Doris Day

Copyrights & credits: AFP / Universal / The Kobal Collection – Doris Day

Doris Day est le stéréotype de la “Girl next door” avec son sourire engageant et sa personnalité à l’avenant. Elle est d’abord surtout connue pour sa carrière de chanteuse à succès et son impact sur l’industrie musicale, et en second lieu pour son talent d’actrice, car elle a été la plus grande actrice de son temps. De son nom de naissance Doris Mary Ann Kappelhoff, elle est née en 1924 dans l’Ohio et était d’origine allemande. Comme beaucoup de stars, elle voulut initialement devenir danseuse, avant que blessée aux jambes dans un accident de voiture elle ne soit dans l’impossibilité de poursuivre ce rêve.

Doris Day débuta dans la chanson, et fut particulièrement influencée par Ella Fitzgerald. Inscrite aux cours de chant de Grace Raine, celle-ci reconnut son potentiel. Ce fut pendant ses cours qu’elle obtint son premier emploi dans un programme radiophonique et dans un restaurant, ou elle fut repérée par Barney Rapp qui lui demanda d’auditionner pour un rôle de choriste. Elle l’obtint, et la première chanson qu’elle chanta fut “Day after Day”, qui lui inspira le pseudonyme qu’elle adopta en 1939. Peu après, en 1945, elle enregistra son premier hit avec “Sentimental Journey”, un titre très populaire auprès des troupes américaines pendant la deuxième guerre mondiale.

Ayant fait de nombreuses tournées en Amérique, sa popularité en tant que chanteuse la mena vers une carrière d’actrice. Cependant, sa carrière d’actrice dramatique n’eut pas tout le succès qu’elle espérait, et elle se tourna à nouveau vers ses racines musicales au travers de ses films, et en 1959, elle devint une vedette grâce au film “Confidences sur l’oreiller” pour lequel elle fut nominée aux Oscars en tant que meilleure actrice.

Doris Day possédait un charme féminin indéniable, un sourire qui illuminait non seulement son visage, mais ses yeux également, et une vraie part de talent. Bien qu’elle ne fut à l’évidence pas aussi glamour ou sexy que d’autres actrices de son temps, ses fans parvenaient à s’identifier à elle bien plus facilement qu’à d’autres stars du cinéma ou de la chanson. Elle avait un style qui lui était propre et qui représentait réellement sa personnalité. On associe son carré blond court à son image de femme “comme il faut”, et elle s’habillait toujours de vêtements très chic, mais cependant qui reflétaient bien sa personnalité. Dans ses films, c’est la même chose, elle s’habillait d’une façon qui mettait sa silhouette en valeur, et apparaissait toujours chic, à la mode et très classique. Les robes noires ou marine sous le genou, s’associaient à une veste de couleur crème et ses tailleurs jupes étaient presque toujours de couleurs pastel. Dans ses films, particulièrement dans “Confidences sur l’oreiller”, toutes ses tenues étaient parachevées de chapeaux, de toutes sortes, mais le plus souvent de chapeaux cloche, agrémentés de rubans ou de fleurs.

Avec 39 films à son actif, Doris Day est la première star du box office de tous les temps. Récompensée par un “Legend Award” décerné par la Society of Singers (association de chanteurs américaine), elle a laissé également un héritage musical considérable de vingt neuf albums. Au-delà de sa carrière dans le cinéma et la chanson, elle est également très impliquée dans la défense des droits des animaux fondant la Ligue Doris Day pour les Animaux, et instaurant la Journée de la stérilisation aux US.

Sabina Rouse

Ecrit par Sabina Rouse

Sabina Rouse, current English Literature student at the University of Reading in her second year. She enjoys writing for the Fashion and Beauty sections of the University Newspaper Spark* in addition to contributing to the online magazine Lust and Found. Sabina writes for the Biographies section of Catwalk Yourself.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Doris Day

Copyrights & credits: AFP / Universal / The Kobal Collection – Doris Day

Doris Day, the typical ‘girl next door’ with an alluring smile and personality to match. Day is best known for her extremely successful singing career and her impact in the music industry, and secondly as a hugely talented actress, the biggest of her time. Day was born Doris Mary Ann Kappelhoff in 1924, in Ohio, and was of German descent. Like many other stars, she initially wanted to become a dancer, until a car accident damaged her legs, leaving her unable to pursue a dancing career.

Day started singing, and was particularly influenced by Ella Fitzgerald, and was soon enrolled in singing lessons with Grace Raine, who recognised her potential.  It was during her lessons that she landed her first job at a radio program and in a restaurant, where she was spotted by Barney Rapp and told to audition for a girl vocalist. She got it, and her first song she sung was ‘Day after Day’, using the title as inspiration for her name change in 1939. Soon after in 1945, Day received her first hit ‘Sentimental Journey’ which became widely known with the US troops in World War II.

After extensively touring around America, her popularity as a singer led her into an acting career. However, her dramatic film career was not as successful as she had hoped, and she turned back to her musical roots in films and in 1959 she became a star through the film ‘Pillow Talk’, for which she was nominated an Academy Award for Best Actress.

Day undeniably possessed a feminine charm, a smile that lit her not just her face, but her eyes too, and a real measure of talent. Whilst arguably not as glamorous and overtly sexual as other actresses of her time, Day allowed her audience to relate to her much more easily that to other film and music stars. Her sense of style was unique, and did truly represent her character. Whilst her short blonde bob is credited to her ‘good girl’ image, she always dressed herself in garments that, whilst being extremely chic, allowed her personality to come through. In films it was a similar case, she dressed to suit her figure, and always appeared smart, on fashion and very classic. Midi dresses in black or navy were paired with a cream coloured jacket, and skirt suits were nearly always in a pastel colour. All of day’s outfits in films (especially in ‘Pillow Talk’) were credited with different types of hats, yet most commonly Cloche hats, often accessorised with a ribbon or flower.

Doris Day became the top ranking female box office star of all time after appearing in thirty nine films. She also left a significant musical legacy of releasing twenty nine albums, and received a Legend Award from the Society of Singers. In addition to her film and musical status’s, she was also an avid animal rights activist, founding the Doris Day Animal League and Spay Day USA.

Sabina Rouse

Written by Sabina Rouse

Sabina Rouse, current English Literature student at the University of Reading in her second year. She enjoys writing for the Fashion and Beauty sections of the University Newspaper Spark* in addition to contributing to the online magazine Lust and Found. Sabina writes for the Biographies section of Catwalk Yourself.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>