Michael Jackson

Copyright © AFP / Dmitry Korobeinikov / Ria Novosti – Michael Jackson

Pendant 20 ans Michael Jackson régna en tant qu’icône de la musique, électrique et haut en carburant, qui inspira et divertit les amoureux de musique du monde entier. Le Roi de la Pop et son influence au sein de la mode et de la musique créèrent une tempête qui poserait les bases pour les artistes à venir. 

Né le 29 août 1958, Michael était le huitième d’une famille de dix enfants, et passa ses jeunes années dans une maison de trois chambres à Gary, Indiana. Le clan Jackson ne fut jamais destiné à vivre une vie ordinaire, et tôt les frères Jackson devinrent un succès international, commençant à se produire dans des clubs au début des années 70 et atterrissant sur la scène mondiale dès 1975 avec des tubes comme “ABC” ou “I’ll Be There”. Des pantalons patte d’éléphant, des imprimés voyants et des costumes complets constituaient le look des étoiles montantes, s’inspirant de la mode actuelle en lui donnant une note joviale. Michael devint rapidement le leader du groupe et faisait de l’ombre à ses frères, ce qui finit par le conduire à une carrière en solo, avec le soutien de Quincy Jones avec qui il avait travaillé sur la bande originale de The Wiz, un film majeur pour Michael aux côtés de son amie Diana Ross en tant que Dorothy.

En 1980 Jackson sortit son premier album, Off The Wall, qui connut un succès instantané avec des tubes comme “Don’t Stop Till You Get Enough” et “Rock With You”. Michael devint vite le premier artiste noir à apparaître sur MTV, ce qui marqua l’histoire de la musique d’une pierre blanche et ouvrit Michael à un nouveau public. Cependant, rien n’eut pu préparer le monde ou Michael lui-même au triomphe de son album de 1982 : Thriller.

Thriller envoya Michael à des cimes nouvelles encore jamais vues par un artiste soliste, et devint l’album évènement de 1983, tout en gardant jusqu’à aujourd’hui le titre d’album le plus célèbre de tous les temps avec plus de 100 millions de ventes. Le chanson “Thriller”atteignit le statut de culte et le clip associé, premier à être présenté comme un film, devint la vidéo la plus estimée de tous les temps. Une telle présentation de son art entama le règne absolu de Michael sur la performance musicale; pas seulement dans ses concerts pleins à craquer, mais aussi dans les clips de ses chansons.

Le roi de la pop continua son ascension avec plus d’albums tels que : Bad (1987), Dangerous (1991), HIStory : Past, Present and Future, Book I, Blood on the Dance Floor : HIStory in the Mix et Invincible. Chaque album fut couronné d’un immense succès, prouvant que le pouvoir de Michael Jackson était infini.

Quant à son style, on peut soutenir qu’il était une extension de son art. Ses costumes étaient créés pour scintiller, rayonner et interpeller le public lorsqu’il dansait sur scène. Ils étaient des costumes, mais pour les jeunes de l’époque ils devinrent un style à part entière, symbolisant la rebellion et l’expression artistique. Des pantalons resserrés aux chevilles, du cuir, des chaussures blanches et de l’allure; le style de Michael projetait l’image d’un homme qui régnait sur la musique et la mode. Des pièces iconiques issues de différentes phases du style de Michael s’apparentaient à des objets de pop culture;  notamment son blouson de motard en cuir rouge dans “Beat It” et son clip pour Bad, réalisé par Martin Scorsese.

Son costumier, Michael Bush, créa certaines des tenues les plus iconiques que Michael Jackson portait pendant les années les plus étincelantes de sa carrière. Cela incluait son gant orné de cristaux Swarovski, qu’il portait comme une extension de lui-même; souvent il levait haut sa main et baissait sa tête sous les projecteurs. Pendant le Dangerous Tour, Michael portait un body doré avec un pan ouvert sur le côté gauche, un pied-de-nez à la royauté.

Pendant le Bad Tour, qui fut sa tournée la plus acclamée, offrant 123 concerts pleins à craquer à plus de 4,4 millions de fans déchaînés, Michael apparut vêtu d’une panoplie rebelle, tout particulièrement dans une combinaison chromée à l’architecture impressionnante mais que faisaient paraître déstructurée les accessoires que Michael associait à presque toutes les tenues de sa tournée.

Dans l’ensemble, son look de la fin des années 80 au début des années 90 scellaient son titre de Roi de la Pop en explorant et en s’appropriant des symboles de royauté Européens avec des costumes inspirés de vêtements militaires. Que ce soit sur des  mélanges de couleurs ou sur un ensemble noir et terne, Michael n’était jamais timide avec les paillettes, ce qui lui venait de son personnage Disney préféré : la fée Clochette.

En dehors de ses spectacles, il portait des tenues similaires, mais plus décontractées avec des proportions plus larges. On le vit dans sa performance Motown 25 en 1983 dans un costume dont les jambes s’arrêtaient au-dessus de la cheville, avec des chaussettes blanches, époustouflant l’audience avec son moonwalk, ce qui causa une déferlante de jeunes dans des cours de danse. Une autre tenue populaire fut celle que Michael porta à la 63ème cérémonie des Academy Awards en 1991; une veste blanche  avec une broche centrée sur le col et à son bras la Princesse de la Pop, Madonna .

Michael Jackson, cependant, n’était pas sans faille. Son comportement de plus en plus étrange au fil des années lui valut le surnom de “Wacko Jacko” (Jacko l’hurluberlu), surnom que Jackson méprisait. Il était la source de rumeur incessantes concernant son apparence changeantes, devenant de plus en plus pâle et son visage de plus en plus ciselé. Il se maria à deux reprises; la première fois avec Lisa Marie Presley, fille de la légende du swing Elvis Presley, puis avec Deborah Jean Rowe, une amie de longue date qui donna naissance à deux de ses trois enfants, le troisième étant issu d’insémination artificielle et d’une mère porteuse dont l’identité reste confidentielle.

En 2009 il tenta un retour et la tournée “This Is It” prit toute son ampleur lorsqu’il s’empara de la scène à Londres, réalisant que cela serait son dernier rappel. Les concerts s’avérèrent être plus que ce que Jackson pouvait supporter, et il mourut le 25 juin 2009 à l’âge de 50 ans.

Le décès de Michael Jackson fut suivit par un deuil mondial et l’impact de Michael sur la vie des autres prit toute son envergure. L’industrie de la mode en fut un aspect, des grandes maisons telles que Givenchy lui rendant hommage avec des vestes cloutées d’or ou Balmain avec des vestes ornées de cristaux. Des gants à sequins dans la collection de Louis Vuitton étaient un clin d’œil à Michael et à sa présence sur scène.

Son style et sa gestuelle sur scène et dans la vie de tous les jours ont inspiré et rendu heureux des centaines de millions de personnes, et influencé de nombreux artistes contemporains, qui n’hésitent pas à faire référence à sa puissante aura et à son style.

Tobias Orrells

Ecrit par Tobias Orrells

Tobias Orrells graduated from Liverpool John Moores University with a degree in International Journalism, however, steering away from news, has focused his creativity to reporting on the progression of men’s fashion. He is an avid writer and lover of fashion and music and combining the two helps create the icon profiles. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Michael Jackson

Copyright © AFP / Dmitry Korobeinikov / Ria Novosti – Michael Jackson

For over 20 years, Michael Jackson reigned as the electric, highly fuelled music icon that inspired and brought entertainment to music lovers all over the world. The ‘King of Pop’, his influence over the music and fashion industry created a storm which would be the basis for future acts.

Born on the 29th of August, 1958, Michael was the eighth out of ten children and spent his early years in the 3 bedroom house in Gary, Indiana. The Jackson clan were never meant to lead ordinary lives, and soon the Jackson brothers became an international hit, starting off playing in clubs in the early 70‘s and by 1975, on the world stage performing hits like, ‘ABC’ and ‘I’ll Be There’. Bell bottoms, loud prints and matching 3 piece suits became the look for the rising stars, playing on current fashion whilst giving it a cheerful edge. Michael soon became the leader of the group and out-shined his brothers, eventually leading to a solo career by the pushing of Quincy Jones whom he had worked with on the soundtrack to ‘The Wiz’, a starring role for Michael along with good friend Dianna Ross as Dorothy.

In 1980 Jackson released his first album, ‘Off The Wall’, and became an instant success with hits like, ‘Don’t Stop Till You Get Enough’ and ‘Rock with You’. Michael soon became the first black artist to appear on MTV, a milestone in its self for music culture and opened Michael up to a new wave of audiences. Nothing however could prepare the world or Michael for the success of his 1982 album, ‘Thriller’.

‘Thriller’ set Michael to new heights never seen before by a solo artist, and became the hit album of 1983 and continues to this day to sell with over 100 million units sold also being called the most successful album of all time. The titled song, ‘Thriller’ reached cult status and the accompanying video, became the first music video to be presented in a movie-like way and the most successful video of all time. This presentation of his art began Michael’s leadership in music performance, not just at his sold out shows but in his music videos as well, the most successful spanning around nine minutes.

The king of pop only rose with more albums such as: ‘Bad’ (1987), ‘Dangerous’ (1991), ‘HIStory: Past, Present and Future, Book I’, ‘Blood on the Dance Floor: ‘HIStory in the Mix and ‘Invincible’. Each album gained enormous success proving that Michael Jackson’s star power was infinite.

In regards to his fashion, the point can be made that they were an extension of his art. They were designed to bedazzle, shine and draw attention to him when dancing onstage. They were costumes, but they became for the young population at the time a style, that signified rebellion and artistic expression. Pegged pants, heavy leather, white socks and an attitude; Michael’s style reflected a man as a leader in music and fashion. Staple items from many of Michael’s evolutions that have become pop culture history include his ‘Beat It’ red leather zipped biker jacket to his vamped up, The Warrior’s styled setting for ‘Bad’, directed by Martin Scorsese.

His costume designer, Michael Bush, created some of the most iconic outfits that Michael Jackson wore over the most renowned years of his career. This included his Swarovski jewelled glove that he wore as an extension of his performances, often shooting out his hand and dipping his head whilst under a spotlight. On his Dangerous Tour, Michael wore a gold bodysuit, with the left side flapped open, a personification of jester royalty.

In his Bad Tour, the most acclaimed and successful tour which played 123 sold out shows to over 4.4 million fans showed Michael in a rebellious attire, with attention to detail especially in a chrome body suit which was noted for being highly structured in basis, but appeared deconstructed with the accessories that Michael included in nearly all aspects of his tour attire.

His overall look during the late 80’s and early 90’s cemented his ‘King of Pop’ title with enthralling royalty aspects in European inspired military suits. Either a colourful combination or a dark and stern ensemble; never shy of the glitter which was an influence of his favourite Disney character, Tinker Bell.

Outside of his shows, he wore similar get ups, but with a more relaxed, oversized appeal, as recognised in his Motown 25 performance in 1983, with the glove intact, showed him wearing a suit, which was tailored above the ankle, with white socks pulled high up stunning the audience with his signature moonwalk which caused a youth riot with young teens all wanting dance lessons. Another popular outfit was one that Michael wore to the 63rd Academy Awards in 1991, where he wore a white jacket with a brooch centred between the collar and on his arm, the Princess of Pop, Madonna.

Michael Jackson, however, was not without problems. His increasingly bizarre behaviour over the years of his life lead to the name, ‘Wacko Jacko’, a name Jackson despised. He was the source of constant rumours regarding his changing appearance, going paler and more chiselled as the years went on. He married twice; one was to the daughter of swing legend, Elvis Presley, Lisa Marie Presley and Deborah Jean Rowe, a long time friend who birthed two of his three children. The birth of his final son by artificial insemination with the mother being withheld.

In 2009 he sought a comeback and the, ‘This Is It’ tour came into full force when he took to the podium in London, remarking that this was his curtain call. The shows proved too much for Jackson who died on the 25th of June, 2009 at the age of 50.

With the passing of Michael came the grief of the entire world and the full force of Michael’s impact on the lives of others came into effect. The fashion industry was one, where full blown tributes where given to ‘The King of Pop’ with the likes of Givenchy’s gold studded jackets and Balmain’s crystal jackets all featured on their 2009 AW shows. Sequined gloves at Louis Vuitton show was a wink at Michael, and his presence when placed on a stage.

His style and demeanour on stage and off inspired and brought happiness to hundreds of millions of people and influenced many of the artists around today, each citing his powerful stage presence and commanding fashion.

Tobias Orrells

Written by Tobias Orrells

Tobias Orrells graduated from Liverpool John Moores University with a degree in International Journalism, however, steering away from news, has focused his creativity to reporting on the progression of men’s fashion. He is an avid writer and lover of fashion and music and combining the two helps create the icon profiles. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>