David LaChapelle

Дэвид Лашапель родился в марте 1963 года в Коннектикуте (США). Он проявлял интерес к фотографии и очень женственным женщинам молодого возраста. На одной из его первых фотографий была запечетлена его мать Эльга Лашапель в бикини, потягивая бокал мартини на террасе в Пуэрто-Рико. Он учился в школе искусств Северной Каролины, а после в школе визуальных искусств в Нью-Йорке.

Его карьера началась в конце 1980-х годов, когда его работы начали показывать в галереях Нью-Йорка. Энди Уорхол дал ему первую работу, в качестве фотографа в его журнале Interview. Это не заняло много времени для устремлённого фотографа, чтобы начать работать с журналами французских и итальянских изданий Vogue, Vanity Fair, ID, Rolling Stone и GQ.

Среди многих его моделей можно найти личностей, таких как Элизабет Тейлор, Мадонна, Тупак Шакур, Аманда Липор, Джефф Кунс, Эминем, Филипп Джонсон, Лэнс Армстронг, Памела Андерсон, Лил Ким, Ума Турман, Дэвид Бекхэм, Пэрис Хилтон, Леонардо Ди Каприо, Хиллари Клинтон, Мохаммед Али и Бритни Спирс.

Он снимал музыкальные клипы для Кристины Агилеры, Моби, Дженнифер Лопес, Бритни Спирс, The Vines и No Doubt. В 2004 году, он работал с Элтоном Джоном над The Red Piano and the Caesar’s Palace Spectacular.

Его первый короткометражный документальный фильм Krumped получил награду на кинофестивале Sundance. Его второй фильм Rize был выпущен на международном уровне, летом 2005 года, и открыл фестиваль Tribeca Film в Нью-Йорке.

В 2006 году он решил сократить его работу с брендами, чтобы сосредоточиться на художественной фотографии.

В 2011 году, у него был скандал с Рианной, за сходство её клипа S&M с его работой.

Его работы выставляются в самых разных местах и странах, среди которых музей Барбикан в Лондоне, Palazzo Reale в Милане, музей del Antiguo Colegio de San Ildefonso в Мексике, музей де Ла Монне в Париже, музей современного искусства в Тайбэе (Тайвань) и в Тель-Авивском музее искусств в Израиле. В 2011 году он работал с крупной выставкой новых работ в Lever House в Нью-Йорке и с выставкой в музее Arte Contemporaneo в Пуэрто-Рико, в музее дизайна Hangaram в Сеуле и в галерее Rudolfinum в Праге.

Лашапель является фотографом сюрреалистом, который в основном вдохновлён историей искусства и уличной культурой. В настоящее время он живёт в Гавайских джунглях, и по-прежнему очень востребован во всём мире.

Marine Lazarus

Автор Marine Lazarus

Marine Lazarus, an Anglo-French photographer who moved to UK 3 years ago to study journalism at Brunel University in London. Marine is responsible for our Photographers Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

David LaChapelle

David LaChapelle was born in March 1963 in Connecticut, USA. He developed an interest for photography and very feminine women at a very young age. One of his first pictures featured his mother Elga LaChapelle in a bikini, sipping on a glass of Martini on a terrace in Puerto Rico. He attended the North Carolina School of the Arts before graduating and entering the School of Visual Arts in New York City.

His career really began in the late 1980s when we started showing his artwork to galleries in New York. It’s Andy Warhol who first gave him a job as a photographer in his magazine Interview. It didn’t take long for the aspiring photographer to start working with high profile magazines, shooting the covers and pages of the French and Italian editions of Vogue Magazine, Vanity Fair, i-D, Rolling Stone, and GQ.

Amongst many of his models can be found personalities such as Elizabeth TaylorMadonna, Tupac Shakur, Amanda Lepore, Jeff Koons, Eminem, Philip Johnson, Lance Armstrong, Pamela Anderson, Lil’ Kim, Uma Thurman, David Beckham, Paris Hilton, Leonardo DiCaprio, Hillary Clinton, Muhammad Ali, and Britney Spears.

He directed music videos for Christina Aguilera, Moby, Jennifer Lopez, Britney Spears, The Vines and No Doubt. In 2004 he worked on stage work designing and directing Elton John’s “The Red Piano and the Caesar’s Palace Spectacular”.

His first short documentary “Krumped” won an award at the Sundance Film Festival. His second one “Rize” was realeased internationally in the Summer of 2005 and opened the Tribeca Film Festival in New York.

In 2006 he decided to reduce his work with brands to focus on fine art photography.

In 2011 he attacked Rihanna for her music video “S&M” for its resemblance with his work.

His work has been exhibited in many different places and countries, amongst which, at the Barbican Museum in London, at the Palazzo Reale in Milan, at the Museo del Antiguo Colegio de San Ildefonso in Mexico, at the Musee de La Monnaie in Paris, at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Taipei, Taiwan and at the Tel Aviv Museum of Art in Israel. In 2011, he worked on a major exhibition of new work at The Lever House in New York and on retrospectives at the Museo Arte Contemporáneo in Puerto Rico, at the Hangaram Design Museum in Seoul and at the Galerie Rudolfinum in Prague.

LaChapelle is a surealiste photographer mainly inspired by art history and street culture, he today lives in the Hawaiian jungle and is still very active around the world.

Marine Lazarus

Written by Marine Lazarus

Marine Lazarus, an Anglo-French photographer who moved to UK 3 years ago to study journalism at Brunel University in London. Marine is responsible for our Photographers Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>