Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire

Fashion Icon Biography Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire

Copyright © AFP / RKO / The Kobal Collection – Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire

Fred Astaire et Ginger Rogers constituaient une union dans le monde du cinéma qui engendra dix films et révolutionna l’usage de la danse à l’écran. Ensemble, ils définirent un genre et enchantèrent les audiences partout dans le monde.

Fred Astaire naquit le 10 mai 1899. Sa famille changea de nom, de Austerlitz à Astaire, après leur déménagement à New York pour lancer la pièce Vaudeville de Fred et sa sœur Adele. Les Astaire firent leurs débuts à Broadway en 1917, et peu après prirent d’assaut le West End londonien dans des productions telles que Lady, Be Good! (1924) et Funny Face (1927).                                                                                           

Ginger Rogers naquit le 16 juillet 1911, sous le nom de Virginia Katherine McMatch. Ses parents se séparèrent peu après sa naissance et sa mère épousa plus tard John Rogers. Bien que n’ayant jamais été formellement adoptée, Ginger prit le patronyme de son beau-père. Elle fut exposée au théâtre à un jeune âge et fit ses débuts à Broadway dans Top Speed (1929). Après deux semaines à l’affiche, Rogers fut choisie pour un rôle dans Girl Crazy, des Gershwins. C’est ainsi qu’elle rencontra Fred Astaire, qui assistait pour les chorégraphies.

Le duo partagea l’écran pour la première fois dans Carioca (1933). Leur partenariat couronné de succès se poursuivit dans des films comme La joyeuse divorcée (comédie dans laquelle Astaire avait auparavant joué sur Brodway) en 1934, Le Danseur du Dessus (1935) et L’Entreprenant Monsieur Petrov (1937). Ces productions voyaient Ginger habillée de robes de soirée coupées en biais, souvent en soie fluide pour mettre l’accent sur ses mouvements, avec des sequins ou des broderies pour accrocher la lumière alors qu’elle tournoyait. Sa robe en plumes dans Top Hat était non seulement une splendide création, mais ajoutait un élément visuel dynamique pendant que son partenaire la faisait danser. Astaire, avec Cary Grant, été réputé être “l’acteur le mieux habillé de Hollywood”, impeccablement mis avec un emblématique costume queue-de-pie et chapeau haut-de-forme.

On donnait à Astaire carte blanche pour la chorégraphie, y compris pour faire des répétitions sans répit et d’innombrables prises de vue. Bien que son attention pour le détail et son perfectionnisme lui valurent d’être acclamé par les critiques, il accordait à Rogers une plus grande estime encore : “Ginger est brillamment efficace… À vrai dire, elle nous a offert une belle situation à tous les deux et elle mérite d’être tenue responsable de la majeure partie de notre succès”.

La même élégance et la finesse que l’on trouvait chez le duo au cinéma se reconnaissait dans leur style personnel. Astaire optait pour des vêtements de sport américains décontractés et chics comme des vestes impeccables, pantalons de costume et cravates. On dit qu’il portait fréquemment de vieilles cravates en guise de ceinture. Ginger était souvent habillée de haut et shorts ajustés, ou des robes de campagne imprimées sages.

Les deux stars restèrent proches après leur dernier film ensemble, Entrons Dans la Danse (1949), et Rogers présenta Astaire à la cérémonie des Academy Awards en 1950. En 1967, il co-présentèrent les Oscars, provoquant l’euphorie et un tonnerre d’applaudissements alors qu’ils dansèrent en direction de la scène.

coreAdmin

Ecrit par Lola McQuenzie

Lola is one of our most busy writer, She worked for Catwalk Yourself since 2007 and still producing her 2-3 artiles per week. Lola graduaded at Central St Martins and started working wth us soon after


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire

Fashion Icon Biography Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire

Copyright © AFP / RKO / The Kobal Collection – Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire

Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers created a movie partnership that spanned ten motion pictures and revolutionized the use of dance in film. Together, they defined a genre and enchanted audiences everywhere.

Fred Astaire was born on May 10th 1899. His family changed their name from Austerlitz to Astaire after moving to New York to launch Fred and Adele Astaire’s brother-sister vaudeville act. The Astaire’s debuted on Broadway in 1917, and shortly after took on London’s West End in productions such as Lady be Good (1924) and Funny Face (1927).

Ginger Rogers was born on July 16th 1911, under her given name Virginia Katherine McMatch. Her parents separated shortly after her birth and her mother later married John Rogers. Though never formally adopted, Ginger took her stepfather’s surname. Ginger was exposed to theatre from a young age, and got her start on Broadway in Top Speed (1929). After two week’s of the show’s run, Rogers was chosen to star in Girl Crazy by the Gerswhins. It was here that Ginger met Fred Astaire, who was assisting with choreography.

The duo’s first featured together in the film Flying Down to Rio (1933). Astaire-Rogers continued their successful partnership with titles such as The Gay Divorcee (1934) (in which Astaire had previously starred in on Broadway), Top Hat (1935) and Shall We Dance (1937). The films featured bias-cut evening gowns for Ginger, often-in fluid silks to enhance her movements, with sequins or beading to catch the light as she twirled. Her feathered dress in Top Hat was not only a stunning creation, but added a dynamic visual element as Astaire spun and dipped her. Astaire, alongside Cary Grant, was referred to as “the best dressed actor in Hollywood,” immaculately outfitted with his signature top hat and tails.

Astaire was given complete control of the choreography, including tireless rehearsal schedules and limitless re-takes. Though his eye for detail and perfectionism gave him large critical acclaim, he held Ginger in higher esteem: “Ginger was brilliantly effective…Actually, she made thing very fine for both of us and she deserves most of the credit for our success.”

The same elegance and finesse the partnership applied to their on-screen routines, resonated in their personal style. Astaire opted for classic American sportswear pieces such as tailored jackets, slacks and cravats. It is said he often wore old ties in place of belts. Ginger was often pictured wearing halter-tops and tailored shorts, or printed tea dresses.

The two stars remained close after their final movie together, The Barkleys of Broadway (1949), with Rogers presenting Astaire with an Academy Award in 1950. In 1967, they co-presented at the Oscars, causing a stir and a standing ovation as they danced their way on stage.

Written by


3 thoughts on “Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire

    • It is a still from Swing Time, with the typical music from the big band era typified by Glenn Miller at the time of the roaring twenties. At the end of this dancing sequence they lightly leap off to the side of the stage set over the little low wall, which adds a last special touch to finish it off.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>