Elie Saab

Место рождения: Ливан, 1964

Designer Biography  Elie Saab

Credits & copyrights: Courtesy of Elie Saab

Элли начала проявлять интерес к моде в юном возрасте, когда начала шить одежду для своей сестры. Талант самоучки рос с каждым годом, и уже подростком, она начала продавать сделанную ею одежду женщинам по соседству.

В 1982 году, восемнадцатилетняя Элли открыла модное ателье в Бейруте, куда наняла более десятка рабочих. В последующие месяцы, Сааб дебютировала со своей первой коллекцией, которая мгновенно стала успешной. Её репутация росла, привлекая светских дам даже за границами Бейрута.

В 1982 году, Сааб переехала в Париж, чтобы официально начать учёбу, однако, в следующем году, вернулась обратно в Бейрут, чтобы открыть свою мастерскую. К 1986 году, все больше и больше людей начали замечать её творения, а в 1990 году, она открыла большую мастерскую, где начала принимать заказы из Парижа и Швейцарии.

В 1997 году, Сааб стала членом итальянской компании Camera Nazionale della Moda, где являлась первым не итальянским дизайнером. Каждый год, она создавала четыре коллекции от кутюр и линию одежды ready-to-wear. Шесть лет спустя, она стала корреспондентом.

В 2002 году, Сааб одевала Холли Берри, в результате чего, была первым ливанским дизайнером, который одевал звезду для премии Оскар, что в одночасье принесло ей успех. В 2002 и 2003 году, Берри тоже была одета в одежду от Элли Сааб. В 2005 году, в Бейруте было построено пяти-этажное здание, где начала располагаться её большая мастерская.

Имея бутики по всему миру, включая Бейрут, Париж и Лондон, Сааб одевает светских личностей, знаменитостей и членов королевской семьи. Одежда с чувством утончённости, которая придаёт женственность и источает очарование сказки. Использование ручной вышивки, роскошных тканей и изысканных деталей является синонимами стиля Элли Сааб.

Saxony Dudbridge

Автор Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Elie Saab

Elie Saab biograhpy

Born: Lebanon, 1964

Designer Biography  Elie Saab

Credits & copyrights: Courtesy of Elie Saab

Elie Saab’s interest in fashion started at a young age, when he started making clothes for his sisters. Self-taught, Saab’s talents grew and the talented adolescent started selling his designs to women in his neighbourhood.

In 1982, the eighteen year old Saab opened his couture atelier in Beirut, employing over a dozen workers. In the following months, Saab debuted his first collection, which was instantly successful. His reputation grew, attracting high society women out of Beirut’s borders.

Saab moved to Paris in 1981 to formally study fashion, however her returned to Beirut the following year to open a workshop. By 1986 everyone notable were after his creations, and by 1990, Saab opened a bigger atelier to start taking orders from Paris and Switzerland.

In 1997 Saab became a member of the Italian Camera Nazionale della Moda, making him the first non-Italian designer to become a member. The same year he showed his collection for the first time out of Lebanon, in Rome.

In 2000, Saab was invited to show in Paris by the Chambre Syndicale De Le Haute Couture. Saab started presenting four collections a year for haute couture and ready to wear. Six years later, he became a corresponding member.

Saab dressed Halle Berry in 2002. Becoming the first Lebanese designer to dress an Oscar winner, he became an overnight success. Berry followed on to wear another Saab creation for the 2002 Academy Awards and again for the 2003 Oscars.

In 2005, a five story building was built where his workshops where located in Beirut.

With boutiques worldwide including Beirut, Paris and London, Saab has dressed socialites, celebrities and royals. Clothes that magnify femininity, Elie Saab’s garments exude fairy tale glamour with a sense of sophistication. The use of hand embroidery, luxurious fabrics and exquisite detail are synonymous to an Elie Saab garment.

Elie Saab biograhpy

 

Saxony Dudbridge

Written by Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>