Blondie – Debbie Harry

Copyright © AFP / United Artists / The Kobal Collection – Debbie Harry

Debbie Harry naquit à Miami le premier juillet 1945. Avant de s’embarquer sur une carrière de chanteuse à grand succès, Harry travailla à de nombreux petits boulots, incluant secrétaire pour la BBC, serveuse, go-go danseuse et Playboy Bunny. Elle débuta sa carrière musicale dans The Wind in the Willows, un groupe de rock folk qui fut signé par Capital Records pour un album. Harry joignit The Stilettos en 1974, ce fut à cette période qu’elle rencontra celui qui deviendrait le guitariste de Blondie, Chris Stein. Après avoir quitté The Stilettos, Harry et Stein formèrent Blondie, nommé d’après le surnom dont la chanteuse était souvent affublée par les hommes à cause de ses cheveux décolorés. Le style sur scène et l’aura de Debbie Harry devinrent synonymes de Blondie, si bien que certains fans étaient persuadés que Blondie étaient son nom. Le groupe se produisait souvent au célèbre club New Yorkais CBGB, et devint célèbre après la sortie de leur premier album éponyme en 1976.

“Blondie combine innocence et sensualité, explique Harry, du fait que mon look faisait l’identité du groupe, il est plus ou moins devenu commercial pour moi aussi” 

Le look iconique de la chanteuse était composé de cheveux platine ébouriffés, de pommettes aiguisées et d’une célèbre moue punk rock, reproduite par de nombreuses fans de Blondie. La star combinait cuir, jeans élimés, t-shirts à slogans kitsch, imprimés léopard et couleurs vives en un look bien à elle, témoignant “Le look déconstruit est vraiment quelque chose que j’aime beaucoup. Le New York des années 70 m’a appris beaucoup de choses. C’était comme aller à l’école. Au départ c’était des expériences, et après ça a évolué grâce à Stephen Sprouse”. Sprouse avait un rôle de styliste pour le groupe, créant des vêtements pour Debbie Harry et réalisant le clip de “Heart of Glass”, qui voit Harry habillée d’une robe à une bretelle avec un bord asymétrique, combinant du coton et de la mousseline superposés pour créer une illusion d’optique.

Après la séparation de Blondie, Harry sortit cinq albums solo et débuta une carrière d’actrice, apparaissant à Broadway et plus notoirement en tant que Velma Von Tussle dans la version originale du film Hairspray (1988). Harry conserva sa popularité, immortalisée par Andy Warhol dans une peinture pop art et elle continua à se rendre régulièrement au Studio 54. Blondie  se réunifia en 1997, et continua à se produire en concert et à produire des disque, le plus récent étant Panic of Girls (2011). Bien que Debbie Harry partage la scène d’aujourd’hui avec des chanteuses telles que Lady Gaga, qui repoussent les limites et choquent le public avec leurs costumes, Harry préfère s’en tenir à son approche décalée et décontracté, déclarant “J’aime porter quelque chose de formidable et ne pas avoir à y penser”.

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Ecrit par Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Blondie – Debbie Harry

Copyright © AFP / United Artists / The Kobal Collection – Debbie Harry

Debbie Harry was born in Miami on July 1st 1945. Before embarking on her platinum selling singing career, Harry worked various job, including a stint as a secretary at BBC Radio, a waitress, a go-go dancer and a Playboy Bunny. The singer began her musical career with The Wind in the Willows, a folk rock group that were signed for one album under Capitol Records. Harry joined The Stilettos in 1974; it was during this time that she met Blondie guitarist Chris Stein. After disbanding The Stilettos, Harry and Stein formed Blondie, named for the nickname men would often call Harry due to her bleached hair. Debbie Harry’s stage persona and style became synonymous with Blondie, causing some fans to believe it was the singer’s name. Blondie were frequently featured at New York’s famous CBGB club, and shot to stardom after their eponymous debut album was released in 1976.

“Blondie combines innocence and sensuality,” Harry explains, “Because my look was the group’s identity, it sort of became commercial for me too.”

The singer’s iconic look was made up of tousled platinum hair, sharp cheekbones and a bright punk rock pout, replicated by scores of Blondie fans. The star mixed leathers, distressed jeans, kitsch slogan shirts, leopard print and day-glo brights for a look all her own, stating: “The deconstructed look is something I really like a lot. New York in the 70s taught me a lot of things. It was like going to school. Initially it was about experimentation, and then it evolved through Stephen Sprouse.” Sprouse acted as stylist to the band, designing clothes for Debbie Harry and art directing the music video for “Heart of Glass”, which features Harry in a one shouldered dress with an asymmetrical kerchief hem, with a combination of chiffon and cotton, layered to create an optical illusion.

After Blondie broke up, Harry released five solo albums, and pursued an acting career, appearing on Broadway and most notably playing Velma Von Tussle in the original Hairspray movie (1988). Harry maintained popularity, immortalized by Andy Warhol in a pop art painting and the singer also continued to be a regular at Studio 54. Blondie reunited in 1997, and have continued to tour and release records, with their most recent offering, Panic of Girls, released in 2011. Though Debbie Harry may share today’s stage with singers such as Lady Gaga, who push limits and shock audiences with their stage outfits, Harry prefers to maintain her mismatched, effortless approach saying, “I like to put on something fabulous and not have to think about it.”

Bronte Naylor-Jones

Written by Bronte Naylor-Jones

Bronte Naylor-Jones is a self-professed fashion nerd based in Surrey, currently completing her degree in Fashion Journalism. She is devoted to old films, rose tea and continues her search for the perfect pair of ankle boots. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>