Hedy Lamarr

Copyright © AFP / RKO / The Kobal Collection – Hedy Lamarr

Хеди Ламарр родилась 9 ноября 1913 года в Вене, под именем Хедвиг Ева Мари Кайзер. Ивестная своей красотой, Ламарр заявила: “Моя мать всегда называла меня уродиной.. Обычным девушкам должен кто-то говорить, что они красивы, иногда это творит чудеса”. Ламарр была известна своими тонкими изогнутыми бровями, пухлыми губами и тёмными волосами, которые всегда были в центре внимания. Она была замечена после главной роли в провокационной картине Густава Мачати «Ecstasy» (1933), в которой присутствовали сексуальные сцены и обнажённые кадры с актрисой.

Она познакомилась с Луисом Майером в Лондоне, который измененил её имя в честь звезды немого кино Барбары Ла Марр.

Известная своей поразительной красотой и таинственным взглядом, Ламарр снималась в экзотических, соблазнительных и гламурных типах кино, таких как «Boom Town» (1940), «Comrade X» (1940) и «White Cargo» (1942).

В фильме «White Cargo», актриса носила саронг, дополняя аксессуарами из бисера. Она снималась вместе с другими ведущими актрисами того времени, такими как Джуди Гарланд и Лана Тернер. В 1941 году она снялась в фантастической картине, которая была наполнена ослепительными костюмами танцовщиц, сделанными в честь женского хора Ziegfeld Follies. В выдающемся музыкальном номере, актриса была представлена в вечернем платье с длинными рукавами и большим созвездием, вытекающим из головного убора.

Она покинула MGM в 1945 году, и начала работать с Виктором Зрелая в «Cecil B. DeMille’s Samson and Delilah» (1949). Эдит Хэд создал коллекцию костюмов из драпированных юбок макси: в цвете серебристого металлика, синего океана; а также, создал поразительный костюм, покрытый перьями павлина. На Ламарр были одеты ‘тонны’ бижутерии, манжеты, большие кольцы и большие подвески с камнями. Играя эту роль, она носила различные  ювелирные изделия для волос,  после чего появилось утверждение, что звезда, таким образом, привлекает внимание к своему лицу, но она же заявила: “Я предпочитаю носить драгоценности в моих волосах, чем где-либо еще”, а так же Ламарр отметила, что “лицо должно иметь преимущество”.

На вершине своей актёрской карьеры, Хеди Ламарр также была женщиной науки. Она сотрудничала с Джорджем Антейл над созданием скачкообразной перестройки частоты, которая, в настоящее время, служит в качестве основы для Bluetooth и WiFi связи .

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Автор Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Hedy Lamarr

Copyright © AFP / RKO / The Kobal Collection – Hedy Lamarr

Hedy Lamarr was born in Vienna on November 9th 1913, under the name Hedwig Eva Mari Kieser. Though a celebrated beauty, Lamarr claimed no knowledge of her looks as a girl stating, “My mother always called me an ugly weed, so I never was aware of anything until I was older. Plain girls should have someone telling them they are beautiful, sometimes this works miracles.” Lamarr was famous for her thinly arched brows, full lips and dark hair, which she always wore in a centre part. She gained attention from the film industry after starring in Gustav Machaty’s provocative motion picture ‘Ecstasy'(1933), which featured highly sexual scenes and nude shots of the actress.

She met Louis B. Mayer in London, who is credited with changing the star’s name, choosing Lamarr in homage to silent film star Barbara La Marr.

Known for her startling beauty and mysterious looks, Lamarr was cast as exotic, seductive and glamorous types, in film such as ‘Boom Town’ (1940), ‘Comrade X’ (1940), and ‘White Cargo’ (1942).

Her role as Tondelayo in ‘White Cargo’ saw the actress dressed in bandeau tops and sarongs, accessorized with a selection of beaded tribal-inspired jewelry. She starred alongside fellow leading ladies Judy Garland and Lana Turner in the 1941 musical extravaganza ‘Ziegfeld Girl’, a fantastical picture filled with large decorated sets and dazzling showgirl costumes, made in homage to the chorus girls of the Ziegfeld Follies. A standout musical number features the actress in a long sleeved, star-spangled evening gown, with a large constellation stemming from a headdress.

She left MGM in 1945, and created a box-office hit alongside Victor Mature in ‘Cecil B. DeMille’s Samson and Delilah’ (1949). ‘Edith Head’ created a selection of matching crop tops and draped maxi skirts, in metallic silver, ocean blue with embellishments and a striking creation covered in peacock feathers. The role saw Lamarr in an excess of costume jewelry, with statement cuffs, oversized cocktail rings and large pendants featuring matching stones. For the role she wore a selection of hair jewelry, a statement that the star favoured, as it drew attention to her face. “I’d rather wear jewels in my hair than anywhere else,” Lamarr remarked, “The face should have the advantage of this brilliance.”

On top of her acting pursuits, Hedy Lamarr was a woman of science. She partnered with George Antheil to create frequency hopping, an idea which now serves as the basis for Bluetooth and WiFi communications today.

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Written by Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>