite philanthrope, Heidi a su combiner une carrière de mannequin à succès tout en étant animatrice de télévision, businesswoman, styliste, actrice, productrice et chanteuse.

A l’âge de 21 an, un ami la convainc de participer à un concours de mannequin « modèle 92 ». Heidi remporte la compétition et se voit offrir un contrat de mannequin avec l’agence « Metropolitan Models New York ». Néanmoins, elle attend de finir ses études secondaires avant d’accepter le contrat.

Elle est connue pour avoir fait la couverture du numéro de maillot de bain du magazine « Sports Illustrated » Elle est également apparue dans la couverture de nombreux magazines comme « Vogue », « Elle » et « Marie Claire ».

Heidi a été l’un des anges emblématique de « Victorias secret ». Elle a ainsi présenté le défilé de la marque à de nombreuses reprises notamment en 2002, 2006, 2007 et 2009. Elle anime actuellement l’émission « Project Runway », qui est filmé à la « Parsons School for Design ». Le programme télévisé connaît un tel succès qu’il a reçu une nomination aux Emmy Awards pour chacune des quatre saisons diffusée.

Heidi a également été le modèle principal pour une série de peintures de l’artiste Joanne corps Grier, elle figure ainsi dans plusieurs éditions de 1997 à 2010. Elle écrit également l’avant-propos du livre de Gair, «Body Painting, Masterpieces». En 2009, Heidi est la muse de «Heidilicious», un livre photo réalisé par le photographe Ian Rankin.

Parallèlement à sa carrière de mannequin Heidi a également travaillé en tant actrice, et est apparue dans plusieurs émissions de télévision, y compris « Spin City »,  « Sex and the City », « Yes, Dear » et « How I Met Your Mother ». Elle est également apparue dans des films comme « Blow Dry » et « Ella Enchanted » et a fait quelques apparitions dans « The Devil Wears Prada » et  « Perfect Stranger ».

En 2010, Heidi a mit fin à ses 13 ans de carrière en tant que mannequin pour « Victoria’s Secret » et s’est reconvertie en femme d’affaires. Elle a collaboré avec « New Balance » et « Amazon.com » pour lancer une ligne de vêtements et a récemment accepté d’animer une nouvelle émission « The Lifetime Show ».

Heidi a su se diversifier et s’est lancée dans les lignes pour hommes. Elle a réalisé une ligne de vêtements pour le catalogue « Otto », ainsi que des chaussures « Birkenstock » et des bijoux pour « Mauawad ». Elle a également conçu une collection de lingerie pour « Victorias Secret ». Heidi travaille également en tant qu’artiste et a eu plusieurs oeuvres publiées dans les revues d’Arts.  

Certains membres de l’industrie de la mode ont commenté sa courte carrière de mannequin. Karl Lagerfeld a déclaré: «Elle est plus bling bling et glamour que la mode actuelle ».

En 2007, le magazine  « Forbes », la classe à la troisième place sur la liste des 15 mannequins les mieux payés au monde.

En 2005, Heidi épouse le musicien Seal avec qui elle a trois enfants, elle apparait dans le clip de sa chanson «secret». Le couple divorce en 2012 mais reste en bons termes. 

Roanna Price

Ecrit par Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Heidi Klum

Fashion Model Biography Heidi Klum

Copyright © AFP/ ESMAS

Heidi Klum is a model and actress born in 1973 in Germany. Alongside her successful modelling and acting career Heidi is a Television host, busnesswoman, fashion designer, producer and singer.

When she was 21 a friend convinced Heidi to enter a national modelling contest, Model 92. Heidi won the competition and was offered a modelling contract with Metropolitan Models New York. Heidi’s graduated high school before accepting the contract.

Heidi is well known for appearing on the cover of a Sports Illustrated Swimsuit issue and for her work with Victorias secret. She has also appeared on the cover of many high end fashion magazines including Vogue, Elle and Marie Claire.

As part of her work as a Victorias Secret Angel Heidi hosted Victorias Secret fashion show in 2002, 2006, 2007 and 2009. Heidi currently hosts Project Runway, which is filmed at Parsons School for Design, she received an Emmy Award nomination for the show for each of the firs four seasons.

Heidi has also been the Subject of a series of body painting works by artist Joanne Grier, she was featured in several editions from 1997-2010 and wrote the forward to Gair’s book, ‘Body Painting, Masterpieces.’ In 2009 Heidi was also the one woman subject of ‘Heidilicious’, (a photo book by Ian Rankin) shoot by photographer Rankin.

Alongside her modelling career Heidi has also worked as an actress, appearing in several TV Shows, including Spin City, Sex and the City, Yes, Dear and How I Met Your Mother. She has also appeared in films, Blow Dry and Ella Enchanted as well as making came appearances in The Devil Wears Prada and Perfect Stranger.

In 2010 Heidi announced the end of her 13 year run as a Victoria Secret Angel and has since transitioned into more of a businesswoman. She has collaborated with New Balance and Amazon.com to launch a clothing line and has recently signed a deal host a new show on Lifetime TV.

Heidi has steadily expanded her entrepreneurial reach embarking on man business ventures, she has designed a clothing line for catalogue Otto, shoes for Birkenstock and Jewellery for Mauawad. She was also one of the designed for the Victorias Secret lingerie line. Heidi also works as an artist and has had several pieces featured in US art magazines

Some members of the fashion elite have commented on Heidis limited work as a fashion model. Karl Lagerfeld said: “She is more bling bling and glamorous than current fashion”.

In 2007 Heidi was named by Forbes as third on the list of the Worlds 15 Top-Earning Supermodels.

Heidi married musician seal in 2005 and they had three children together, she appeared in the music video for his song “secret”. They went on to divorce on good terms in 2012. Heidi was previously married to stylist Ric Pipino.

Roanna Price

Written by Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>