Babe Paley

Барбара Кушинга Мортимер Палей, известная как ‘Babe’, родилась 5 июля 1915 года. Хотя брак Кушинга приобрёл популярность в светских кругах, ‘Babe’ была известна как икона стиля.

После её официального дебюта во время Великой Депрессии, ‘Babe’ часто фигурировала в светской хронике, наряду с другими членами известных и богатых семей Новой Англии.

Палей работала редактором моды в Vogue, и женилась на нефтянном наследнике Стэнли Грэфтон Мортимере в 1940 году. В 1941 году, ‘Babe’ была названа второй в списке лучших одетых женщин мира, после чего Уоллис Симпсон был также добавлен в список лучших одетых в 1945 году.

Её брак с Мортимером закончился в 1946 году, и в том же году она встретила Уильяма С. Пэйли, основателя CBS. Палей жаждила войти в высшее общество Нью-Йорка, и, конечно же, иметь деньги, чтобы соответствовать ему. Её все обожали, а в 1947 году, они поженились. Они прожили идиллический образ жизни, проводя недели в своей квартире в Санкт-Регис, которую разработал дизайнер Билли Болдуин, а выходные проводили на Лонг-Айленде. Редактор Vogue также имела круг влиятельных друзей, в том числе Трумэна Капоте, который отметил Палей как одной из его ’лебедей’ – выбор самых элитных и гламурных женщин общества. Однажды, Капоте сказал: «У ‘Babe’ Палей была только одна проблема, она была прекрасна. В противном случае, она была прекрасна”. Их дружба закончилась после того, как она прочитала «Answered Promises», которые транслировались, как ‘грязное бельё из Нью-Йоркского общества’.

Vogue однажды заметил, что ‘Babe’ имела ‘особый талант выбора одежды.’ Она получила доступ к дизайнерской одежде, и часто получала подарки в обмен на её статус. Она была известна тем, что могла купить всю коллекцию дома моды, как Givenchy, хотя, она чаще покупала пару предметов дорогой одежды и ювелирных украшений. Оскар де ла Рента прокомментировал её стиль: “Что бы она ни носила, она всегда была безупречно одета.” Она удержала своё место в списке лучших одетых четырнадцать раз, до того момента, когда её включили в зал славы в 1958 году.. Позже, как начали седеть волосы, она не стала использовать краситель, чтобы скрыть это, после чего это было скопировано другими американскими женщинами. Её стиль и манеры были признаны самыми элегантными и правильными. Чаще всего, она носила юбки, шёлковые шарфы и жемчуг, что считалось для неё обычной одеждой, но для общества, казалось неимоверно дорогим.

coreAdmin

Автор Lola McQuenzie

Lola is one of our most busy writer, She worked for Catwalk Yourself since 2007 and still producing her 2-3 artiles per week. Lola graduaded at Central St Martins and started working wth us soon after


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Babe Paley

Barbara Cushing Mortimer Paley, known as “Babe”, was born on July 5th 1915. Though all the Cushing’s married well and gained popularity in society circles, Babe made her mark as a style icon.

After making her official debut during the Great Depression, Babe was often featured in the society pages, alongside other members of prominent and wealthy New England families.

Paley worked as a fashion editor at Vogue, and married oil heir Stanley Grafton Mortimer Jr. in 1940. In 1941, Babe received the title of the World’s second best dressed woman, after Wallis Simpson, in TimeMagazine, and was also added to the best-dressed list in 1945.

Her marriage to Mortimer Jr. ended in 1946, and in the same year she met William S. Paley, the founder of CBS. Though Paley craved entrance to New York’s high society, and certainly had the money to match his ambitions, he remained shut out. Babe was well connected, and adored; paired with Paley’s substantial wealth, they made a fine match and were married in 1947. Together they lived an idyllic lifestyle, spending their weeks in their apartment at the St. Regis, designed by Billy Baldwin, and their weekends at Kiluna Farm in Long Island. The Vogue editor also kept a fine circle of friends, including Truman Capote who noted Paley as one of his “Swans”; a selection of society’s elite and most glamorous women. Capote once said, “Babe Paley had only one fault, she was perfect. Otherwise, she was perfect.” Truman was said to be her one true confidante, until their friendship ended after she read excerpts ofAnswered Promises, which aired the dirty laundry of New York society.

Vogue once commented that Babe had a “special talent for wearing clothes.” She gained access to designer clothes and often received gifts in exchange for her coveted status. She was known to buy entire haute couture collections from fashion houses such as Givenchy, though she often paired expensive clothing and fine jewelry with inexpensive costume pieces. Oscar de la Renta recalled her style stating, “Whatever she wore, she wore in a way you would never forget.” She kept her place on the best-dressed list fourteen times before entering the Fashion Hall of Fame is 1958. Her beauty signature was her alabaster skin paired with a fiery red lip. Later in life she let hair her turn grey rather than using dye to cover it, a statement that was heavily copied by other American women. In all accounts of her style, Babe Paley’s manner of dressing has been deemed elegant, effortless, aspirational and crisp. She favoured twin sets, prim skirts, silk scarves, and pearls: all customary tools for any would-be society darling.

coreAdmin

Written by Lola McQuenzie

Lola is one of our most busy writer, She worked for Catwalk Yourself since 2007 and still producing her 2-3 artiles per week. Lola graduaded at Central St Martins and started working wth us soon after


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>