Marilyn Manson

Fashion Icon Biography Marilyn Manson

Copyright © AFP / RIA Novosti – Marilyn Manson

Лидер одноимённой музыкальной группы, Мэрилин Мэнсон ввёл в страх сердца многих родителей, но стал полной противоположностью для подростков во всём мире, застрявших в пригороде.

Он родился 5 января 1969 года в Кантоне (штат Огайо). Брайан Уорнер начал свою карьеру в качестве  репортёра и музыкального критика, а позже, познакомился с участниками его будующей музыкальной группы.

Это случилось в 1989 году, когда двадцатилетний Уорнер, работающий в области журналистики, встретился с гитаристом Скоттом Путесуки, с кем они и сформировали группу Marilyn Manson and Spooky Kids. Псевдоним Мэрилин Мэнсон состоит из имён двух совершенно разных людей: Мэрилин Монро и маньяка-убийцы Чарльза Мэнсона. Сопоставление между красотой и жуткостью,  не подходящий ли псевдоним для лидера рок группы?

Начиная с 1992 года, группа получила мгновенный успех, благодаря растущему культу металл движения, а также трансляциями видео клипов на MTV, таких как: «Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)», «MOBscene», «Tainted Love», и конечно же, их альбомы получили платиновый статус в США.

Мэрилин Мэнсон всегда восхищался странными людьми, связанными с его музыкой и драматическим стилем. Его внешность всегда менялась в зависимости от его шоу.

Он нашёл понимание в индустрии моды со стороны Вивьен Вествуд, которая говорила: “Мне нравится его музыка, мне нравится его мышление, его внешность и его стиль”. Недавно, в 2011 году, он даже участвовал в показе мод японского дизайнера Йошики. Коллекция в стиле рок-н-ролл называлась «Asia Girls Explosion». Его личный стиль можно соотнести с Дэвидом Боуи. Он также пытался создать образ, который олицетворяет его музыку, в чём он никогда не разочаровывал своих поклонников. Они получали то, что хотели видеть.

Мэрилин Мэнсон также был связан с известной актрисой Роуз Макгоуэн, которая, посещая MTV Video Music Awards в 1998 году, шокировала прессу и зрителей своим прозрачным платьем из кольчуги и стрингами. Мэнсон же, во время всех церемоний и публичных выступлений, носил драматический макияж в стиле зомби, контактные линзы и свободный костюм со шляпой. Всегда в чёрном, и всегда выделяющийся из толпы.

Его отношения с Дитой фон Тиз произвели фурор.  Дита, дива старого голливудского гламура и Мэнсон, новый культ готического века, которого можно сравнить с Джеймсом Дин.

Так же, как и в музыке, Мэнсон оказался тройной угрозой, в киноиндустрие и искусстве, принимая участие в таких фильмах, как «Party Monster» и «Phantasmagoria: The Visions of Lewis Carroll », которые стали его дебютными. В 2010 году он сотрудничал с Дэвидом Линчем над серией из 20 картин под названием «Genealogies of Pain».

Мэрилин Мэнсон остаётся иконой стиля для многих тех, кто отвергает массовую культуру, выбирая выражение своей уникальной личности и музыкального вкуса, и, как Мэнсон, остаются верны своим взглядам.

Tobias Orrells

Автор Tobias Orrells

Tobias Orrells graduated from Liverpool John Moores University with a degree in International Journalism, however, steering away from news, has focused his creativity to reporting on the progression of men’s fashion. He is an avid writer and lover of fashion and music and combining the two helps create the icon profiles. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Marilyn Manson

Fashion Icon Biography Marilyn Manson

Copyright © AFP / RIA Novosti – Marilyn Manson

Leader of the enfant terrible, Marilyn Manson struck fear into many parents hearts but became an antithesis for teenagers everywhere stuck in the suburban nightmare.

Born on the 5th of January 1969 in Canton, Ohio, Brian Warner began his career as an aspiring music journalist, where he met music acts he would later share the same genre with.

It was 1989, and a twenty year old Warner, who was working towards a degree in Journalism, met with guitarist Scott Putesky and formed the band Marilyn Manson and the Spooky Kids. Marilyn Manson, a compound of Marilyn Monroe and the Californian cult leader Charles Manson, was a juxtaposition between beauty and the macabre, a fitting title for the leader of shock rock.

From 1992 onwards the band found instant success with a large cult following helping to bring the metal movement to the foreground with like of MTV airing music such as; ‘Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)’, ‘MOBscene’, ‘Tainted Love’ and their albums receiving platinum status within the US.

Marilyn Manson has always been glared upon by elders as a oddity and a character with grotesque connotations, linked through his music and his personal style.The dramatics of his looks delve into the sadomasochistic with skin tight leather, ghost faced makeup and an androgynous silhouette, transforming depending on his shows.

He has found success within the fashion industry with Vivienne Westwood saying: “I like his music; I like his brain, his looks and his style.” He recently walked the runway in 2011 for Japanese fashion designer, Yoshiki called, “Asia Girls Explosion”, utilising his influence on rock and roll. His personal style and performance attire can be related back to David Bowie, like David Bowie, his style was fitting for his music, and with the expectation surrounding him within the public eye, he has never disappointed.

Marilyn Manson has also been linked to famous actresses such as Rose McGowan, who, attending the 1998 MTV Video Music Awards shocked the press and audiences with her transparent chain mail dress and thong. Manson, during these ceremonies and most public appearances wore dramatic makeup, zombie like eye contacts and a loose suit with a matching hat, always in black, completely unapologetic to the mainstream glitterati.

His relationship with Dita Von Teese showed the eventual shift in what was considered beauty, withDita, an old Hollywood glamour type with Manson, the new age Gothic cult equivalent to James Dean.

As well as music, Manson has proved to be a triple threat, with links to film and art, staring in films such as, ‘Party Monster’ and ‘Phantasmagoria: The Visions of Lewis Carroll’, the yet to be released directorial debut. In 2010 he collaborated with David Lynch on a series of 20 paintings entitled, Genealogies of Pain.

Marilyn Manson has remained a style icon to many of those who reject the mainstream culture, choosing to express their identity and music tastes differently, and like Manson, remain true to themselves.

Tobias Orrells

Written by Tobias Orrells

Tobias Orrells graduated from Liverpool John Moores University with a degree in International Journalism, however, steering away from news, has focused his creativity to reporting on the progression of men’s fashion. He is an avid writer and lover of fashion and music and combining the two helps create the icon profiles. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>