Louise Brooks

Fashion Icon Biography

Copyright © AFP / Collection Roger-Viollet – Louise Brooks

Луиза Брукс обладал всем, что только было нужно в эпоху немого кино (в отношении моды): “Cloche” шляпы, шелковые тюрбаны, меха, жемчуга и бесчисленные платья. Она всегда делала макияж ‘дымчатых’ глаз, в сочетании с тёмно накрашенными губами ‘Купидона’. Она делала это, как и все женщины-вамп и джазовые певицы того времени. Тем не менее, её причёска “боб” под резким углом, в сочетании с её высокими скулами, отличали её от других женщин с мягкими и волнистыми локонами. Французский историк Анри Ланглуа сказал: “Не существует Гарбо, нет Дитрих, есть только Луиза Брукс”.

Её причёску повторяли снова и снова, включая таких звёзд, как Сельма Блэр, Натали Портман, Коко Роша и Руни Мара. Даже Зуи Дешанель, с её длиными косами, жаждет графический “боб” Луизы Брукс.

Звезда родилась 14 ноября 1906 года в Канзасе, под именем Марии Луизы Брукс.

Брукс начала свою карьеру в качестве танцовщицы, работая с компанией, которая занималась современными танцами до того момента, пока не стала одной из девушек в  «George White’s Scandals», а после чего, и вовсе, стала одной из танцовщиц «Follies Ziegfeld» в 1925 году. Во время работы на Бродвее, она привлекла внимание Paramount Pictures, которые предложили звезде контракт. В то же самое время, у неё начался летний роман с Чарли Чаплином.

Брукс дебютировала в «The Street of Forgotten Men»(1925), и завоевала популярность, играя роль вампира в «A Girl in Every Port» (1928). Её самыми известными ролями в европейских фильмах являются: «Pandora’s Box» (1929), «Diary of a Lost Girl» (1929) и «Prix de Beauté» (1930). Фильмы содержали жестокую цензуру, содержание для взрослых и пастельные сцены. За экраном, Брукс занималась вокалом, а также открыто говорила о своей сексуальной и личной жизни. Её отношения никогда не были скрыты от средств массовой информации. Она была замужем дважды: за Эдди Сазерленд в 1926 году и за Дирингом Дэвисом в 1933 году. Её мемуары «Lulu in Hollywood» были опубликованы в 1982 году. Хотя её карьеру можно считать короткой, Брукс удалось оставить свой след. Актриса снялась в 17 немых фильмах, и никогда не выстула на радио, несмотря на давление со стороны студиии. Голливуд, возможно, не хотел отпускать её, но с её ‘мятежным’ характером, ей лучше было покинуть кино, оставшись легендой немого кино.

 

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Автор Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Louise Brooks

Fashion Icon Biography

Copyright © AFP / Collection Roger-Viollet – Louise Brooks

Louise Brooks possessed all the staples of the silent film era in regards to fashion: cloche hats, silk turbans, furs, pearls and countless drop waist dresses. She wore kohl smudged around her eyes, paired with a dark, precision-painted lip with an exaggerated cupid’s bow. She used these successful ingredients, as did so many of the other vamps and jazz babies of the roaring twenties. However, it is her iconic bob—tar-black with a blunt fringe, sharply angled alongside her stunning cheekbones—which set her apart from the soft curls and finger waves of other silent movie sirens. French film historian, Henri Langlois decreed, “There is no Garbo, there is no Dietrich, there is only Louise Brooks.”

Her razor-sharp cut has been replicated time and time again, seen on stars such as Selma Blair, Natalie Portman, Coco Rocha and Rooney Mara. Even Zooey Deschanel, with her long, enviable tresses, craves a Louise Brooks graphic bob.

The star was born on November 14th 1906 in Kansas, under the name Mary Louise Brooks.

Brooks began her career as a dancer, working with a modern dance company until she became a chorus girl in George White’s Scandals, before becoming a featured dancer in the 1925 run of the Ziegfeld Follies. Her time on Broadway caught the attention of Paramount Pictures, who offered the star a film contract. During this time she also began a summer romance with Charlie Chaplin.

Brooks made her film debut in The Street of Forgotten Men (1925), and gained popularity playing a vamp in A Girl in Every Port (1928). Her best-known roles were in European films: Pandora’s Box (1929), Diary of a Lost Girl (1929) and Prix de Beauté (1930). The films were heavily censored due to their adult content, controversial portrayals of sexuality. Off-screen, Brooks was very vocal and overt regarding her own sexuality. She spoke openly, and her private life and relationships were not hidden away from the media. She was married twice, to Eddie Sutherland in 1926 and Deering Davis in 1933.  Her memoir, Lulu in Hollywood, was published in 1982. Though her career may be considered short, Brooks succeeded in making an impact. The actress starred in 17 silent films, and never made the jump to talkies, despite pressure from the studio. Hollywood may have doubted her decision to retire from the movies, but her rebellious career-move would later secure her place as a legend of silent film.

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Written by Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>