Cindy Crawford

Fashion Model Biography Cindy Crawford

Copyright © AFP / The Kobal Collection / Costa, Tony

indy Crawford est l’un des mannequins les plus iconique de tous les temps. Elle a changé à tout jamais la face du mannequinat et sa carrière est le modèle type de l’ascension professionnelle. Connue pour son célèbre point de beauté au dessus des lèvres, elle le fit enlever durant les premières années de sa carrière.

Née en 1966 dans l’Illinois, Cindy est découverte à l’âge de 16 ans par le photographe d’un journal local. C’est notamment grâce aux nombreux compliments qu’elle reçoit suite à sa photo publiée dans ce journal qu’elle décide de se lancer dans le mannequinat. Cindy gagne le concours Look de l’année d’ Elite Model Management et rejoins alors la fameuse agence basée à Chicago. En 1986, elle entame ses études à l’université de Northwestern, mais les abandonne pour poursuivre sa carrière de mannequin et emménage à New York.

Le couturier Michael Kors déclara : Elle a changé la perception de « la sexy American Girl », nous éloignant de la classique blonde aux yeux bleus vers une charmante brune, intelligente et un dotée d’un professionnalisme hors pair.

C’est durant les années 80 et 90, que la carrière de Cindy est à son apogée. En effet, celle-ci comptait parmi les plus grandes super modèles et apparaissait constamment dans la couverture de magazine, sur les podiums des défilés ainsi que dans les campagnes de publicité. Elle est apparue dans la couverture des plus grands magazines de mode, on peut y compter un total de plus de 400 apparences incluant Vogue, Harpers Bazaar, Elle et Cosmopolitan. Tout au long de sa carrière, Cindy a été l’égérie des plus grandes maisons tout comme Versace, Escada, Revlon, Maybelline and Omega.

Cindy pose deux fois pour le magazine Playboy, en 1988 et 1998. Elle est photographiée par le talentueux Herb Ritts, c’est notamment ce dernier qui la présenta à l’acteur Richard Gere qu’elle épouse en 1991. Le couple divorce quatre ans après et Cindy se remarie en 1998 avec Rande Gerber, le couple a deux enfants.

En 1987, Cindy figure dans le début du film de Michael J.Fox « The Secret of my Success ». Trois ans après celle-ci apparaît dans différents clips vidéos notamment dans « Freedom » de George et « Please Come Home » de Bon Jovi.

En 2000, Cindy se retire officiellement du mannequinat, bien qu’elle continue à apparaître de temps en temps dans la couverture de magazines, ainsi que dans les séances photos. Elle participe également dans la promotion de nombreux produits, notamment en 2005 lorsqu’elle représente une ligne de produits de beauté nommé « Meaningful Beauty ».

Depuis qu’elle a quitté le mannequinat, Cindy est très impliqué avec les œuvres caritatives. Elle se consacre spécialement à la cause des enfants atteints de leucémie. Cette maladie la touche particulièrement, du à la perte de son frère cadet tout juste âgé de 10 ans. Elle considère ce dernier comme étant la quatrième personne la plus inspirante de sa vie. Elle a notamment fait une donation des revenus de son calendrier à la recherche médicale. En 2007, elle devient une supportrice de la charité de Ronald McDonald.

Roanna Price

Ecrit par Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Cindy Crawford

Fashion Model Biography Cindy Crawford

Copyright © AFP / The Kobal Collection / Costa, Tony

Cindy Crawford is one of the most iconic models of all time, she was one of the original ‘supers’, who changed the face of fashion modelling forever and her career has gone from strength to strength. Cindy is also famous for a beauty spot above her lip, though removed in earlier modelling photos it has gone on to be her signature trademark.

Born in 1966 in Illinois she was discovered by a newspaper photographer aged 16, the photo he took received such positive feedback she was inspired to try her hand at modelling. Cindy entered the Elite Model Management’s Look of the Year contest a year later and was the runner up, the Elite modelling agency in Chicago then signed her. Cindy studied at Northwestern University briefly before dropping out in order to pursue a full-time modelling career, she moved to Manhattan in 1986 and was then signed with Elite New York modelling agency.

Designer Michael Kors on Cindy Crawford: “She changed the perception of the ‘sexy American girl’ from classic blue eyes blonde to a more sultry brunette with brains, charm and professionalism to spare.’

Throughout the 80s and 90s Cindy was one of the most successful, stand out supermodels of all time and was a near constant presence on magazine covers, on runways and in fashion campaigns. She has appeared on the cover of top fashion magazines such as Vogue, W, Harpers Bazaar, Elle and Cosmopolitan and in total has made over 400 appearances on magazine covers. Cindy also appeared in many high profile fashion campaigns during her career, including ones for Versace, Escada, Revlon, Maybelline and Omega.

In 1988 Cindy posed for Playboy magazine, she was shot by renowned photographer Herb Ritts. In 1998 Ritts photographed her again for playboy, it was also Ritts who introduced Cindy to Richard Gere who she went on to marry.

In 1987 Cindy appeared in the opening credits of the Michael J.Fox film ‘The Secret of My Success’ and then three years later she appeared in the video for George Michael’s Freedom. Cindy also starred in the video for Bon Jovi’s ‘Please come home for Christmas’.

In 2000 Cindy publically quit modelling, however she still appeared from time to time on magazine covers and in fashion shoots and also provided celebrity endorsement for a variety of products, one of these was a line of beauty products created in 2005 called ‘Meaningful Beauty’. In the same year Cindy also launched an interiors range called ‘Cindy Crawford Home Collection’.

Cindy was married to actor Richard Gere in 1991 but they later divorced four years later. She has been married to Rande Gerber since 1998, they have two children together.

Since stepping back form the modelling world Cindy has become heavily involved in charitable work. When she was 10 years old, her younger brother Jeff who she praises as “The fourth most influential person in my life” died of Leukaemia. Cindy has focused on raising funds for and awareness of childhood leukaemia; she has donated proceeds of her calendars to medical research. In 2007 she became an official supporter of the Ronald McDonald House Charities.

Roanna Price

Written by Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>