Sean Combs

Copyrights & credits: AFP / ABC-TV / The Kobal Collection – Sean Combs

Sean Combs, plus connu sous le nom de P. Diddy ou de Puff Daddy, a toujours fait preuve d’arrogance, que ce soit dans sa musique, ses affaires ou le personnage qu’il joue au quotidien pour son public. C’est un caméléon aux multiples déguisements qui continue de prospérer dans chaque nouveau domaine qu’il aborde.

Sean Combs est né le 4 novembre 1969 à Harlem, New York, et vécut un départ difficile dans la vie avec le décès de son père qui était associé au dealer new-yorkais Frank Lucas. Trouvant un exutoire dans le sport, Sean en grandissant rejoignit l’équipe de football de ses différentes écoles et s’y maintint jusqu’au moment de passer à l’étape suivante, c’est à dire l’université où il étudia le commerce.

Il décida rapidement d’abandonner, et partit faire un stage chez Uptown Records, qui marqua le début de sa carrière. Contrairement à ce que l’on croit, P Diddy n’a pas démarré sa gigantesque carrière dans la chanson. Celle-ci a commencé en coulisses, grimpant lentement les échelons du hip hop en assistant des artistes aujourd’hui célèbres tels que Mary J Blige.

Durant ces années, le style de Puff Daddy s’articulait autour de casquettes de base-ball, de pendentifs surdimensionnés et de clous en diamants, un look assez courant dans l’industrie du hip hop, cependant Sean Combs, qui n’était pas encore connu, réussissait à conserver un certain charme et une attitude dans sa façon de s’habiller qui le distingua petit à petit des autres. Il avait la star-attitude chevillée au corps.

Les choses cependant prirent une fâcheuse tournure quand il fut licencié en 1993, puis le meneur et l’homme d’affaires que nous connaissons aujourd’hui émergea sous la forme de Bad Boy Records, produisant son ami et prince du hip hop Biggy Smalls, également connu sous le nom de East Coast Master et Notorious B.I.G.

En 1997, ce fut au tour de Puff Daddy, et son premier single “Can’t Nobody Hold Me Down” resta en haut des hit-parades pendant 28 semaines et obtint cinq nominations aux Grammy, recevant la récompense de meilleur album de rap. La marque connue sous le nom de P Diddy s’est développée seulement après, et 5 albums plus tard, elle demeure un élément-clé du mouvement hip hop. Cependant, là n’est pas tout. Il est également un membre éminent de l’industrie de la mode américaine grâce à sa propre ligne de vêtements, Sean John.

Sean John est une marque qui pèse plus de 100 millions de dollars, figurant un mix de sportswear et de vêtements de ville, caractéristiques du style de Sean Combs. Des tailleurs stricts mêlant des tonalités classiques avec la tendance “all American” ont assuré le succès de la marque dans l’industrie de la mode qui lui a décerné en 2004 le titre de Designer de l’Année. Son goût pour les affaires l’a également amené a lancer son propre parfum “I Am a King”, qu’il a fait connaître en louant sur Times Square la plus grande publicité jamais réalisée de l’histoire de la place, ce qui n’est pas étonnant au vu du personnage.

P Diddy possède cette capacité à incarner deux personnages différents. Il y a le chanteur célèbre qui crache ses rythmes habillé d’un cuir sombre, de lunettes noires et de bottes lacées, et il y a l’homme d’affaires habillés de costumes luxueux aux coupes arrogantes. Pour P Diddy, le costume constitue une seconde peau qui se trouve amplifiée lorsqu’il revêt son ego. C’est pour une bonne raison qu’on l’appelle Puff Daddy lui qui soufflait et soupirait étant enfant, il exige et obtient l’attention de tous, dans le monde de la mode et des affaires, incarnant l’entrepreneur par excellence. Savez-vous comment ça fait de se réveiller le matin dans la peau de P Diddy ? Non ? Eh bien, nous non plus, mais ça doit être plutôt pas mal.

 

Tobias Orrells

Ecrit par Tobias Orrells

Tobias Orrells graduated from Liverpool John Moores University with a degree in International Journalism, however, steering away from news, has focused his creativity to reporting on the progression of men’s fashion. He is an avid writer and lover of fashion and music and combining the two helps create the icon profiles. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Sean Combs

Copyrights & credits: AFP / ABC-TV / The Kobal Collection – Sean Combs

Sean Combs A.K.A P Diddy, Puff Daddy, Diddy has always maintained a swagger whether it is through his music, his businesses or through his everyday persona within the public eye. He is a chameleon of many different guises and still continues to thrive in whatever mark he makes. Sean Combs was born on 4th November, 1969 in Harlem; New York and got off to a rocky start when he was faced with the passing of his father who was an associate of New York drug dealer Frank Lucas. Pouring himself in to sports, growing up Sean joined his local schools football team and played until it was time for the next step and attended college with a major in business.

Sean Combs soon decided to quit and left to start an internship with Uptown Records, the beginning of his career. Contrary to people’s knowledge of P Diddy, he didn’t start out his mammoth career singing. His music career began behind the scenes, slowly working his way up the hip hop ladder helping to develop notable artists of today such as Mary J Blige.

During this time, Puff Daddy focused on a style that featured baseball hats, oversized pendant necklaces and diamond studs; a typical go to look for anyone in the hip hop industry, however Sean Combs, who was not well known at the time, still managed to keep that charm and stance with clothing, that slowly began to separate him from the looks of others. He basically had star written all over him.

Things took a slight dip however after he was fired in 1993, then the leader and business man that we know  today made his first appearance in the form of Bad Boy Records, helping produce hip hop royalty and friend, Biggy Smalls – A.K.A, East Coast Master, Notorious B.I.G.

In 1997 it was Puff Daddy’s turn, and his debut single, ‘Can’t Nobody Hold Me Down’ which spent an exhaustive 28 weeks on the chart and five Grammy nominations, winning Best Rap Album. The brand known as ‘P Diddy’ only grew after that and 5 albums later; he is still a key member of the hip hop movement. However, that’s not all he has accomplished. He is also a key member in the American Fashion Industry with his own clothing line, Sean John.

Sean John as a brand is worth over $100 million, a mixture of sportswear and suiting, encompassing the essence of Sean Combs wear. Sharp tailoring mixing classic tones with an all American edge has meant that the brand has been a success within the industry with the Council of Fashion Designers of America naming him 2004’s Designer of the Year. His penchant for business has also lead the man to create his own fragrance, hiring out a Times Square ad for his I AM King fragrance, becoming the largest ad in Times Square history however not surprising depending on the character behind it.

P Diddy has the ability to portray two different characters. There is the known singer who spits his rhymes in a dark leather jacket, shades and leather lace ups, and then there is the power dressing business man with pedantically tailored suits. To P Diddy, a suit is form of second skin and his appearance is only amplified by the entrance of his ego. He’s called Puff Daddy for a reason (huffing and puffing as a child) he commands and demands attention, in fashion and in business becoming a modern day entrepreneur. Wake up in the morning feeling like P Diddy? No, we don’t know either, but it must be pretty great.

Tobias Orrells

Written by Tobias Orrells

Tobias Orrells graduated from Liverpool John Moores University with a degree in International Journalism, however, steering away from news, has focused his creativity to reporting on the progression of men’s fashion. He is an avid writer and lover of fashion and music and combining the two helps create the icon profiles. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>