Marilyn Manson

Fashion Icon Biography Marilyn Manson

Copyright © AFP / RIA Novosti – Marilyn Manson

Leader des enfants terribles, Marilyn Manson insuffla la peur dans le cœur de bien des parents, mais devint un échappatoire pour les adolescents coincés dans le cauchemar des banlieues.

Né le 5 janvier 1969 à Canton, Ohio, Brian Warner débuta sa carrière en journaliste de musique inspirant, métier à travers lequel il rencontra des musiciens dont il partagerait plus tard le genre.

C’était l’année1989, et le jeune Warner, qui travaillait à obtenir son diplôme de Journalisme, fit la recontre du guitariste Scott Putesky, et forma le groupe Marilyn Manson and the Spooky Kids. Le pseudonyme Marilyn Manson, un composé de Marilyn Monroe et de Charles Manson, un gourou de secte californien, était une juxtaposition de la beauté et du macabre, un nom approprié pour le maître du rock choc.

À partir de 1992, le groupe connut un grand succès, et fut l’objet d’un culte, ce qui aida à porter le mouvement métal au devant de la scène; MTC entre autres diffusa des titres tels que Sweet Dreams, MOBscene et Tainted Love, et leur album reçut le statut Platine aux États-Unis.

Marilyn Manson fut toujours considéré avec mépris par les aînés, comme une étrangeté et un grotesque personnage de par sa musique et son style vestimentaire. La théâtralité de son look joue avec les codes du sadomasochisme avec du cuir moulant, du maquillage fantomatique et une silhouette androgyne, changeant au gré des concerts.

Il fut remarqué au sein de l’industrie de la mode quand Vivienne Westwood déclara : “J’aime sa musique, j’aime son cerveau, son apparence et son style”. Il défila en 2011 pour une collection intitulée Asia Girls Explosion, du créateur japonais Yoshiki, utilisant son influence sur le rock ‘n roll. Son look et ses performances peuvent être comparés à David Bowie, dont le style vestimentaire s’accordait avec la musique, et il ne déçut jamais le public et toutes les attentes qu’il plaçait en lui.

Marylin Manson fut aussi affilié à la célèbre actrice Rose McGowan, qui choqua le public lorsqu’elle apparut en 1998 aux MTV Video Music Awards en robe côte de maille transparente avec un string. Manson, pour ce genre de cérémonies et pour ces apparitions en public, portait du maquillage théâtral, des lentilles de contact de zombie et des costumes larges avec chapeau assorti, toujours en noir, tout sauf gêné vis-à-vis de l’opinion générale.

Sa relation avec Dita von Teese marqua un tournant dans ce qui était considéré comme beau, Dita étant une sulfureuse personnalité hollywoodienne et Manson étant un gothique nouvelle vague équivalent à James Dean.

En plus de la musique, Manson fait preuve d’autres talents, avec des connexions au cinéma et aux arts, apparaissant dans des films comme Party Monster et Phantasmagoria : The Visions of Lewis Carroll, un premier film en tant que directeur dont la sortie est encore à venir. En 2010 il collabora avec David Lynch sur une série de 20 peintures intitulée Genealogies of Pain.

Marilyn Manson demeure une icône de style pour nombre de ceux qui rejettent la culture de masse, choisissant d’exprimer leur identité et leurs goûts musicaux différemment, et qui comme Manson restent fidèles à eux-même.

Tobias Orrells

Ecrit par Tobias Orrells

Tobias Orrells graduated from Liverpool John Moores University with a degree in International Journalism, however, steering away from news, has focused his creativity to reporting on the progression of men’s fashion. He is an avid writer and lover of fashion and music and combining the two helps create the icon profiles. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Marilyn Manson

Fashion Icon Biography Marilyn Manson

Copyright © AFP / RIA Novosti – Marilyn Manson

Leader of the enfant terrible, Marilyn Manson struck fear into many parents hearts but became an antithesis for teenagers everywhere stuck in the suburban nightmare.

Born on the 5th of January 1969 in Canton, Ohio, Brian Warner began his career as an aspiring music journalist, where he met music acts he would later share the same genre with.

It was 1989, and a twenty year old Warner, who was working towards a degree in Journalism, met with guitarist Scott Putesky and formed the band Marilyn Manson and the Spooky Kids. Marilyn Manson, a compound of Marilyn Monroe and the Californian cult leader Charles Manson, was a juxtaposition between beauty and the macabre, a fitting title for the leader of shock rock.

From 1992 onwards the band found instant success with a large cult following helping to bring the metal movement to the foreground with like of MTV airing music such as; ‘Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)’, ‘MOBscene’, ‘Tainted Love’ and their albums receiving platinum status within the US.

Marilyn Manson has always been glared upon by elders as a oddity and a character with grotesque connotations, linked through his music and his personal style.The dramatics of his looks delve into the sadomasochistic with skin tight leather, ghost faced makeup and an androgynous silhouette, transforming depending on his shows.

He has found success within the fashion industry with Vivienne Westwood saying: “I like his music; I like his brain, his looks and his style.” He recently walked the runway in 2011 for Japanese fashion designer, Yoshiki called, “Asia Girls Explosion”, utilising his influence on rock and roll. His personal style and performance attire can be related back to David Bowie, like David Bowie, his style was fitting for his music, and with the expectation surrounding him within the public eye, he has never disappointed.

Marilyn Manson has also been linked to famous actresses such as Rose McGowan, who, attending the 1998 MTV Video Music Awards shocked the press and audiences with her transparent chain mail dress and thong. Manson, during these ceremonies and most public appearances wore dramatic makeup, zombie like eye contacts and a loose suit with a matching hat, always in black, completely unapologetic to the mainstream glitterati.

His relationship with Dita Von Teese showed the eventual shift in what was considered beauty, withDita, an old Hollywood glamour type with Manson, the new age Gothic cult equivalent to James Dean.

As well as music, Manson has proved to be a triple threat, with links to film and art, staring in films such as, ‘Party Monster’ and ‘Phantasmagoria: The Visions of Lewis Carroll’, the yet to be released directorial debut. In 2010 he collaborated with David Lynch on a series of 20 paintings entitled, Genealogies of Pain.

Marilyn Manson has remained a style icon to many of those who reject the mainstream culture, choosing to express their identity and music tastes differently, and like Manson, remain true to themselves.

Tobias Orrells

Written by Tobias Orrells

Tobias Orrells graduated from Liverpool John Moores University with a degree in International Journalism, however, steering away from news, has focused his creativity to reporting on the progression of men’s fashion. He is an avid writer and lover of fashion and music and combining the two helps create the icon profiles. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>