Carre Otis

Fashion Model Biography Carre Otis

Copyright © AFP / Kobal / The Picture Desk

Она добилась славы, когда появилась на обложке французского Elle.

В течение следующих нескольких лет, Карре появилась на обложках американского, английского и французского Elle, Harpers Bazaar, Cosmopolitan и Marie Claire. В 2000 году она стала одной из самых старых женщин, появившихся в купальнике.

Карре появилась в рекламе Guess Jeans и в нескромной рекламной кампании Biker Babe для Calvin Klein Jeans, чем ускорила свой путь к славе. По сей день она остается одной из самых авторитетных моделей своего времени. Как и все лучшие супер модели, Карре работала моделью на престижных показах таких дизайнеров, как Ghost, Gucci и Ermanno Scervino. Она также появилась в нескольких фильмах, включая Wild Orchid, Exit in Red и Going Back.

Наряду с её неподражаемой красотой и успехом в качестве супер модели, она также хорошо известна за её поведение(её родители были алкоголиками), а то есть наркомания и пищевое расстроиство. Всем известно, что Карре сражалась с тяжёлой анорексией и другими расстройстами желудка, включая булимию. Она призналась в использовании слабительных для сохранения её тонкой фигуры. Когда она восстановила своё состояние, она высказалась по этому поводу:

“Моё самочувствие зависело от того, какой размер джинс я носила, так я отмеряла насколько я была худая. Сейчас, я вижу это с другой стороны. Могу ли я поддерживать фигуру бегая по утрам, или с помощью занятий по йоге, или же во время наших пробежек на перегонки в гору с братом? “

Карре  вышла замуж за Микки Рурка в 1992 году, после чего последовали многочисленные ссоры, и Рурк был арестован за домашнее насилие, но в конечном итоге обвинения были сняты. В 1991 году Карре Отис получила огнестрельное ранение в плечо, во время визита с Рурком в Санта-Фе (Нью-Мексико). В 1998 году в следствии драматичного брака, Рурк и Карре развелись.

“Мы оба были взрывными личностями, у меня была депрессия. Нам обоим нужна была драма.”

В 2005 году Карре вышла замуж за Мэтью Саттона, учёного-эколога, и у них родились две дочери. Карре до сих пор работает в качестве модели, и стала лицом ювелирной линии Breil в 2005 году, а также делает много работает с одеждой больших размеров, после её выздоровления от анорексии. Она также появилась в рекламной кампании PETA.

Roanna Price

Автор Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Carre Otis

Fashion Model Biography Carre Otis

Copyright © AFP / Kobal / The Picture Desk

 She achieved fame while working for Elite in Paris when she appeared on the cover of French Elle.

Over the next few years Carre appeared on covers of American, UK, and French Elle, Harpers Bazaar, Cosmopolitan, Marie Claire. In 2000 she famously became one of the oldest women to appear in the Sports Illustrated swimsuit issue.

Carre has also appeared in adverts for Guess Jeans and the infamous ‘Biker Babe’ campaign for Calvin Klein Jeans, which accelerated her journey to fame, she remains to this day one of the most reputable models of her time. Like all the best super models Carre has also walked for prestigious designer fashion shows, including Ghost,Gucci and Ermanno Scervino. She has also appeared in several films including ‘Wild Orchid’, ‘Exit in Red’ and ‘Going Back’.

Alongside Carre’s infamous beauty and success as a super model she is also well known for her troubled upbringing (her parents were both alcoholics), drug addictions and eating disorders. It’s well known that Carre battled severe anorexia and other eating disorders including bulimia. She has admitted to using laxatives, diet suppressants and fasting in order to maintain her thin figure. Since recovering she has spoken out about time suffering from eating disorders:

“I used to measure how I felt based on what size jean I wore, how skinny I was. Now I see myself in terms of health. Can I get through my run in the morning? Can I make it through my yoga class? Can I beat my brothers when we race up a hill?”

Carre married Micky Rourke in 1992 and controversy followed their marriage as Rourke was arrested for spousal abuse, charges were eventually dropped. In 1991 Carré Otis got a gunshot wound to her shoulder during a visit with Rourke in Santa Fe, New Mexico. She said that the gun was triggered as she dropped her purse on a table. Rourke and Carre later divorced in 1998 after a famously dramatic marriage.

“We had equally explosive personalities, I had depression. We were both drama addicts”

In 2005 Carre married Matthew Sutton, an environmental scientist, they have two daughters together. Carre still works as a model actress, becoming the face of the Breil jewellery line in 2005 and also doing a lot of plus size work since her recovery from anorexia. She has also appeared in a PETA advertising campaign.

Roanna Price

Written by Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>