Carla Bruni

Fashion Model Biography Carla Bruni

Copyright © AFP / Kobal / The Picture Desk

Carla Bruni est née en 1967 à Turin en Italie. Elle est mariée à Nicolas Sarkozy, l’ancien Président de la République Française. Elle a travaillé en tant que mannequin, chanteuse et actrice.

Elle est l’héritière de la compagnie de pneus CEAT de fabrication italienne, fondée par son grand-père. Sa famille s’installe en France en 1975 afin d’échapper à la menace d’enlèvement par les Brigades Rouges, un groupe Marxiste-léniniste révolutionnaire actif en Italie durant les années 1970. Carla emménage à Paris pour étudier l’art et l’architecture, mais elle abandonne ses études à l’âge de 19 ans pour poursuivre sa carrière de mannequin.

Carla signe alors avec l’agence City Models, et décroche un contrat avec Guess Jeans. Elle a défile pour les plus grands noms de la mode tels que Christian Dior, Givenchy, Chanel et Versace. Durant les années 1990, Carla compte parmi les mannequins les mieux payés. Elle est signée par plusieurs agences dont Women Managements Models basée à New York, Marilyn à Paris et Storm à Londres. Elle est apparue dans de nombreuses campagnes de publicité  notamment pour les produits  cosmétiques de Chanel et Prada.

C’est grâce à sa beauté classique qu’elle fait la couverture de magazines dans le monde entier.

Avant d’épouser Nicolas Sarkozy en 2008, Carla a fait  la une des magazines people à cause de ses liaisons avec des hommes célèbres notamment Eric Clapton, Mick Jagger, Donald Trump ou encore Kevin Costner.

Carla a également figuré dans un documentaire appelé « Catwalk ». Ce film retrace la vie de plusieurs mannequins à l’apogée de leurs carrières. Il se déroule durant une période clé pour la mode « Fashion Month » et il inclut des icones tels que Christy Turlington, Naomi Campbell et Kate Moss. Le documentaire montre l’envers du décor du métier de mannequin, et donne un accès inédit au mode de vie des mannequins phares de l’époque.

En 1997, Carla quitte une glorieuse carrière de mannequin pour se consacrer à la musique. Elle envoie ses paroles au musicien Julien Clerc qui lui compose six titres qui figureront sur son album en 2000. En 2002, elle fait ses premiers pas dans la musique et sort son premier album en Europe. Depuis, Carla a sorti deux albums et a même été invité à chanter au 21ème anniversaire de la libération de Nelson Mandela. Elle est impliquée avec de nombreuses œuvres caritatives, et elle est notamment l’ambassadrice mondiale pour la protection des femmes et des enfants contre le SIDA.

Roanna Price

Ecrit par Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Carla Bruni

Fashion Model Biography Carla Bruni

Copyright © AFP / Kobal / The Picture Desk

Carla Bruni, born in 1967 in Turin, Italy, is married to the French President Nicolas Sarkozy and has worked as a top model, singer and actress.

Carla was born an heiress to an Italian tyre manufacturing company CEAT, founded by her grandfather. Her family moved to France in 1975 reportedly to escape the threat of kidnapping by the Red Brigades, a Marxist-Leninist Revolutionary group active in Italy in the 1970s. Carla moved to Pairs to study Art and Architecture but left school at 19 to pursue a modeling career.

Carla signed with city models, and was chosen from her card to model for Guess Jeans. She went on to model for the whos of designers, from Christian Dior and Givenchy to Chanel and Versace. By the 1990s Bruni was one of the highest paid fashion models. Carla went on the sign with Women Model Managements in New York, Marilyn in Paris and Storm in London and appeared in many high end commercial campaigns for designers like Chanel cosmetics and Prada.

As well as gracing magazine covers around the world thanks to her classic beauty Carla has made the pages on many gossip magazines thanks to being romantically linked to Eric Clapton, Mick Jagger, Donald Trump and Kevin Costner. Before marrying Nicolas Sarkozy in 2008.

Carla was also featured in a model documentary called Catwalk. This film followed the lives of some of the most successful supermodels like Christy TurlingtonNaomi Campbell and Kate Moss around the time of fashion month. The documentary provided a behind the scenes insight into what it was like for the models when they were at the peak of their careers.

In 1997 Carla left a still successful modeling career in order to follow her love of music. She sent some lyrics she had written to musician Julien Clerc which led to her composting six tracks on his album released in 2000. In 2002 she debuted her own album which was released in Europe. Bruni has since released two more albums and was even invited to sing at Nelson Mandellas 91st birthday. She does a large amount of charity and philanthropic work, becoming world ambassador for the protection of women and children against HIV.

Roanna Price

Written by Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>