Gloria Swanson

Copyright © AFP / United Artists / The Kobal Collection – Gloria Swanson

Gloria Swanson naquit le 27 mars 1899 à Chicago, Illinois. L’actrice débuta sa carrière en tant que figurante dans les film muet The Song of Soul (1914). Elle signa un contrat avec Paramount en 1919, et accéda à la célébrité avec des rôles principaux dans Après la pluie, le beau temps (1919); L’admirable Crichton (1919), Something to Think About (1920) et Le cœur nous trompe (1921).

Le public adorait les films de Swanson réalisés par Cecil B. DeMille, non seulement pour ses performances, mais aussi pour les vêtements. Les films de DeMille étaient un régal visuel, offrant au spectateur une échappée vers des décors somptueux et des robes haute couture ornées de bijoux, brodées de perles, de sequins et de plumes. Malgré la sophistication des vêtements, le public adoptait les styles.

Les costumes, les coiffures et les accessoires de Swanson lançaient des tendances et l’audience féminine aspirait à recréer son allure. L’actrice aida à populariser les ourlets apparents et lança la mode des talons décorés perles et de pierreries fantaisie.

Durant la brève apparition de Coco Chanel à Hollywood, la légendaire couturière habilla Swanson pour le film Cette Nuit Ou Jamais (1931). On attribue à l’actrice d’avoir lancé la mode des gemmes de couleurs en joaillerie en ayant porté un collier d’or incrusté d’améthystes et d’émeraudes dans Le Cœur nous trompe. En 1923 unmagazine plaisanta : “Chaque fois que Gloria Swanson apparaît dans un film, le marché de la flanelle chute”

Ce commentaire fait référence à l’influence de l’actrice sur les ventes d’habits du soir : les panoplies modestes firent place aux confections de mousseline de soie élaborées; un exemple parmi tant d’autres où Swanson inspira le public, contribuant à la mode et influençant le marché.

Bien que son style vestimentaire soit à la racine de sa popularité, l’actrice essaya de se défaire de son image de dévoreuse de mode, craignant que ses costumes glamour ne lui fassent de l’ombre, déclarant : “J’ai conscience que les vêtements font ce que je suis, et je redoute, à la fois, de devenir une actrice-mannequin”. Elle souhaitait avoir plus d’indépendance vis-à-vis de sa carrière et de ses choix de rôle, rêvant d’un personnage à facettes multiples pour mettre en valeur ses talents, une décision qui fut couronnée d’un succès inconstant.

La conversion de Gloria Swanson au cinéma parlant fut hésitante, avec seulement deux performances acclamées dans The Trespasser (1929) et en tant que son personnage le plus notoire : Norma Desmond, une étoile du cinéma muet, dans Boulevard du Crépuscule (1950), plus de vingt ans plus tard. Le rôle valut à Swanson un Golden Globe de la meilleure actrice et sa troisième Nomination aux Academy Awards.

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Ecrit par Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Gloria Swanson

Copyright © AFP / United Artists / The Kobal Collection – Gloria Swanson

Gloria Swanson was born on March 27th 1899 in Chicago, Illinois. The actress got her start working as an extra, debuting in the silent picture The Song of Soul (1914). She signed to a film contract with Paramount in 1919, and shot to stardom with lead roles in Don’t Change Your Husband (1919), Male and Female (1919), Something to Think About (1920) and The Affairs of Anatol (1921).

Audiences loved Swanson’s pictures directed by Cecil B. DeMille, not only for her performances, but also for the fashion. DeMille films were a visual fete, allowing the viewer to escape into a world of lavish set designs and haute couture gowns adorned with jewels, beading, sequins and feathers. Though the clothing was elaborate, the public embraced the styles.

Swanson’s costumes, hairstyles and accessories set trends and female audiences aspired to recreate her looks.

The actress helped popularize rising hemlines and brought heels decorated with imitation pearls and stones into fashion.

During Coco Chanel’s brief stint in Hollywood, the famous couturier dressed Swanson for the film Tonight or Never (1931) She is credited with starting a trend for coloured gems in jewelry, after wearing an amethyst, emerald and gold necklace in The Affairs of Anatol. A 1923 fanzine commented, “Every time Gloria Swanson appears in a new picture, the market price of flannelette drops 10 points.”

This referred to the actresses influence on nightwear sales, as modest attire was replaced with fanciful chiffon confections. This was yet another of Swanson’s acts of inspiring audiences, contributing to fashion and effecting the consumer market

Though her style and fashion-filled movies gave her popularity with audiences, the actress tried to separate herself from her clotheshorse image, worrying that the glamorous costumes overshadowed the parts, stating, “I realize the clothes make me what I am, and I dread, at the same time, of becoming a mannequin sort of actress.” She wished to have more independence with her career and role selection, craving layered character parts that would showcase her talents, a decision that led to varying success.

Gloria Swanson’s jump to the talkies was a shaky one, with only two smash hit performances in The Trespasser (1929) and her most notable role as Norma Desmond, a silent film star, in Sunset Boulevard (1950), made over twenty years later. The role earned Swanson a Golden Globe for Best Actress and her third Academy Award Nomination.

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Written by Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>