Greta Garbo

Icon Biography

Copyright © AFP / Collection Roger-Viollet – Greta Garbo

Greta Garbo naquit le 18 septembre 1905 à Stockholm, Suède en tant que Greta Lovisa Gustafson. Bien que Greta ait découvert une vocation pour le théâtre à un jeune âge, elle trouva plus tard celle d’actrice. Après une petit boulot chez un barbier, elle commença à travailler au rayon chapellerie d’un grand magasin. Puis elle commença à poser avec les chapeaux pour le catalogue du magasin, ce qui déboucha en une carrière de mannequin.

 

 La star étudia la comédie pendant deux ans à Stockholm avant que l’on lui propose un rôle principal dans Gösta Berling (1924). Son premier rôle à Hollywood fut celui d’une vamp dans LE Torrent (1926). Garbo était célèbre pour ses “performances lumineuses et inoubliables”, et conduit une carrière dans le cinéma muet avec grand succès. Elle réussit une reconversion spectaculaire au cinéma parlant, malgré les doutes du studio concernant son accent suédois; son premier film parlant — fort du slogan “Garbo parle!” — fut Anna Christie (1930). Plus tard, l’affiche de sa première pièce de théâtre, Ninotchka (1939) proclamait “Garbo rit!”.

 

Ces deux rôles lui valurent une nomination aux Academy Awards. Elle maintint son succès au box office, ce qui en faisait la plus grande star de MGM, avec des performances acclamées dans Mata Hari (1931) et Grand Hotel (1932), qui  dans son casting rassembla les trente plus grandes stars. Garbo fut notoirement associée à une de ses répliques dans Grand Hotel : “Je veux être seule, je veux juste être seule”. Le thème la suit comme une ombre à travers ses film et dans sa vie privée.

 

Même son style vestimentaire faisait écho à cette notion; l’actrice témoignait une affection particulière pour les chapeaux, lui venant de ses jours de mannequinat. Elle portait des chapeaux à large bord, des turbans, des grands foulards; tout ce qui pouvait servir de bouclier contre les yeux du public. La star donna son nom à son chapeau préféré, une fusion entre un fedora et un chapeau souple décontracté. Son style était pratique et simpliste. Quand l’occasion obligeait, elle accessoirisait ses robes de soirées glamour d’un unique rang de perles. De jour, elle aimait les vêtements inspirés du vestiaire des hommes, des chemises amidonnées, deschaussures derby, des pantalons bien coupés et des écharpes. Elle gardait ses bijoux de jour à un minimum, portant seulement un anneau d’or. Sa signature beauté était d’associer des sourcils arqués, hauts et arrondis avec des lèvres peintes de rouge mat.

 

Bouclant la boucle de sa carrière, elle joua un rôle renommé dans Anna Karénine (1935), suivi en 1936 par Le Roman de Marguerite Gautier, qui lui valut une troisième nomination aux Academy Awards. Le dernier film de Garbo fut La Femme aux Deux Visages, en 1941, son vingt-septième film en seize ans. Après s’être retirée du cinéma, elle vécut le reste de ses jours loin de la “Garbomania” et des yeux du public.


Bronte Naylor-Jones

Ecrit par Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Greta Garbo

Icon Biography

Copyright © AFP / Collection Roger-Viollet – Greta Garbo

Greta Garbo was born Greta Lovisa Gustafsson on September 18th 1905, in Stockholm, Sweden. Though Garbo had developed a love for theatre at an early age, she found another path to acting. After a stint as a barbershop soap-lather girl, Garbo began working in the millinery department of a store. She began modeling hats for the store’s catalogs, which evolved into a commercial modeling career.

The star took two years of acting school in Stockholm before being approached to star in The Saga of Gosta Berling (1924). Her first Hollywood feature was a vamp role in Torrent (1926). Garbo was famed for her “luminous and unforgettable performances” and made her silent film career a great success. Garbo made a sensational jump to the talkies, despite the studio’s reservations about her Swedish accent; her first sound feature—complete with the tag line “Garbo talks!”—was Anna Christie(1930). Later, the poster for her comedic debut, Ninotchka (1939), proclaimed “Garbo laughs!”

Both role earned her Academy Award nominations. She maintained her box office standing as MGM’s biggest star with acclaimed performances in Mata Hari (1931) and Grand Hotel (1932), which starred an ensemble casts of the 30’s biggest stars. Garbo is famously linked with a line from Grand Hotel: “I want to be alone, I just want to be alone.” The theme echoes eerily throughout Garbo’s films and her personal life.

Even her style alluded to this notion. The actress had fostered a particular fondness for hats from her days as a model. She wore wide brims, turbans, and headscarves; anything that may shield a part of herself from the public eye. The star became the namesake of her favourite slouched hat, a fusion of a fedora with a relaxed brim. Her style was streamlined and simplistic. When the occasion called for it she donned glamourous evening gowns with a single string of pearls. For day she favored menswear inspired clothing, starched shirts, men’s Oxfords, tailored trousers and scarves. She kept her daytime jewelry minimal, wearing a single gold ring. Her beauty signature was highly arched, rounded brows, paired with a matte red lip.

Rounding out her career, she played a renowned role in Anna Karenina (1935), followed by Camille (1936) for which she earned a third Academy Award nomination. Garbo’s last film was Two-Faced Woman in 1941, marking her twenty-seventh film in sixteen years. After retiring from film, Garbo lived out her days away from  “Garbomania” and the public eye.

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Written by Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>