Hedy Lamarr

Copyright © AFP / RKO / The Kobal Collection – Hedy Lamarr

Hedy Lamarr naquit à Vienne le 9 novembre 1913 sous le nom de Hedwig Eva Mari Kieser. Bien que sa beauté était célèbre, Lamarre clamait n’en rien savoir durant son enfance, déclarant : “Ma mère m’a toujours traitée de laideron, alors je n’ai jamais eu conscience de quoi que ce soit avant d’être plus âgée. Les filles fades devraient toutes avoir quelqu’un pour leur dire qu’elles sont belles, cela accomplit des miracles.” Lamarr était célèbre pour ses sourcils finement arqués, ses lèvres charnues et sa chevelure sombre, toujours coiffée avec une raie au milieu. Elle attira l’attention de l’industrie après avoir joué la protagoniste dans le très provocant Ecstase (1933), où on la voit dénudée dans des scènes ouvertement sexuelles.

Elle rencontra Louis B. Mayer à Londres, à qui l’on doit d’avoir changé le nom de la star, choisissant Lamarr en hommage à une étoile du cinéma muet, Barbara La Marr.

Connue pour sa beauté renversante et ses airs mystérieux, Lamarr était généralement sélectionnée pour jouer des personnages exotiques, séduisants et glamour dans des films tels que La Fièvre du Pétrole (1940), Camarade X (1940) et Tondelayo (1942).

En tant que Tondelayo dans le film éponyme, on la vit apparaître dans des hauts bandeau et des paréos, accessoirisés par une sélection de bijoux d’inspiration tribale. Elle joua au côté de ses consœurs Judy Garland et Lana Turner dans la comédie musicale extravagante Ziegfeld Girl en 1941, un film fantasmagorique regorgeant de décors somptueux et de costumes de showgirl à paillettes, réalisé en hommages aux choristes de Ziegfeld Follies. Un numéro voit l’actrice vêtue d’une robe de soirée à manches longues décorées d’étoiles, avec une grande constellation jaillissant de sa coiffe.

Elle quitta MGM en 1945 et, main dans la main avec Victor Mature fit sensation au box office dans Samson et Dalila (1949), de Cecil B. DeMille. Edith Head créa pour le film une myriade de hauts raccourcis et de longues jupes drapées assorties, en tissus décorés couleur argent et bleu d’outremer, et un renversant costume couvert de plumes de paon. Le film vit Lamarr couverte de bijoux fantaisie, avec des manchettes, des bagues démesurées, et de grandes boucles d’oreille avec des pierreries assorties. Elle porta également tout une sélection de bijoux de tête, que la star adorait, car ils attiraient l’attention sur son visage : “Je préfère porter des bijoux dans mes cheveux plutôt qu’ailleurs, disait-elle, le visage devrait pouvoir bénéficier de tout l’éclat”.

En plus de sa carrière au cinéma, Hedy Lamarr était une femme de science. Elle s’associa avec George Antheil et co-inventa le Frequency Hopping (étalement de fréquence), une idée qui est à la base de la technologie Bluetooth et WiFi.

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Ecrit par Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Hedy Lamarr

Copyright © AFP / RKO / The Kobal Collection – Hedy Lamarr

Hedy Lamarr was born in Vienna on November 9th 1913, under the name Hedwig Eva Mari Kieser. Though a celebrated beauty, Lamarr claimed no knowledge of her looks as a girl stating, “My mother always called me an ugly weed, so I never was aware of anything until I was older. Plain girls should have someone telling them they are beautiful, sometimes this works miracles.” Lamarr was famous for her thinly arched brows, full lips and dark hair, which she always wore in a centre part. She gained attention from the film industry after starring in Gustav Machaty’s provocative motion picture ‘Ecstasy'(1933), which featured highly sexual scenes and nude shots of the actress.

She met Louis B. Mayer in London, who is credited with changing the star’s name, choosing Lamarr in homage to silent film star Barbara La Marr.

Known for her startling beauty and mysterious looks, Lamarr was cast as exotic, seductive and glamorous types, in film such as ‘Boom Town’ (1940), ‘Comrade X’ (1940), and ‘White Cargo’ (1942).

Her role as Tondelayo in ‘White Cargo’ saw the actress dressed in bandeau tops and sarongs, accessorized with a selection of beaded tribal-inspired jewelry. She starred alongside fellow leading ladies Judy Garland and Lana Turner in the 1941 musical extravaganza ‘Ziegfeld Girl’, a fantastical picture filled with large decorated sets and dazzling showgirl costumes, made in homage to the chorus girls of the Ziegfeld Follies. A standout musical number features the actress in a long sleeved, star-spangled evening gown, with a large constellation stemming from a headdress.

She left MGM in 1945, and created a box-office hit alongside Victor Mature in ‘Cecil B. DeMille’s Samson and Delilah’ (1949). ‘Edith Head’ created a selection of matching crop tops and draped maxi skirts, in metallic silver, ocean blue with embellishments and a striking creation covered in peacock feathers. The role saw Lamarr in an excess of costume jewelry, with statement cuffs, oversized cocktail rings and large pendants featuring matching stones. For the role she wore a selection of hair jewelry, a statement that the star favoured, as it drew attention to her face. “I’d rather wear jewels in my hair than anywhere else,” Lamarr remarked, “The face should have the advantage of this brilliance.”

On top of her acting pursuits, Hedy Lamarr was a woman of science. She partnered with George Antheil to create frequency hopping, an idea which now serves as the basis for Bluetooth and WiFi communications today.

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Written by Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>