Cindy Crawford

Fashion Model Biography Cindy Crawford

Copyright © AFP / The Kobal Collection / Costa, Tony

Синди Кроуфорд является одной из наиболее знаменитых моделей всех времён, она была одной из первых, кто изменил модельный бизнес навсегда. Синди также славится живописной родинкой над её верхней губой, которая была удалена на более ранних фотографиях модели.

Родившаяся в 1966 году в штате Иллинойс, она была замечена газетным фотографом в возрасте 16 лет. Сделанное фото получило хорошие отзывы, и она решила попробовать себя в роли модели. Синди участвовала в модельном конкурсе Elite, после чего они подписали с ней контракт в Чикаго. Синди едва училась в Северо-Западном университете, прежде чем окончательно забросила учёбу и переехала на Манхэттен в 1986 году, а затем был подписан контракт с модельным агентством Elite в Нью-Йорке.

Дизайнер Майкл Корс сказал: “Она изменила тип ‘сексуальной американской девочки’ из классическо голубоглазой блондинки в знойную брюнетку с мозгами, обаянием и профессионализмом”.

На протяжении 80-х и 90-х годов, Синди была одной из самых успешных и выдающихся супермоделей всех времён, и постоянно присутствовала на обложках журналов, показах и в рекламных кампаниях. Она появлялась на обложках ведущих журналов моды, таких как Vogue, W, Harpers Bazaar, Elle и Cosmopolitan, и в общей сложности их количество составило более 400 появлений на обложках журналов. Синди участвовала во многих рекламных кампаниях домов высокой моды, включая Versace, Escada, Revlon, Maybelline и Omega.

В 1988 году, Синди позировала для журнала Playboy, её снимал известный фотограф Херб Ритц. В 1998 году Ритц снова фотографировал её для Playboy, он также познакомил Синди с Ричардом Гиром, за которого она в дальнейшем вышла замуж.

В 1987 году Синди появилась в начальных титрах фильма Майкла Джей Фокса The Secret of My Success, а затем, три года спустя появилась в клипе Freedom Джорджа Майкла. Синди также снялся в клипе Бон Джови Please come home for Christmas.

В 2000 году Синди публично ушла из модельного бизнеса, однако по-прежнему, время от времени появлялась на обложках журналов и на фотосъёмках, а также являлась лицом различных компаний, одна из них была линия косметики Meaningful Beauty, созданная в 2005 году. В том же году, Синди начала заниматься дизайном интерьеров Cindy Crawford Home Collection.

Синди была замужем за актёром Ричардом Гиром в 1991 году, но четыре года спустя они развелись. Также она была замужем за Ранде Гербером в 1998 году, с которым у них двое детей.

Так, шаг за шагом, уходя модельного бизнеса, Синди стала активно заниматься  благотворительной деятельностью. Когда ей было 10 лет, её младший брат Джефф, которого она считает ‘Четвёртым самым значительным человеком в её жизни’, умер от лейкемии. Синди была сосредоточена на сборе средств и повышение осведомленности о детской лейкемии. Она пожертвовала доходы от продажи календарей на медицинские исследования. В 2007 году она стала официальным сторонником благотворительного дома Роналда Макдоналда.

Roanna Price

Автор Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Cindy Crawford

Fashion Model Biography Cindy Crawford

Copyright © AFP / The Kobal Collection / Costa, Tony

Cindy Crawford is one of the most iconic models of all time, she was one of the original ‘supers’, who changed the face of fashion modelling forever and her career has gone from strength to strength. Cindy is also famous for a beauty spot above her lip, though removed in earlier modelling photos it has gone on to be her signature trademark.

Born in 1966 in Illinois she was discovered by a newspaper photographer aged 16, the photo he took received such positive feedback she was inspired to try her hand at modelling. Cindy entered the Elite Model Management’s Look of the Year contest a year later and was the runner up, the Elite modelling agency in Chicago then signed her. Cindy studied at Northwestern University briefly before dropping out in order to pursue a full-time modelling career, she moved to Manhattan in 1986 and was then signed with Elite New York modelling agency.

Designer Michael Kors on Cindy Crawford: “She changed the perception of the ‘sexy American girl’ from classic blue eyes blonde to a more sultry brunette with brains, charm and professionalism to spare.’

Throughout the 80s and 90s Cindy was one of the most successful, stand out supermodels of all time and was a near constant presence on magazine covers, on runways and in fashion campaigns. She has appeared on the cover of top fashion magazines such as Vogue, W, Harpers Bazaar, Elle and Cosmopolitan and in total has made over 400 appearances on magazine covers. Cindy also appeared in many high profile fashion campaigns during her career, including ones for Versace, Escada, Revlon, Maybelline and Omega.

In 1988 Cindy posed for Playboy magazine, she was shot by renowned photographer Herb Ritts. In 1998 Ritts photographed her again for playboy, it was also Ritts who introduced Cindy to Richard Gere who she went on to marry.

In 1987 Cindy appeared in the opening credits of the Michael J.Fox film ‘The Secret of My Success’ and then three years later she appeared in the video for George Michael’s Freedom. Cindy also starred in the video for Bon Jovi’s ‘Please come home for Christmas’.

In 2000 Cindy publically quit modelling, however she still appeared from time to time on magazine covers and in fashion shoots and also provided celebrity endorsement for a variety of products, one of these was a line of beauty products created in 2005 called ‘Meaningful Beauty’. In the same year Cindy also launched an interiors range called ‘Cindy Crawford Home Collection’.

Cindy was married to actor Richard Gere in 1991 but they later divorced four years later. She has been married to Rande Gerber since 1998, they have two children together.

Since stepping back form the modelling world Cindy has become heavily involved in charitable work. When she was 10 years old, her younger brother Jeff who she praises as “The fourth most influential person in my life” died of Leukaemia. Cindy has focused on raising funds for and awareness of childhood leukaemia; she has donated proceeds of her calendars to medical research. In 2007 she became an official supporter of the Ronald McDonald House Charities.

Roanna Price

Written by Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>