Chloe Sevigny

Copyrights & credits: AFP / Live Film & Mediaworks / The Kobal Collection – Chloe Sevigny

Née le 18 novembre 1974 à Springfield dans le Massachussets, Chloé a vécu les débuts de sa vie dans le paisible environnement familial de l’Amérique contemporaine, très loin des personnages qu’elle incarne au cinéma. Mais pour Chloé, c’était bien là le hic, elle passait ses jours à travailler, à fumer avec des amis et à confectionner ses propres vêtements ; en bref, la vie de l’adolescente telle qu’elle est décrite dans quasiment tous les feuilletons télévisés de la décennie. Pourtant, Chloé s’ennuyait ferme, et bientôt elle répondit à l’appel de la grande ville.

Son magnétisme fut son viatique quand à 18 ans elle quitta cette vie douillette pour se frotter aux pavés malpropres de Brooklyn. Elle fit sa première apparition dans le magazine Sassy qui rédigea un article sur elle et lui proposa un stage.

Les choses commencèrent timidement à marcher en sa faveur lorsqu’elle fut repérée par Harmony Korine qui plus tard en 1995 lui proposa un rôle dans le film devenu culte “Kids”. A partir de ce moment, Chloé commença à choisir ses rôles en fonction de ce qui lui plaisait, son style de jeu étant quasi inégalé dans la véracité et la sincérité des portraits de ses personnages et des situations qu’ils vivent. En 1999, son rôle dans “Boys Don’t Cry” lui valut une nomination aux Oscars.

Parallèlement à sa carrière cinématographique, Chloé devint une icone chérie de l’underground, et une figure charismatique de la mode grunge des années 90, adulée par les teenagers de New York et du monde entier. Le journaliste Jay McInerney la salua comme la nouvelle “it girl” dans un article-portrait de 7 pages sur elle dans le New Yorker, celui-ci fut déterminant par l’attention qu’il attira sur la nouvelle étoile montante.

Les commentaires de l’intéressée concernant son statut consistent à déclarer “Je ressemblais à une junkie parce que c’étaient les années 90 et que le grunge était de mise. Mais j’avais également l’impression d’être dans l’action, pas seulement d’être une figure mondaine”.

La “it-girl” s’empara de la mode grunge, faisant sien ce look alternatif relax et dénué de couleur. Elle s’amusa à mélanger des petits hauts imprimés ou volantés avec d’amples et solides salopettes en jean. Ce look reflétait la jeunesse post Nirvana de la classe moyenne américaine, et les designers commencèrent à émuler les choix stylistiques et les coupes qu’affectionnait Chloé.

Ayant faites maintes fois la une des magazines, elle devint la chouchou de marques à l’image proche de la sienne telles que Dazed and Confused, qui la plaça en couverture à la sortie du film Kids. Depuis Harper’s Bazaar jusqu’à i-D, un grand nombre de magazines ont proposé des portraits de Chloé, révélant une personnalité mystérieuse et séduisante qui fait qu’on s’interroge toujours.

Après sa nomination aux Oscars, Chloé fut admise dans la cour des grands et commença a collectionner un large spectre de rôles, tout en conservant son côté indépendant. En 2006, elle rejoignit Jean Tripplehorn et Ginnifer Goodwin dans la série Big Love de HBO qui met en scène une famille mormone polygame.

La mode que représente Chloé a évolué avec le temps et ses propres penchants fashion se sont étendus. Toujours vintage, on la voit désormais également en Lanvin et Versace, comme lors de la première de “Lawless” à New York. Cependant son look androgyne et un peu rétro qui lorgne vers les années 90 continue d’attirer l’attention.

She has modeled for the likes of Miu Miu, fronting their recent AW 2012 campaign; rocking a Bowie aesthetic in the deep 70s geometric prints produced by the house, to the likes of Chloe, modelling the release of their fragrance.

Putting her own fingers to the thread, the release of a successful clothing line with Opening Ceremony saw Chloe tick off another fashion venture, with  a continued line for the hip New York brand – a perfect match for the Queen of indie cool.

Elle a été mannequin pour Miu Miu figurant l’égérie de la dernière campagne/automne hiver 2012, ou bien interprétant une esthétique à la Bowie avec les imprimés géométriques très seventies propres à la maison et dans le goût de Chloé dans la publicité pour leur nouveau parfum.

Mettant elle-même la main à la pâte, Chloë créa sa propre ligne de vêtements, couronnant de succès une nouvelle aventure mode, on en attendait pas moi de la reine du cool indé.

Comme un caméléon, Chloé a conservé son charme et une certaine irrévérence par rapport à sa propre célébrité, fait rarissime dans une société obsédée par la célébrité. Marchant au rythme de son propre tambour, elle continue de se développer en tant qu’actrice et icône de mode, les deux très différentes l’une de l’autre et tellement Chloé Sévigny.

Tobias Orrells

Ecrit par Tobias Orrells

Tobias Orrells graduated from Liverpool John Moores University with a degree in International Journalism, however, steering away from news, has focused his creativity to reporting on the progression of men’s fashion. He is an avid writer and lover of fashion and music and combining the two helps create the icon profiles. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies


One thought on “Chloe Sevigny

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Chloe Sevigny

Copyrights & credits: AFP / Live Film & Mediaworks / The Kobal Collection – Chloe Sevigny

Born on the 18th of November, 1974 in Springfield, Massachusetts, Chloe began life in a calm modern American family environment, unlike the characters she has portrayed in movies.  But for Chloe, that was the problem she would spend her days working, smoking with friends and making her own clothes; the 90’s teen life almost depicted in any TV show of the decade. Except for Chloe it was boring and soon the buzz of city life was beckoning.

Her magnetic quality fared her well once she left the cushy surroundings and licked the pavement of the gritty Brooklyn streets at the age of 18 with her first appearance in magazines starting with Sassy, which featured her and made an intern.

Things slowly began to work in Chloe’s favour when she was spotted by Harmony Korine, who later cast her in cult classic, ‘Kids’ in 1995. From this point on wards Chloe chose to star in roles that appealed to her, with her acting style almost unprecedented in a true, honest depiction of the character and their situations. In 1999 she starred in ‘Boys Don’t Cry’ which garnered her with an Academy Award nomination.

Outside of her film career, Chloe became an underground darling, a leader in the grunge fashion sense of the 90’s, becoming idolised by teenagers around New York and the world. She was named the new ‘It-girl’ by Jay McInerney in a seven page expo for the New Yorker, critical attention for the newly noticed rising star.

Chloe has commented on this status saying: “I looked like a junkie because it was the nineties and grunge was the fashion. But I felt I was doing stuff, not just being a socialite.”

This ‘it-girl’ took hold of grunge fashion, making the effortless, colour-sieged alternative look and made it her own. She played with mixing prints and frilly small tops to robust loose denim overalls. This look, reflected the post Nirvana youth of middle America and designers began to emulate Chloe’s choice of style and unique tailoring.

A cover girl many times over, she became a favourite of similar genre brands such as Dazed and Confused, which placed her on the cover after the release of kids. Harper’s Bazaar to i-D have all ran deep editorials on Chloe, showing her mysterious, enticing quality that just keeps people guessing.

From her Academy Award nomination, Chloe entered the big leagues and began to form a rich spectrum of roles, whilst always maintaining her independent edge. In 2006 she joined Jean Tripplehorn and Ginnifer Goodwin in HBO’s Big Love, a show focused around a Polygamist Mormon family.

Chloe’s fashion has evolved as time as flowed into new decades with the expansion of Chloe’s own fashion penchant. Still a vintage girl, Chloe can be seen in Lanvin and Versace as seen at the ‘Lawless’ premiere in New York. Yet her androgynous and 90s throwback look still draws attention.

She has modeled for the likes of Miu Miu, fronting their recent AW 2012 campaign; rocking a Bowie aesthetic in the deep 70s geometric prints produced by the house, to the likes of Chloe, modelling the release of their fragrance.

Putting her own fingers to the thread, the release of a successful clothing line with Opening Ceremony saw Chloe tick off another fashion venture, with  a continued line for the hip New York brand – a perfect match for the Queen of indie cool.

A chameleon of sorts, Chloe has retained a charm and an irreverent attitude to her own fame; a rarity in a fame obsessed culture. Still marching to the beat of her own drum, she continues to grow as an actress and as a fashion icon, both so different but both ever so Chloe Sevigny

Tobias Orrells

Written by Tobias Orrells

Tobias Orrells graduated from Liverpool John Moores University with a degree in International Journalism, however, steering away from news, has focused his creativity to reporting on the progression of men’s fashion. He is an avid writer and lover of fashion and music and combining the two helps create the icon profiles. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>