Joan Crawford

Icon Biography Joan Crawford

Copyright © AFP / Collection Roger-Viollet – Joan Crawford

Joan Crawford naquit le 23 mai 1905 sous le nom de Lucille Fay Lesueur. Elle débuta sa carrière en tant que choriste sur Broadway dans Innocent Eyes (1924). Son premier rôle au cinéma fut dans le film The Cirle (1925) sous son vrai nom Lucille Lesueur, mais le studio trouvait qu’il sonnait faux. Une compétition fut lancée dans un magazine pour trouver un nouveau nom à la star, et bien qu’elle-même n’affectionna jamais le pseudonyme, Joan Crawford fut choisi.

Elle signa un contrat avec MGM en 1925 mais, frustrée de ne décrocher que des petits rôles, elle commença à faire sa propre publicité pour attirer l’attention. La scénariste Frederica Sagor Maas remarqua : ” Personne n’avait décidé de faire de Joan Crawford une star. Joan Crawford devint une star parce qu’elle l’a décidé elle-même”.  Son rôle de jeune fille délurée dans Les Nouvelles Vierges (1928) la propulsa dans le royaume des étoiles. Elle joua des personnages similaires à travers les années 20, capturant le style et la féminité de l’époque avec des robes d’inspiration Chanel, courtes et sans manche. F. Scott Fitzgerald écrit d’elle : “Joan Crawford est incontestablement le plus bel exemple de la garçonne, la fille que l’on voit dans des clubs branchés, vêtue à la pointe de la sophistication, dansant avec délice, riant aux éclats avec des grands yeux émouvants. Une jeune créature avec un talent pour vivre”.

Crawford réussit avec succès sa reconversion au cinéma parlant, avec une image plus sophistiquée pour s’accorder à l’époque. Elle joua dans Our Blushing Brides (1930) et fut l’une des stars de l’époustouflant casting de Grand Hotel (1932).

L’un des instants mode les plus mémorables de Crawford fut dans le film Captive (1932). Un critique écrit : “Les robes que porte Miss Crawford feront parler le monde pendant des semaines… et la façon dont elle les porte!”. Son costume le plus célèbre fut une robe d’organdi blanc à imposantes manches gonflées, créée par Gilbert Adrian. La robe fut la première à accentuer les larges épaules de Crawford, en faisant l’élément essentiel de tous ses costumes à venir. Macy’s copia le modèle de la robe de Letty Lynton et en vendit 5,000,000 exemplaires. Vogue rapporta que “toutes les petites filles, en l’espace de deux semaines après la sortie du film, étaient convaincues que la vie ne valait pas d’être vécue sans une robe comme celle-ci”. Le partenariat de la star avec le costumier d’étendit sur 31 films, engendrant des robes asymétriques, toutes mettant en valeurs ses emblématiques épaules. Crawford accessoirisait avec de larges ceintures, des étoles de fourrure, et portait toujours des chaussures à bride.

Crawford se retira du monde du cinéma, mais revint à l’écran dans Le Roman de Mildred Pierce (1945), pour lequel elle remporta un Oscar de la meilleure actrice. Elle joua aussi notoirement  aux côtés de sa rivale Bette Davis dans Qu’est-il Arrivé à Baby Jane? (1962).

Joan Crawford possédait nombre de dressings, et même des appartements entiers remplis de vêtements, d’accessoires et de chaussures. Une véritable amoureuse des vêtements, les rumeurs disaient qu’elle se changeait jusqu’à dix fois par jour.

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Ecrit par Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Joan Crawford

Icon Biography Joan Crawford

Copyright © AFP / Collection Roger-Viollet – Joan Crawford

Joan Crawford was born on March 23rd1905, under the name Lucille Fay LeSueur. She began her career as a chorus girl on Broadway in Innocent Eyes (1924).  Her first film role was inThe Circle (1925) under her given name Lucille LeSueur, but the studio felt it sounded fake. A magazine contest was launched to find the star a new name, and though the actress was never fond of it, Joan Crawford was chosen.

She was signed to a film contract with MGM in 1925, but grew frustrated with the size of her parts and began a self-publicized effort to gain attention. Screenwriter Frederica Sagor Maas remarked, “No one decided to make Joan Crawford a star. Joan Crawford became a star because she decided to become a star”.  Her flapper role in Our Dancing Daughters (1928) caused her climb to stardom. She undertook similar roles throughout the 1920s, capturing the style of 20s femininity in Chanel-inspired short, sleeveless frocks. F. Scott Fitzgerald wrote of her: “Joan Crawford is doubtless the best example of the flapper, the girl you see in smart night clubs, gowned to the apex of sophistication, dancing deliciously, laughing a great deal, with wide, hurt eyes. Young things with a talent for living.”

Crawford made a successful jump to the talkies, with a new, more sophisticated image to accompany the times. She starred in Our Blushing Brides (1930) and was part of the all-star cast of Grand Hotel (1932).

One of Crawford’s most memorable fashion moments is in the lost film Letty Lynton (1932). One critic wrote, “The gowns which Miss Crawford wears will be the talk of your town for weeks after…and how she wears them!” The most referenced costume was a white organdy dress, designed by Gilbert Adrian, with large ruffled sleeves. The gown marked the beginning of accentuating Crawford’s broad shoulders, making them the focal point of her costumes from then on. Macy’s copied the Letty Lynton dress and sold over 500,000 copies. Vogue reported that, “every little girl, within two weeks of the release of the picture, felt she would die if she didn’t have a dress like that.” The star’s partnership with Adrian spanned 31 movies, creating scores of asymmetric patterned gowns, all with her signature power shoulder. Crawford accessorized with wide belts, fur wraps, and always wore ankle strapped shoes.

Crawford took a break from the big screen, but returned to star in Mildred Pierce (1945), for which she won an Oscar for best actress. She also famously starred alongside rival Bette Davis in What Ever Happened To Baby Jane? (1962).

Joan Crawford was said to have many walk in wardrobes, even entire apartments filled with clothing, accessories and shoes. Ever the clotheshorse, it is rumoured she changed her outfits up to ten times a day.

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Written by Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>