Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire

Fashion Icon Biography Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire

Copyright © AFP / RKO / The Kobal Collection – Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire

Фред Астер и Джинджер Роджерс создали кино-сотрудничество, благодаря которому устроили революцию в кино. Вместе, они создали новый жанр и ‘заколдовали’ аудиторию всего мира.

Фред Астер родился 10 мая 1899 года. Его семья изменила свою фамилию с Аустерлиц на Астер после переезда в Нью-Йорк, чтобы Фред и Адель Астер (брат и сестра) начали свою ‘шоу-карьеру’. Астер дебютировал на Бродвее в 1917 году, и вскоре участвовал в лондонских в постановках, таких как «Lady Be Good» (1924) и «Funny Face» (1927).

Джинджер Роджерс родилась 16 июля 1911 года, под именем Вирджиния Кэтрин Mакматч. Её родители развелись после её рождения, а позже, мать вышла замуж за Джона Роджерса. Хотя никогда официально не заявляя,  Джинджер взяла фамилию своего отчима. Джинджер участвовала в театральных постановках с самого раннего возраста, и начала свою карьеру на Бродвее в «Top Speed» (1929). Через две недели после шоу, Роджерс была выбрана для Gerswhins. Именно здесь Джинджер встретила Фреда Астера, который помогал с хореографией.

Впервые, дуэт снялся в фильме «Flying Down to Rio» (1933). Астер-Роджерс продолжали своё успешное сотрудничество в таких картинах, как  «The Gay Divorce» (1934) (в котором, Астер снималась на Бродвее), «Top Hat» (1935) и «Shall We Dance» (1937). В фильме, Джинджер была представлена в вечернем платье из шёлка, чтобы увеличить объём её движений, а также платье было обшито блёстками и бисером, чтобы отражать свет во время танца. Её платье из перьев в «Top Hat» было не только потрясающе красивым, но также добавило динамический визуальный эффект, когда Астер развернулся и опустил её. Астер, наряду с Кэри Грантом, считался “лучшим одетым актёром Голливуда”.

Астеру был дан полный контроль над хореографией, в том числе неутомимый график репетиций и безграничных подготовок. Хотя его внимание к деталям и стремление к совершенству дало ему большое признание критиков, он считал Джинджер главным достоинством: “Джинджер выполняла свою роль блестяще…На самом деле, она является причиной нашего успеха».

Такая же элегантность и утонченность и в их личной жизни. Астер выбирал классическую американскую одежду: спортивные пиджаки, брюки и галстуки. Он говорил, что часто носил старые галстуки вместо ремней. Джинджер была часто запечатлена в топах, шортах или чайных платьях.

Две звезды оставались близки и после их последнего совместного фильма «The Barkleys of Broadway» (1949). А в 1950 году, Роджерс вручил Астеру премию Американской киноакадемии. В 1967 году, они, танцуя, вышли на сцену премии Оскар, вызвав бурные овации.

coreAdmin

Автор Lola McQuenzie

Lola is one of our most busy writer, She worked for Catwalk Yourself since 2007 and still producing her 2-3 artiles per week. Lola graduaded at Central St Martins and started working wth us soon after


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire

Fashion Icon Biography Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire

Copyright © AFP / RKO / The Kobal Collection – Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire

Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers created a movie partnership that spanned ten motion pictures and revolutionized the use of dance in film. Together, they defined a genre and enchanted audiences everywhere.

Fred Astaire was born on May 10th 1899. His family changed their name from Austerlitz to Astaire after moving to New York to launch Fred and Adele Astaire’s brother-sister vaudeville act. The Astaire’s debuted on Broadway in 1917, and shortly after took on London’s West End in productions such as Lady be Good (1924) and Funny Face (1927).

Ginger Rogers was born on July 16th 1911, under her given name Virginia Katherine McMatch. Her parents separated shortly after her birth and her mother later married John Rogers. Though never formally adopted, Ginger took her stepfather’s surname. Ginger was exposed to theatre from a young age, and got her start on Broadway in Top Speed (1929). After two week’s of the show’s run, Rogers was chosen to star in Girl Crazy by the Gerswhins. It was here that Ginger met Fred Astaire, who was assisting with choreography.

The duo’s first featured together in the film Flying Down to Rio (1933). Astaire-Rogers continued their successful partnership with titles such as The Gay Divorcee (1934) (in which Astaire had previously starred in on Broadway), Top Hat (1935) and Shall We Dance (1937). The films featured bias-cut evening gowns for Ginger, often-in fluid silks to enhance her movements, with sequins or beading to catch the light as she twirled. Her feathered dress in Top Hat was not only a stunning creation, but added a dynamic visual element as Astaire spun and dipped her. Astaire, alongside Cary Grant, was referred to as “the best dressed actor in Hollywood,” immaculately outfitted with his signature top hat and tails.

Astaire was given complete control of the choreography, including tireless rehearsal schedules and limitless re-takes. Though his eye for detail and perfectionism gave him large critical acclaim, he held Ginger in higher esteem: “Ginger was brilliantly effective…Actually, she made thing very fine for both of us and she deserves most of the credit for our success.”

The same elegance and finesse the partnership applied to their on-screen routines, resonated in their personal style. Astaire opted for classic American sportswear pieces such as tailored jackets, slacks and cravats. It is said he often wore old ties in place of belts. Ginger was often pictured wearing halter-tops and tailored shorts, or printed tea dresses.

The two stars remained close after their final movie together, The Barkleys of Broadway (1949), with Rogers presenting Astaire with an Academy Award in 1950. In 1967, they co-presented at the Oscars, causing a stir and a standing ovation as they danced their way on stage.

Written by


3 thoughts on “Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire

    • It is a still from Swing Time, with the typical music from the big band era typified by Glenn Miller at the time of the roaring twenties. At the end of this dancing sequence they lightly leap off to the side of the stage set over the little low wall, which adds a last special touch to finish it off.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>