Mary Quant

Дата рождения: Лондон, Англия, 1934

Мэри Квант получила художественное образования в колледже Голдсмит в Лондоне, где она познакомилась со своим будущим деловым партнёром и мужем Александром Плункит Грин. После окончания, Квант стала учеником модистки, и начал конструировать свою собственную одежду.

Квант черпала вдохновение из воспоминаний о танцах (которыми она занималась в детстве), в итоге чего появился её собственный стиль. Простые формы и яркие цвета стали её новыми мотивами, другими словами, захватывающий дух революции шестидесятых. Квант открыла свой первый бутик Bazaar в Лондоне, в 1955 году.

Черпая вдохновение от Andre Courreges, она помогла популяризации и коммерциализации мини-пародий следующего десятилетия. Сосредоточенная на молодом поколение, Квант разработала привлекательные витрины для её простой одежды, что привлекло ширококий круг клиентов.

С успехом своего первого бутика, Квант открыла второй магазин в Найтсбридж. В 1962 году она успешно переориентировалась на американский рынок, что привело к запросам о продажах в Великобритании, Европе и США. Квант добавила косметическую линию к её растущей империи моды, в 1966 году.

В том же году, она была награждена Орденом Британской Империи за её достижения в индустрии моды. В начале семидесятых годов, Квант начала заниматься дизайном интерьера и текстиля.

Через три года в её честь прошла выставка Mary Quant’s London лондонском музее. Постоянно получая награды, её популярность продолжала расти, и в 1975 году, BBC показали фильм про жизнь Мэри Квант. В том же году, была запущена линия Mary Quant House в Нью-Йорке, а также коллекция Grand Collection.

В 1986 году, Квант поделилась своими уникальными навыками макияжа, после чего вышла её книга о макияже, которая имела большой успех. Три года спустя вышел фильм про макияж, под названием Style File Mary Quant.

В 1990 году Квант была награждена Британским советом моды за вклад в британскую индустрию моды. Последующие книги про макияж были опубликованы в 1996 году: 101 colours lipstick и Classic make-up. Мэри Квант извесна своей молодёжным стилем, который представляет поколение, родившееся после Второй мировой войны.

Её одежда узнаваема благодаря её логотипу ромашки, а также её причёской Vidal Sassoon, которая помогла отменить репрессивные конвенции британских повязок.


Saxony Dudbridge

Автор Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Mary Quant

Mary Quant biography

Born: London, England, 1934

Mary Quant studied Art Education at Goldsmith’s College in London where she met her future business partner and husband, Alexander Plunket Green. After graduating Quant became an apprentice to a milliner and began designing her own clothes.

Identifying with young adults who couldn’t find unfussy casual clothes, Quant took inspiration from Chelsea Beatniks and memories of dance outfits from childhood.  She began to develop her own individual style. Simple shapes and strong colours were her new motif, capturing the spirit of the sixties revolution.

Quant opened her first boutique “BAZAAR” on Kings Road in London in 1955. Taking inspiration from Andrè Courrèges, she helped popularise and commercialise the mini-skit sensation of the following decade. Focussing on the younger generation, Quant devised eye-catching window displays for her simple designs, appealing to a wide range of customers.

With the success of her first boutique, Quant opened a second store in Knightsbridge.  In 1962 she successfully targeted the American market. This led to Quant being inundated with requests for designs from Britain, Europe and the US.

Quant added a cosmetics line to her growing empire in 1966. The same year she was awarded the Order of the British Empire for her achievement in the fashion industry.

At the beginning of the seventies Quant launched into interior and textile design. Three years later an exhibition was held in her honour at the London Museum, “Mary Quant’s London”.

Continuously recognised and awarded, her popularity continued to grow and in 1975 the BBC broadcast a one hour film entitled “The Life of Mary Quant”. The same year “Mary Quant at Home” was launched in New York, a grand collection of interior-related designs.

Quant shared her unique style of makeup in 1986 with a book “Quant on Makeup”. The book was a great success. Three years later a video about makeup was released titled “Mary Quant’s Style File”.

In 1990 Quant was awarded for her contribution to the British Fashion industry by the British Fashion Council.  Further makeup books were published in 1996, “Lipstick 101 Colours” and “Classic Makeup and Beauty Book”.

Mary Quant’s youthful clothes have come to represent the generation born after World War II. With her clothes instantly recognisable through the use of her daisy logo, as well as her own distinctive Vidal Sassoon hairstyle, Mary Quant helped overturn the repressive conventions of British dressing.

Mary Quant biography

 

Saxony Dudbridge

Written by Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>