Grace Kelly

Copyright © AFP / Bud Fraker / Kobal / The Picture Desk – Grace Kelly

Grace Kelly était le fantasme de toutes les jeunes filles : une actrice hollywoodienne ravissante qui réalisa le rêve américain avant de devenir princesse et de charmer le monde entier. Son style féminin et son allure lui survivent, ainsi que son statut d’icône du cinéma. Son titre de Princesse Grace de Monaco joua un rôle important dans l’évolution du pays, d’autant plus qu’elle donnait à ses devoirs royaux la priorité sur sa carrière, malgré le fait qu’elle n’avait tourné que dans onze films en vingt-six ans.

Née à  Philadelphie sous le nom de Grace Patricia Kelly en novembre 1929, elle fut élevée dans une riche famille catholique d’origine irlandaise et allemande. Très tôt Grace fit preuve d’intérêt pour la mode et le théâtre, et elle commença à servir de mannequin pour des créations dernier cri pendant des évènements sociaux, accompagnée par sa mère et sa sœur, et en 1942 elle joua le personnage principal de la pièce Don’t Feed the Animals (Veuillez ne pas nourrir les animaux).

Malgré le mépris que son père portait au métier d’actrice, Kelly s’inscrit à l’American Academy of Dramatic Arts à New York, dont elle sortit diplômée à l’âge de dix-neuf ans.

 Les petits succès de Kelly à la télévision lui permirent finalement d’obtenir un rôle dans le film 14 Heures en 1951, pendant qu’elle subvenait à ses besoins à l’aide de petits boulots de mannequinat. Cependant elle ne fut pas remarquée par les critiques avant son rôle dans les films Le Train Sifflera Trois Fois et Mogambo, qui lui valut un Golden Globe de la meilleure actrice dans un rôle secondaire et une nomination aux Oscars. Ce fut également sa performance dans Mogambo (en remplacement de Gene Tierney) qui lui décrocha un contrat de sept ans avec MGM.

Aujourd’hui l’influence de Kelly sur la mode est plus perceptible que jamais, en particulier sur les défilés où des pièces typiques de sa garde-robe apparaissent régulièrement; c’est sans surprise que l’on constate sa présence au sein de la liste des femmes les mieux habillées au monde de 1960. Cependant ce fut grâce aux costumiers, qui lui construisirent une image de femme élégante et sophistiquée, que Kelly parvint à embrasser cette féminité. Moss Mabry, Edith Head et Oleg Cassini ne sont que quelques exemples des costumiers à qui l’on doit la Grace Kelly que nous connaissons et dont les créations furent portées par l’actrice dans de nombreux films. L’une des images les plus célèbre de Kelly la voit apparaître assise sur des marches d’escalier, vêtue d’une jupe en voile blanche et d’un haut noir à décolleté plongeant lui découvrant les épaules. Cette image est attribuée à Edith Head, qui fut l’auteur des costumes de Kelly dans le film Fenêtre sur Cour en 1954.

Lorsque l’on parle de Grace Kelly, l’actrice et l’icône de mode, il est impossible de ne pas mentionner son ascension vers la royauté et ainsi Grace Kelly, la princesse. En 1955 elle rencontra le Prince Rainer III de Monaco, et entama une correspondance privée avec lui, qui déboucha sur une demande en mariage en janvier 1956. Elle accepta, et plus tard dans la même année devint Son Altesse Sérénissime la Princesse de Monaco. Malheureusement en 1982 une tragédie frappa et la princesse fut victime d’une attaque alors qu’elle conduisait avec sa fille Stéphanie en direction de Monaco, elle fut transportée à l’hôpital après que sa voiture ait atterri dans un ravin. Grace mourut le lendemain et fut enterrée dans le caveau familial des Grimaldi.

Grace Kelly laissa derrière elle un héritage riche d’inspiration. L’influence de la star hollywoodienne rayonne encore aujourd’hui à travers ses onze films, tandis que la Princess Grace Foundation, créée en son honneur, poursuit l’œuvre qu’elle avait encouragé en soutenant les acteurs et les danseurs d’Amérique.

Sabina Rouse

Ecrit par Sabina Rouse

Sabina Rouse, current English Literature student at the University of Reading in her second year. She enjoys writing for the Fashion and Beauty sections of the University Newspaper Spark* in addition to contributing to the online magazine Lust and Found. Sabina writes for the Biographies section of Catwalk Yourself.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Grace Kelly

Copyright © AFP / Bud Fraker / Kobal / The Picture Desk – Grace Kelly

Grace Kelly was every girl’s fantasy: the enchanting Hollywood actress who lived the American Dream before becoming a princess and charming the world. Her feminine style and alluring look lives on today, as does her enduring status as a film icon. Her role as Princess Grace of Monaco played a great part in the shaping of the country, as she put her royal duties ahead of her career, regardless of the fact that she had only made eleven films in twenty-six years.

Born Grace Patricia Kelly in Philadelphia, November 1929, Kelly was raised in a wealthy Catholic family of Irish and German descent. It was very early on life that Grace showed an interest in fashion and theatre, modelling the latest designs at social events accompanied by her mother and sister and in 1942 she held the lead role in the play ‘Don’t Feed The Animals.’

Despite her father’s low regard for acting, Kelly enrolled in the American Academy of Dramatic Arts in New York and at the age of nineteen she graduated.

Kelly’s small successes on television eventually lead to her landing her first film role in the 1951 film ‘Fourteen Hours’, whilst supporting herself through an array of modelling jobs. However, critics did not notice her until her she starred in the films ‘High Noon’ and ‘Mogambo’, the latter of which earned her a Golden Globe Award for Best Supporting Actress and a nomination for an Oscar. It was her performance in ‘Mogambo’ (in the place of Gene Tierney) that gained her a seven year contract with MGM.

Today Kelly’s influence on fashion lives on more than ever, with typical staples of her wardrobe making reoccurring appearances on the runway; it’s no surprise that Kelly made the International Best Dressed List in 1960.  However, it was due to film costume designers, creating an image of a ladylike and elegant beauty, which shaped Kelly’s image that she was able to attain and embrace a sophisticated femininity. Moss Mabry, Edith Head and Oleg Cassini are just a few of the stylists that are attributed with the construction of Grace Kelly’s look and who’s creations appeared in many films upon the actress. One of the most famous images of Kelly is of her sitting on steps, in a large white netting skirt, and a black off shoulder top, depicting a seductive deep ‘v’ neck line. This image is credited to Edith Head for designing Kelly’s outfit for the film ‘Rear Window’ in 1954.

When talking about Grace Kelly the actress and fashion icon, it is impossible to not mention her transition into royalty and therefore Grace Kelly, the princess. In 1955 she met Prince Rainier III of Monaco, and begun a private correspondence with him, which evolved when he proposed to her in January 1956. She accepted, and later that year became Her Serene Highness The Princess of Monaco. However in 1982 tragedy struck and the princess suffered a stroke whilst driving herself and her daughter Stephanie to Monaco and ended up in hospital after the car went down a mountainside. Grace died the next day and was buried in the Grimaldi family vault.

Grace Kelly left an inspiring legacy behind her. Grace Kelly the Hollywood star still holds influence today through her eleven films, whilst the Princess Grace Foundation was set up in her honour to continue the work that she had previously encouraged; helping the acting and dancing community in America.

Sabina Rouse

Written by Sabina Rouse

Sabina Rouse, current English Literature student at the University of Reading in her second year. She enjoys writing for the Fashion and Beauty sections of the University Newspaper Spark* in addition to contributing to the online magazine Lust and Found. Sabina writes for the Biographies section of Catwalk Yourself.


One thought on “Grace Kelly

  1. Just desire to say your article is as amazing. The clarity on your post is just excellent and that i could think you’re a professional in this subject. Well together with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with imminent post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>