Farrah Fawcett

Fashion Model Biography Farrah Fawcett

Copyright © AFP / Spelling-Goldberg / The Kobal Collection

Farrah Fawcett, est née en 1947 au Texas. Elle était un mannequin et une actrice mythique. Célèbre pour sa crinière et ses cheveux blonds dorés. Sa coupe de cheveux fait partie intégrante de la culture populaire à tel point qu’il a été baptisé «Le Farrah ». Il continue à être copié partout dans le monde.

Au lycée Farrah a été élu la plus belle par ses camarades de classe. Lorsqu’elle elle étudie à l’Université du Texas à Austin, une photo d’elle est également apparue dans la liste des dix plus beaux étudiants de l’établissement. Cette photo a été vue par un publiciste à Hollywood qui la persuade alors de déménager à Los Angeles.

En 1976, Farrah atteint le statut d’icône après la publication d’une photo d’elle vêtue d’un maillot de bain rouge. Cette photo reste la plus iconique de toute sa carrière, se vendant à plus de 12 millions d’exemplaires. Il se dit que Farrah aurait elle même réalisé sa coiffure et son maquillage et qu’elle aurait choisi l’image finale.

Plus tard dans l’année 1976, Farrah décroche le rôle de Jill Monroe dans ce qui allait devenir la série la plus culte de tous les temps, « Les Drôles de Dames ». L’immense succès de la série a augmenté la vente des photos Farrah, il en résulte que cette dernière gagne plus de profits provenant des ses photos que de la série en elle-même. Après seulement une saison, Farrah décide de quitter la série. Il y a de nombreuses théories pour justifier cet acte, l’une étant la pression exercée sur son mariage avec l’acteur Lee Majors et l’autre étant pour poursuivre de nouveaux projets.

Farrah: « Quand la série était numéro trois, je pensais que cela était du à notre jeu d’acteur. Lorsque nous sommes devenu numéro un, j’en ai déduis que cela ne pouvait être que parce qu’aucune de nous portait de soutien-gorge ».

Au cours de sa carrière d’actrice, Farrah a été nominé pour 3 Emmy Awards et 5 Golden Globes. Bien qu’elle soit surtout connue pour son jeu d’actrice, Farrah a également été un mannequin à succès. Elle a notamment posé à moitié nue pour Playboy en 1995, puis à nouveau en 1997, alors âgée de 50 créant ainsi la polémique. Cette édition devient un best-seller. En raison de son grand succès et de son statut d’icône, Farrah a son étoile sur le fameux « Walk of Fame » à Hollywood.

C’est sa beauté distincte qui poussera l’artiste Andy Warhol à peindre son portrait.

Farrah a été mariée avec l’acteur Lee Majors en 1972, mais le couple divorce en 1979. Elle a ensuite eu une liaison avec l’acteur Ryan O’Neal, bien qu’elle est ne fut jamais mariée à ce dernier.

En 2006, Farrah est diagnostiqué avec le cancer. Elle entame alors une longue bataille contre la maladie, mais décède tragiquement en 2009. Un enterrement privé a eu lieu à Los Angeles. Après sa mort, une fondation homonyme a été crée. Celle-ci soutient la recherche contre le cancer. Une édition limitée de Barbie à son effigie a aussi été lancée en 2011, celle-ci s’est vendue rapidement, et l’entièreté des recettes a été versée à sa Fondation.

Roanna Price

Ecrit par Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Farrah Fawcett

Fashion Model Biography Farrah Fawcett

Copyright © AFP / Spelling-Goldberg / The Kobal Collection

Farrah Fawcett , born 1947 in Texas, was a well known model and actress, famous for her trademark mane of golden blonde hair. In fact her haircut was so popular it went on to be copied around the world, with women requesting ‘The Farrah’.

At high school Farrah was voted most beautiful by her classmates, a photo of her also appeared in the Ten Most Beautiful Coeds while she studied at the University of Texas, Austin. This photo was seen by a publicist in Hollywood who persuaded then Farrah to move to LA.

Farrah reached iconic status in 1976 through the release of a  poster of her in a red swimsuit. This poster remains one of the most successful ever produced, selling over 12 million copies. Farrah reportedly styled her own hair and make up for the shoot, and even chose the final image.

Later in 1976 Farrah landed the role of Jill Monroe in what was to be one of the most successful TV shows of all time, Charlie’s Angels. The vast success of the show boosted sales of Farrah’s poster meaning she earnt more in royalties from the poster than from the show itself. After just one season Farrah left the show, there are many theories as to why she left, one being the strain on her marriage (to actor Lee Majors) or another possibility was that she left in order to further her career in other areas.

Farrah: “When the show was number three, I thought it was our acting. When we got to be number one, I decided it could only be because none of us wears a bra”

Throughout her acting career Farrah was nominated for 3 Emmys and 5 Golden Globes and though she is better known for her acting work, she also achieved great success in the modeling career, famously appearing semi nude for Playboy in 1995, and then again, to much controversy, aged 50 in 1997, the issue became an instant best seller. Due to her great success and iconic status Farrah has a star on the world famous Hollywood walk of fame. Farrah’s beauty also led the artist Andy Warhol also created silkscreen images of her.

Farrah was married to actor Lee Majors in 1972 but later separated in 1979. She then dated actor Ryan O’Neal, though there were rumours in the press the two never got married.

Farrah was diagnosed with cancer in 2006, she suffered a long and well documented battle with the disease, but she tragically passed away in 2009. A private funeral was held in LA. A foundation now exists in her name, which supports Cancer research, a limited edition Barbie was released in 2011, which quickly sold out, all proceeds went to the Farrah Fawcett Foundation.

Roanna Price

Written by Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>