Rita Hayworth

Copyright © AFP / Columbia / The Kobal Collection – Rita Hayworth

Рита Хейворт родилась под именем Маргариты Кармен Кансино, 17 октября 1918 года. Звезда родилась в семье танцовщицы, и брала уроки танцев с юного возраста. В 1926 году она снялась в короткометражном фильме Уорнера Бразерс «La Fiesta». В следующем году Рита переехала в Голливуд со своей семьёй, в надежде пробиться в бизнес в качестве танцовщицы. Когда началась Великая депрессия, это также сказалось на мьюзиклах. Рита и её отец сформировали «The Dancing Casinos» и начали выступать в клубе Caliente. Именно там, Уинфилд Шихан, глава Fox Films, заметила Риту. После успешных появлений на экране, актриса стала выступать под именем Рита Кансино.

На ранних этапах своей карьеры, звезда снималась в роли экзотических иностранок, в связи с её средиземноморской внешностью. Её первая роль была в «Human Cargo» (1936). Для того, чтобы сниматься в разных ролях, Рита покрасила свои волосы в тёмно-красный и начала использовать девичью фамилию своей матери Хейворт, тем самым она изменила свой образ и стала более похожа на классическую американку.

Актриса закрепила своё звание сирены, одетая в белое платье в фильме «Blood and Sand» (1941).

Хейворт была первой актрисой, которая работала в сотрудничестве с Фредом Астером и Джин Келли. В 1941 году она снялась вместе с Астер в фильме «You’ll Never Get Rich», где Рита кружится в чёрном платье, сцена, которая стала самой запоминающейся. В фильме «You Were Never Lovelier» (1942), Астер и Хейворт снова были партнёрами, в костюмах от Ирен. Платья Хейворт было сделано из сетки телесного цвета, украшенное бисером, кружевами и блёстками. А в 1944 году, Трэвис Бентон создала костюмы для фильма «Cover Girl», где Рита снималась с Жене Келли: юбки сороковых и потрясающие платья игривого цвета.

В 1946 году Жан-Луи одевал актрису в фильме «Gilda». По слухам, дизайнер создал гардероб для фильма на $60.000, в том числе и чёрное атласное платье с длинными перчатками, ‘деревенскую’ рубашку с длинными рукавами и юбку, украшенную блестящими цветами.

А для фильма «The Lady From Shanghai» (1947), Жан-Луи создал однотонный гардероб для актрисы, чтобы подчеркнуть тематику фильма. У Хейворта возникли разногосия с режиссёрами фильма, когда она обрезала свои рыжие волосы и перекрасилась в платиновую блондинку. Зрители и критики не смогли ‘принять’ фильм, и Рита ушла с большого экрана на некоторое время. После возвращения на экраны, она снялась в «Affair in Trinidad (1952)», который получил большой успех, опередив даже фильм «Gilda» в кассах кинотеаров. В финальной сцене фильма, Хейворт была одета в сверкающее чёрное вечернее платье с глубоким декольте. Этот наряд, созданный Жаном-Луи, получил номинацию на Оскар в качестве  лучшего костюма.

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Автор Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Rita Hayworth

Copyright © AFP / Columbia / The Kobal Collection – Rita Hayworth

Rita Hayworth was born Margarita Carmen Cansino on October 17th 1918. The star was born into a family of dancers, and took lessons from a young age. In 1926 she was featured in Warner Bros.’ short film, La Fiesta. The following year, Rita moved to Hollywood with her family in hopes of breaking into the business as dancers. When the Great Depression took it’s toll and interest in movie musicals lessened, Rita and her father formed “The Dancing Cansinos” and performed at the Caliente Club. It was there that Winfield Sheehan, the head of Fox Films, approached Rita. Following a successful screen test, the actress was signed under the name Rita Cansino.

In the early stages of her career, the star was often typecast as an exotic foreigner due to her Mediterranean looks. Rita took her first starring role in Human Cargo (1936). In order to grant the actress a wider range of roles, Rita dyed her hair a dark red and used her mother’s maiden name Hayworth, changing her image to that of a classic American beauty.

The actress cemented her role as a screen siren, wearing a sultry white halter gown with a sweetheart neckline in Blood and Sand (1941).

Hayworth was the first actress to be partnered with both Fred Astaire and Gene Kelly. In 1941 she starred alongside Astaire in ‘You’ll Never Get Rich’ stunning audiences as she twirled in a black gown with the layers of tulle and chiffon slashed to the thigh. ‘You Were Never Lovelier’ (1942) saw Astaire and Hayworth partnered again, with costume designs by Irene. Hayworth’s gowns were an exercise in illusions, with flesh coloured mesh embellished with suggestively place beading, lace and sequins. Travis Banton created the showgirl costumes, forties skirt suits and stunning gowns, with a playful use of colour in Cover Girl (1944), starring Gene Kelly.

Jean Louis dressed the actress in the critically acclaimed film noir, ‘Gilda‘ (1946). The designer created a rumoured $60,000 wardrobe for the film, including a black satin dress worn with long gloves, and a long-sleeved crop shirt and matching wrap skirt, adorned with sequin flowers.

For ‘The Lady From Shanghai’ (1947), Jean Louis created a monochromatic wardrobe for the actress, to match the film noir’s dark cinematography. Hayworth caused controversy when she famously cut her auburn locks and dyed them platinum blonde for the role. Audiences and critics failed to embrace the film, and Rita took a hiatus from the big screen. Her comeback performance in ‘Affair in Trinidad’ (1952) was a great success, outperforming Gilda in the box-office. Hayworth wore a glittering black evening gown with a plunging neckline for the film’s final scene. This, along with Jean Louis’ other stunning creations earned an Oscar nomination for Best Costume Design.

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Written by Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>