Inez van Lamsweerde and Vinoodh Matadin

Инес ван Ламсвеерде родилась в Амстердаме в 1963 году, а Виноод Матадин –  в 1961 году в Амстердаме, где он начал изучать дизайн одежды в течение четырёх лет.

Они встретились в 1986 году, когда Ван Ламсвеерде был еще студентом академии искусств Геррита Ритвельда. После того, как она закончила в 1990 году, они стали партнёрами, а также у них начались романтические отношения.

Они были одними из первых, кто ввёл цифровые технологии в их работу. Они работали с разными темами для фотосъёмок, включая сексуальность, идентичность и поверхностность.

Ван Ламсвеерде помогла им получить внимание людей, когда она начала работать в Центре современного искусства PS1 в Нью-Йорке в 1992 году, и выпустила два своих наиболее известных произведение Final Fantasy и Thank You Thighmaster. В этих двух картинах она сочетала тела двух разных эпох, или же сделала перестановку частей тела с частями кукл. В 1995 году она опубликовала свой проект The Forest, на этот раз на картинках присутствовали изображениями мужчин, с женскими частями тела.

В 1997 году они работали в первый раз с Матиасом Августпньяком и Майклом Амзальгом, французский дуэт известен под именем M/M. Вместе, они сотрудничали над рекламными кампаниями для Yohji Yamamoto, Balenciaga, а также работали над видео клипом Бьорка Hidden Place.

Работы двух фотографов были опубликованы в таких журналах, как французские, британские, японские, итальянские и американские издания Vogue, Harpers Bazaar, Self Service, GQ, Visionaire, W Magazine, Man About Town и Purple Fashion, и это только некоторые из них.

Они также работали над многими рекламными кампаниями для брендов, среди которых Chloé, Stella McCarteny, Gucci, Viktor&Rolf, Gap, Jean Paul Gaultier, Roberto Cavalli, Chanel, Lancome, Jimmy Choo, Nina Ricci и Yves Saint Laurent.

На сегодняшний день, их последней работой является сотрудничество с Lady Gaga, которую они фотографировали в 2011 году для журнала V.

Marine Lazarus

Автор Marine Lazarus

Marine Lazarus, an Anglo-French photographer who moved to UK 3 years ago to study journalism at Brunel University in London. Marine is responsible for our Photographers Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Inez van Lamsweerde and Vinoodh Matadin

Ines Van Lamsweerde was born in Amsterdam in 1963 and Vinoodh Matadin in 1961 in Amsterdam where he then started studying Fashion Design in 1981 for four years.

They met in 1986 when Van Lamsweerde was still an Art student at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie. After she graduated in 1990, they became partners professionally and personally.

They were amongst the first to introduce digital manipulation to their work, working on a broad range of subjects including sexuality, identity and superficiality.

Van Lamsweerde helped them catch people’s attention when she started working at the PS1 Contemporary Art Center in New York in 1992 and produced two of her best known piece of work “Final Fantasy” and “Thank You Thighmaster”. In those two pictures she worked on mixing bodies from different ages, or interchanging body parts with them of a doll. In 1995 she published “The Forest” this time manipulating images of men by adding feminine body parts to them.

In 1997 they worked for the first time with Mathias Augustyniak and Michael Amzalag the French Art duo better know under the name M/M. Together they collaborated on Yohji Yamamoto and Balenciaga advertising campaigns and on Björk’s music video “Hidden Place”.

The two photographer’s work has been published in magazines such as the French, British, Japanese, Italian, and American editions of Vogue Magazine, Harper’s Bazaar, Self Service, GQ, Visionaire, W Magazine, Man About Town and Purple Fashion, to only name a few.

They have also worked on many advertising campaigns for brands amongst which ChloéStella McCarteny, Viktor & Rolf, Gap, Jean Paul GaultierRoberto Cavalli, Lancôme, Jimmy Choo and Yves Saint Laurent to only name a few out of their very long list of collaborations.

Their latest work to date is a collaboration with Lady Gaga which they shot in 2011 for V Magazine.

Marine Lazarus

Written by Marine Lazarus

Marine Lazarus, an Anglo-French photographer who moved to UK 3 years ago to study journalism at Brunel University in London. Marine is responsible for our Photographers Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>