Elvis Presley

Copyrights & credits: AFP / Collection Roger-Viollet – Elvis Presley

“Король рок-н-ролла”, Элвис Пресли является самым известным артистом,  оказавшим влияние на музыкальную индустрию. А роли в фильмах сделали его самой запоминающейся иконой поп-культуры и наиболее известным секс-символов. Кроме того его вклада в рок-н-ролл, Пресли также оставил свой след в модной инидустрии. Никто никогла до этого, не носил такие костюмы, в которых он выступал.

Элвис Аарон Пресли родился в 1935 году в штате Миссисипи. Он был единственным ребёнком в семье, и рос, слушая музыку периода кантри. Музыка церквей особенно повлияла на него. Она была тем элементом его голоса, который привёл его к будущим звукозаписывающим компаниям. Сразу после окончания средней школы, Элвис подписал контракт с известным лейблом звукозаписи Sun в Мемфисе, и в 1956 году, он уже был международной суперзвездой. С новым звучанием, который мир никогда ранее не слышал, Пресли сломал все строго рассовые и социальные барьеры. В результате, началась новая эра американской поп культуры, которая навсегда изменила мир музыки . Однако, несмотря на растущий статус знаменитости, в 1958 году Пресли ушёл служить в армию США, готовый служить своей стране и участвовать в войне. Он был уволен в 1960 году.

В то время, как он совершал революцию в музыкальной индустрии, его наряды также прославили его. На протяжении всей своей успешной карьеры пятидесятых, шестидесятых и семидесятых годов, музыка оказывала влияние на его стиль, а его стиль оказывал сильное влияние на музыку. Всегда модно одетый, Элвис стал символом рок-н-ролла. Одной из его самых узнаваемых черт стали его волосы: хладнокровно зачёсанные назад по бокам и небольшые волны в верхней части головы. Его считали богом рок-н-ролла и сексуальности. Вне сцены, Пресли носил рубашки, узкие брюки и кожаные куртки, и всё также оставался очаровательным. Когда Пресли впервые попал в центр внимания в 1954 году, он восхищался одеждой магазина Lanksy в Мемфисе, и обещал, что, когда он разбогатеет, то выкупит этот магазин. Несмотря на то, что это не произошло, Lanksy стало местом, где Пресли закупался одеждой в течение многих лет, после чего, Lanksy также стали знаменитым брендом.

В те годы, когда Элвис выступал на сцене, он любил вводить новые модные тенденции. В 1968 году, одетый в чёрный кожаный костюм, Элвис возратился на сцену в качестве звезды рок-н-ролла, а именно личности, которую он создал для себя. Это, однако, было только началом. В 1970 году Элвис выступал в наряде, который, вероятно, стал его самым известным на сегодняшний день. Комбинезон Elvis Aloha вызвал сенсацию в мире моды и в музыкальной индустрии, его называли богом. Узкий белый комбинезон с высоким угловатым воротником и глубоким V декольте на груди. Костюм был украшена патриотическими красными, синими и золотыми драгоценными камнями, а также многочисленными американскими орлами.

На протяжении всей своей жизни, Элвис появился в более чем тридцати успешных фильмах, и заработал себе огромное количество музыкальных наград, включая три Grammy и мульти-платиновые награды. Элвис Пресли сыграл значительную роль в поп-культуре двадцатого века, и был признан на международном уровне. Элвис умер в 1977 году в своем доме в Грейслэнд.

Sabina Rouse

Автор Sabina Rouse

Sabina Rouse, current English Literature student at the University of Reading in her second year. She enjoys writing for the Fashion and Beauty sections of the University Newspaper Spark* in addition to contributing to the online magazine Lust and Found. Sabina writes for the Biographies section of Catwalk Yourself.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Elvis Presley

Copyrights & credits: AFP / Collection Roger-Viollet – Elvis Presley

Hailed as ‘The King of Rock and Roll’, Elvis Presley is best known for his impact on the music industry and his roles in films, making him one of the biggest pop culture icons  and most notable male sex symbols ever. In addition to contributing to the massive breakthrough in the rock n’ roll revolution, Presley also made his mark by the outfits he wore when he performed, with a never-seen-before originality that captured the nation.

Born Elvis Aaron Presley in 1935 to two parents in Mississippi, he was an only child, and grew up listening to country music of the period. Church gospel music especially influenced him and it was this element in his voice that attracted him to future record labels. Straight after graduating from High School, Elvis was signed with the renowned record label Sun Records, in Memphis and by 1956 he was an international superstar. With a new sound that the world had never heard before, Presley broke and blurred the strict racial and social barriers, integrated music from all influences, and the result was a new era of US pop culture, which indefinitely changed the way the world viewed music. However despite his every-growing celebrity status, in 1958 Presley served the US Army as a private, willing to serve his country and play his part in the war. He was discharged in 1960 with the rank of a sergeant.

Whilst revolutionising the music industry, the outfits Presley wore became famous in themselves. Throughout his success in the fifties, sixties and seventies, music had its influence on his style, and his style held a strong influence on music. Always appearing fashionably dressed, Elvis had a specific rock n’ roll image to retain. One of his most recognisable features was his hair. Coolly slicked back at the sides and in a slight wave at the top of his head (and later on with a distinctive curl), his hair was what identified him as a rock n’ roll and sex god. Whilst not performing, Presley would wear shirts, tight trousers and a leather jacket, a casual yet still charming look. When Presley first gained the spotlight in 1954, he admired the clothes at Lanksy’s cloth shop in Memphis, promising that when he was rich he would buy them out. Even though that never happened, Lanksy’s became his go to place for clothes for years after; also gaining Lanksy’s a credible name.

Over the years, when Elvis performed, he liked to make a fashion statement. Follwing his return into the music industry from the Army, Elvis was looking to make a huge comeback, which he unquestionably did. In 1968, clad in a black leather tight outfit, Elvis made his comeback, perfectly adhering to the rock n’ roll persona which he had created for himself. This however was only the start of his outrageous dressing. In 1970, Elvis performed in what is probably recognised as his most famous outfit to date. The Elvis Aloha Jumpsuit caused a sensation in the fashion and music industries, and marked him as a sex god. The tight white jumpsuit features a high angular collar, which fell in a straight V down his chest. The outfit was adorned in patriotic red blue and gold gems, sporting numerous American Eagles.

Throughout his lifetime Elvis appeared in over thirty successful films, and earned himself a huge array of musical awards, including three Grammy’s and Multi-platinum awards. Elvis Presley played a significant part in changing the face of twentieth century pop culture and is recognised internationally for it. Elvis died in 1977 at his home in Graceland.

Sabina Rouse

Written by Sabina Rouse

Sabina Rouse, current English Literature student at the University of Reading in her second year. She enjoys writing for the Fashion and Beauty sections of the University Newspaper Spark* in addition to contributing to the online magazine Lust and Found. Sabina writes for the Biographies section of Catwalk Yourself.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>