Cindy Sherman

Синди Шерман родилась под именем Синтия Моррис Шерман в январе 1954 года в Глен Ридж (Нью-Джерси), а выросла на Лонг-Айленде (Нью-Йорк).

В 1972 году она поступила в Государственный университет Нью-Йорка, из которого она переспециализировалась на живопись, прежде чем пришла к искусству фотографии. Она окончила обучение в 1976 году, и была впервые замечена в 1977 году, когда работала на «Untitled Film Stills» (1977-80), серия работ состоящая из 130 чёрно-белых автопортретов, на которых были изображены разные женские роли. Сегодня серия фотографий рассматривается как одна из её самых известных работ.

Отвечая на вопросы об этом проекте, она объяснила, что это было “о фальшивости женских ролей, а также презрение к доминированию мужчин, которые ошибочно находят эти фотографии сексуальными”.

В 1980-х, Шерман начала использовать большое количество макияжа в её работах. Она разработала новый жанр, который выражала в цветных фильмах, и были распечатаны в большом формате. Её стиль стал мрачнее, и она начала работать над психологическими расстройствами, такими как безумство и смерть, а иногда и изуродованные тела.

В 1986 году, она работала над серией фотографий History Portraits, вдохновлённая работами многих великих художников.

Её работа в складывалась вокруг ужаса и гротеска, две темы, которые в основном присутствовали в её серии фотографий Fairy Tales, а затем в  Disasters, над которой она работала с 1986 по 1989 год, и, наконец, её проект Horrors and Surrealist Pictures, на который её вдохновили фильмы ужасов, и над ним она работала в течение двух лет с 1994 года.

“Я пытаюсь сделать так, чтобы другие люди увидели в моих проектах что-то о себе, а не обо мне”.

В 1990-х годах, она начала ввела манекенов в некоторые из её фотографий, а в 1997 году сняла фильм Office Killer. Два года спустя, она работала на выставке насилия и искусственности, демонстрирующая тёмные образы кукол и их части. На эту же тему, она работала в 2000 году, о женщинах Голливуда с непропорциональными имплантантами груди и большим количеством макияжа.

В том же году, её работы были выставлена в музее современного искусства в Чикаго и в музее современного искусства в Лос-Анджелесе.

Сегодня, Шерман 58 лет, она живет и работает в Нью-Йорке. Её работы признаны на международном уровне, и она считается профессионалом в области пост-современной фотографии.

Marine Lazarus

Автор Marine Lazarus

Marine Lazarus, an Anglo-French photographer who moved to UK 3 years ago to study journalism at Brunel University in London. Marine is responsible for our Photographers Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Cindy Sherman

Cindy Sherman was born Cynthia Morris Sherman in January 1954, in Glen Ridge, New Jersey and grew up in Long Island, New York.

In 1972 she entered the State University of New York from which she then majored in painting before switching to photography. She graduated in 1976 and was first noticed in 1977 when she worked on “Untitled Film Stills (1977–80)”, a series of work consisting of 130 black-and-white self-portraits where she is seen depicting different female roles, many of which considered as clichés. The series is today considered as one of her best-known work.

When questioned about the series, she explained that it was “about the fakeness of role-playing as well as contempt for the domineering male audience who would mistakenly read the images as sexy.”

During the 1980s Sherman started using prosthetic parts and big amounts of make-up in her work. She developed a new genre that she expressed in colour films, shown on very large prints. Her style became darker; she began working on psychological disorders, insanity, and death, and sometimes featured mutilated bodies.

In 1986 she worked on a series of pictures called “History Portraits” inspired by the work of many great painters.

Her work mainly evolved around horror and grotesque, two themes very present in her 1985 series “Fairy Tales”, and then in her series called “Disasters” on which she worked from 1986 to 1989, and finally on her work in “Horrors and Surrealist Pictures” inspired from horror movies on which she worked for two years from 1994.

“I’m trying to make other people recognize something of them-selves rather than me.”

In the 1990s, she started introducing mannequins into some of her photographs, and in 1997 she directed the film “Office Killer”. Two years later she worked on allying violence and artificiality in an exhibition showing dark images of dolls and doll parts. She worked on that same theme again in 2000, posing this time as Hollywood women with disproportionate breast implants and great amounts of make-up.

That same year a retrospective of her work was exhibited at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago and at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles.

Sherman is today 58 years old, she lives and works in New York. Her work is recognized internationally and she is considered as a pioneer in the field of post-modern photography.

Marine Lazarus

Written by Marine Lazarus

Marine Lazarus, an Anglo-French photographer who moved to UK 3 years ago to study journalism at Brunel University in London. Marine is responsible for our Photographers Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>