Doris Day

Copyrights & credits: AFP / Universal / The Kobal Collection – Doris Day

Дорис Дэй является типичной “девушка по соседству” с заманчивой улыбкой и соответствующей личностью. Дэй является известной за её чрезвычайно успешную карьеру певицы и её влияние на музыкальную индустрию, а также она талантливая актриса своего времени. Дэй родилась под именем Дорис Мэри Энн Капельхоф в 1924 году, в штате Огайо, по фамилии которой понятно, что она немецкого происхождения. Как и многие другие звезды, она хотела стать танцовщицей, пока не повредила ноги в автомобильной аварии, после чего она не могла построить танцевальную карьеру.

Дэй начала петь, и вскоре, начала посещать уроки пения с Грейс Рейн, которая увидела в ней потенциал. Во время одного из её уроков, она получила свою первую работу на радио и в ресторане, где, в итоге, её заметила Барни Рапп, которая пригласила её на прослушивание в качестве вокалистки. Она получила эту роль, и её первой песней, которую она исполнила, была Day after Day. Используя название песни, она изменила свою фамилию в 1939 году. Вскоре, в 1945 году, вышел её хит Sentimental Journey, который стал широко известен у войсков США во Второй мировой войне.

После длительных гастролей по Америке, её популярность певицы привела её в актерскую карьеру. Однако, её драматическая карьере не была столь успешна, как она надеялась, и она вернулась к своим музыкальным корням, и в 1959 году она стала звездой благодаря фильму Pillow Talk, за которую она была номинирована на премию Американской киноакадемии в качестве лучшей актрисы.

Дэй несомненно обладала женским обаянием и улыбкой, которая освещала не только её лицо, но и её глаза. Не такая гламурная и откровенно сексуальная, как другие актрисы того времени, Дэй позволяла относиться к себе гораздо проще, чем другие музыкальные звёзд. Её чувство стиля было уникальным, которое действительно представляло её характер. В то время, как её короткий светлый боб стал воплощением «хорошей девочки», она всегда одевалась в одежду, которая считалась чрезвычайно шикарной, и позволяла проявлять свою личность. В фильмах было тоже самое, она всегда была одета в соответствии с её фигурой, и всегда выглядела модно, и в очень классическом стиле. Чёрные миди платья в паре с юбкой и пиджаком кремового цвета были почти всегда в пастельных тонах. Все наряды в её фильмах (особенно в Pillow Talk) были в сочетании с различными типами шляп, но чаще всего появлялась шляпа Cloche, которая была оснащена лентой или цветком.

Дорис Дэй была высокопоставленный женщиной, звездой и актрисой тех времён, которая снялась в тридцати девяти фильмах. Она также оставила значительное музыкальное наследие в виде двадцати девяти альбомов и получила Legend Award от общества певцов. В дополнение к её фильмам и музыке, она также была заядлым правозащитником и основателем Doris Day Animal League и Spay Day USA.

Sabina Rouse

Автор Sabina Rouse

Sabina Rouse, current English Literature student at the University of Reading in her second year. She enjoys writing for the Fashion and Beauty sections of the University Newspaper Spark* in addition to contributing to the online magazine Lust and Found. Sabina writes for the Biographies section of Catwalk Yourself.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Doris Day

Copyrights & credits: AFP / Universal / The Kobal Collection – Doris Day

Doris Day, the typical ‘girl next door’ with an alluring smile and personality to match. Day is best known for her extremely successful singing career and her impact in the music industry, and secondly as a hugely talented actress, the biggest of her time. Day was born Doris Mary Ann Kappelhoff in 1924, in Ohio, and was of German descent. Like many other stars, she initially wanted to become a dancer, until a car accident damaged her legs, leaving her unable to pursue a dancing career.

Day started singing, and was particularly influenced by Ella Fitzgerald, and was soon enrolled in singing lessons with Grace Raine, who recognised her potential.  It was during her lessons that she landed her first job at a radio program and in a restaurant, where she was spotted by Barney Rapp and told to audition for a girl vocalist. She got it, and her first song she sung was ‘Day after Day’, using the title as inspiration for her name change in 1939. Soon after in 1945, Day received her first hit ‘Sentimental Journey’ which became widely known with the US troops in World War II.

After extensively touring around America, her popularity as a singer led her into an acting career. However, her dramatic film career was not as successful as she had hoped, and she turned back to her musical roots in films and in 1959 she became a star through the film ‘Pillow Talk’, for which she was nominated an Academy Award for Best Actress.

Day undeniably possessed a feminine charm, a smile that lit her not just her face, but her eyes too, and a real measure of talent. Whilst arguably not as glamorous and overtly sexual as other actresses of her time, Day allowed her audience to relate to her much more easily that to other film and music stars. Her sense of style was unique, and did truly represent her character. Whilst her short blonde bob is credited to her ‘good girl’ image, she always dressed herself in garments that, whilst being extremely chic, allowed her personality to come through. In films it was a similar case, she dressed to suit her figure, and always appeared smart, on fashion and very classic. Midi dresses in black or navy were paired with a cream coloured jacket, and skirt suits were nearly always in a pastel colour. All of day’s outfits in films (especially in ‘Pillow Talk’) were credited with different types of hats, yet most commonly Cloche hats, often accessorised with a ribbon or flower.

Doris Day became the top ranking female box office star of all time after appearing in thirty nine films. She also left a significant musical legacy of releasing twenty nine albums, and received a Legend Award from the Society of Singers. In addition to her film and musical status’s, she was also an avid animal rights activist, founding the Doris Day Animal League and Spay Day USA.

Sabina Rouse

Written by Sabina Rouse

Sabina Rouse, current English Literature student at the University of Reading in her second year. She enjoys writing for the Fashion and Beauty sections of the University Newspaper Spark* in addition to contributing to the online magazine Lust and Found. Sabina writes for the Biographies section of Catwalk Yourself.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>