Paco Rabanne

Born: Pasaïa, Spain, 1934

Designer Biography Paco Rabanne

Copyright © AFP / J. Cuinières / Roger-Viollet – Paco Rabanne & Salvador Dali’

Место рождения: Пасайа, Испания, 1934

Рождённая под именем Франциско Рабанеда Куерво, мать Пако Рабанне и главная швея в Balenciaga, бежала с сыном от испанской гражданской войны во Францию в 1939 году, где он получил своё новое имя.

Рабанне изучал архитектуру в высшей национальной школе изящных искусств в Париже. Под влиянием искусства во время учебы, Рабанне со своими идеями начал проектирование бижутерии для различных компаний, включая Balenciaga, Nina Ricca, Maggy Rouff, Philipe Venet, Pierre Cardin, Courreges и Givenchy

В 1966 году, Рабанне выпустил свою первую коллекцию 12 Unwearable Dresses in Contemporary Materials. Украшенная перламутровой пластмассой, блестками и бляшками, коллекция положила начало экспериментам Рабанне.

Во времена шестидесятых, его большие серьги, солнцезащитные очки из меха и другие аксессуары стали главной темой обсуждения и принесли коммерческий успех. Его выбором материала стал перламутровый пластик, с которым можно создать бесконечное сочетание цветов и форм.

Желая сделать свою продукцию более доступной, Рабанне запустил серию бумажных платьев в 1967 году. Мягкая и лёгкая ткань была дешёвой альтернативой, с которой Рабанне использовал цветные клейкие ленты, чтобы связать ‘ткань’ вместе.

В 1969 году Рабанне представил первый аромат, что положило начало революции в парфюмерной промышленности и получило успех на рынке.

Рабанне продолжал работать с необычными материалами для отделки тканей. В 1968 году была создана коллекция из избитого металлического алюминиевого трикотажа, а в 1970 годах – платья из связанных кнопок. В 1972 году, Рабанне использовал страусовые перья на липучках, в 1982 году – платья со стеклянными отражателями, и в 1984 году – кольчугу.

В 1999 году Рабанне ушёл из модного бизнеса. В 2010 году он стал офицером Почётного легиона от французского министерства культуры.

Пако Рабанне создал одежду, которая считается произведениями искусства. Необычные ткани, кованый метал, трикотажный мех, алюминиевый трикотаж, бумага, кожа и флуоресцентные стекловолокна – всё это было использовано в его творениях. С прозвищем «слесаря», Рабанне, взяв иглу и нить воплощает свои провокационные идеи.

Saxony Dudbridge

Автор Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Paco Rabanne

Paco Rabanne biography

Born: Pasaïa, Spain, 1934

Designer Biography Paco Rabanne

Copyright © AFP / J. Cuinières / Roger-Viollet – Paco Rabanne & Salvador Dali’

Named at birth Francisco Rabaneda y Cuervo, Paco Rabanne’s mother, a head seamstress at Balenciaga, fled from the Spanish Civil War with her son in 1939 to France where he was given his new name.

Rabanne studied architecture at the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts in Paris. Influenced by art during his studies, Rabanne took his ideas and started designing costume jewellery obtaining jobs at Balenciaga, Nina Ricca, Maggy Rouff, Philipe Venet, Pierre Cardin, Courrèges and Givenchy.

In 1966 Rabanne released his first collection entitled ‘12 Unwearable Dresses in Contemporary Materials’. Embellished with rhodoid, sequins and plaques the collection marked the beginning of Rabanne’s view of design as experimentation using unusual materials.

During the sixties Rabanne’s oversized earrings, sunglasses made of fur and other accessories became a huge media and commercial success. His material of choice, rhodoid, could create infinite combinations of colours and form which mirrored the effects produced by Op Art.

Desiring to make his fashion more accessible, Rabanne launched a series of paper dresses in 1967. The soft, lightweight fabric was a cheaper alternative which Rabanne used with coloured adhesive tape to bind it together.

In 1969 Rabanne introduced fragrances to his company. This marked the beginning of the label revolutionising the perfume industry and becoming a long lasting success in the market.

Rabanne continued to work with unusual materials for his trimmings and fabrics. 1968 saw a beaten metal aluminium jersey and 1970 saw dresses made out of linked buttons. In 1972 Rabanne used ostrich feathers attached with Velcro. 1982 saw dresses made with glass reflectors and in 1984 Rabanne used chainmail.

In 1999 Rabanne retired from the Fashion business.  In 2010 he was made an Officer of the Legion d’Honneur by the French culture minister.

Paco Rabanne created clothing that was seen as pieces of art work. Unusual fabrics, hammered metal, knitted fur, aluminium jersey, paper, fluorescent leather and fibre glass have all been used in his creations.  Named the ‘metal worker’, Rabanne’s aversion to needle and thread epitomises his provocative re-evaluation of style.

Paco Rabanne biography

 

Saxony Dudbridge

Written by Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>