克莱尔·麦卡德尔 (Claire McCardell)

| 更多

出生地:弗雷德里克,马里兰州, 美国, 1905年

逝世:纽约,纽约州,1958年

 

Claire McCardell 于1926年入读纽约的帕森斯设计学院,作为课程的一部分,她于1928年前往巴黎学习。

毕业以后McCardell四处打工,尝试了各种工作领域,最终在独立设计师Robert Turk 门下担任助理。1931年,Turk被Townley Frocks 聘请为设计总监,McCardell也随同他一起加入。

第二年,Turk因为一场船难而离开,留下McCardell一人完成秋冬系列。这一系列大受好评,McCardell也因此被提升为Townley的设计师。她开始创造她眼中的‘American Look’。McCardell提倡年轻舒适的着衣风格,衣服的易穿性成为设计重点。

1934年,McCardell设计了一系列可替换衣服(服饰的五个部分可任意跟换与搭配),对当时来说可是相当超前的设计。两年以后,她开始将捆绑式的绳带运用到裙装上。随后,更是将这一设计扩展到泳衣上,1937年第一件Townley泳衣问世(一种颈部采用绳带系合的连体泳衣)。

1938年,Townley Frocks不幸停产,McCardell也随之加入了新东家Hattie Carnegie。接下来的一年,McCardell在纽约的世界交易会上获得了服装设计奖的第一名。

McCardell于1940年离开了Carnegie ,跳槽到Win-Sum,可没过几个月他就再次回到了老东家Townley Frocks。 Townley Frocks经过重新整改后以新名称Adolph Klein再出江湖. McCardell仍旧掌管Townlwy的设计工作。1942年,她设计了蓝色工装裤,第二年又设计了Diaper泳衣,并于1944和1945年设计了七分裤和印花布海滩短裙。直筒连身泳衣也在第二年相继问世,1948年的百褶裙和1949年的花色丝质领口都是出自其手。

1952年,McCardell成为Townley的股东之一。第二年,她参加了在比佛利山庄Frank Perls画廊举办的二十周年纪念展。

1955年,McCardell登上《Life》杂志,她的设计开始也发生改变,布料开始融入许多艺术家作品,包括毕加索、查格尔、Miro和达菲。同年,她成为了《Time》杂志的封面女郎,这是第三位获此殊荣的设计师。

在McCardell的事业生涯中,她被多次提名奖项,并收获多个荣誉称号。她于1958年离世,没过多久就被纳入政府名人堂。

Claire McCardell是“运动衣之母”,她开创了休闲美国风。从1940年起,McCardell婉拒了各种巴黎时尚活动,她不想受到巴黎高级定制时尚的影响,一心专注于自己的设计风格。她对于运动的热爱和衣服实用性的坚定理念,最终铸就了他对舒适性服饰的钟爱,她的设计真正解放了女性的身体。

 

翻译:马云蕾YUNLEI MA

Saxony Dudbridge

撰稿人 Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Claire McCardell

Claire McCardell biography

Born: Frederick, Maryland, USA, 1905

Died: New York, New York, 1958

 

In 1926 Claire McCardell enrolled at Parsons School of Design in New York. As part of her course, she studied in Paris for a year before graduating in 1928.

McCardell worked various odd jobs before securing an assistant’s position to Robert Turk, an independent designer. When Turk was appointed as a designer at Townley Frocks in 1931, McCardell went with him.

The following year Turk died in a boating accident leaving McCardell to finish the autumn/winter collection. The line was successful and McCardell was promoted to designer at Townley. She began to create her revolutionary ‘American Look’. Advocating a youthful and fresh style of dressing, McCardell began to make easy to wear, simple clothes.

In 1934 McCardell designed a collection of separates featuring five interchangeable pieces, an idea decades ahead of its time. Two years later she created spaghetti string ties on dresses. This was followed by McCardell designing Townley’s first bathing suit in 1937.

In 1938 Townley Frocks closed resulting in McCardell going to work for Hattie Carnegie.  The following year McCardell won First Prize at the New York World’s Fair for costume design.

McCardell left Carnegie in 1940 and joined Win-Sum for several months before returning to Townley Frocks, which had been reopened as Adolph Klein. McCardell remained with Townley where she continued to design.  In 1942 she designed the blue denim pop-over, the following year the Diaper bathing suit, pedal pushers in 1944 and calico beach kilts in 1945. The barrel bathing suit was designed the following year, the pleated dress in 1948 and the bandana neckline in 1949.

In 1952 McCardell became a partner in Townley. The following year she featured in a twenty year retrospective at the Frank Perls Gallery in Beverly Hills.

McCardell was featured in Life magazine in 1955. Her designs were seen in fabrics by Picasso, Chagall, Miro and Duffy. That same year she was the third fashion designer to be featured on the cover of Time Magazine.

McCardell was acknowledged numerous times throughout her career and was continually receiving prestigious awards. She died in 1958 and, shortly afterwards, was inducted into the Coty Hall of Fame.

Claire McCardell is credited with creating the casual American style of dressing. She ignored Parisian couture and after 1940 McCardell refused to even visit the Paris collections for fear of them influencing her designs. Inspired by a love of sport and believing that clothes should be utilitarian, McCardell produced comfort first, casual apparel. Her designs understood the female body and revolutionised casual wear.

Claire McCardell biography

 

Saxony Dudbridge

Written by Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>